All Roll Calls
Yes: 120 • No: 108
Sponsored By: COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
14 provisions identified: 10 benefits, 3 costs, 1 mixed.
From July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, Iowa's secretary of state may refund certain business and nonprofit filing fees. Covered fees are listed in Iowa Code sections 489.122(1), 490.122(1), and 504.113(1). Refunds are optional and follow the secretary's rules. A denial is final and cannot be reviewed under chapter 17A.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Iowa's Office of Civil Rights may hire a nonprofit to provide legal help resolving civil rights complaints. The law does not guarantee individual help or set funding amounts or eligibility rules.
The law sets aside $325,000 from the Department of Management's technology funding for local government cybersecurity services. Funding covers July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The money supports local government systems, not household payments.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Iowa's Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing must publish health facility oversight information during its website updates. Required information includes inspection counts, oversight budgets and staffing, survey trends, deficiencies, and fines for nursing and assisted living facilities and programs.
The law provides about $2.465 million for the Enrich Iowa library program. Funding covers July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The provision does not specify individual benefit amounts or how the money is divided among recipients.
From July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, the first $750,000 in specified certified vehicle operating-record fees goes to IowAccess. This fund supports online access to government records. Beginning July 1, 2025, all IowAccess transaction fees also enter that fund and may support only IowAccess projects. These rules direct existing fee revenue; they do not set new fee amounts.
Beginning July 1, 2025, the law provides $60 million from Iowa's public employees' retirement fund for a pension administration system. Money not committed by June 30, 2026, remains available through June 30, 2036. This funds pension operations, not larger individual pension payments.
Beginning July 1, 2025, agencies funded by this law must give first buying preference to Iowa products or Iowa-based producers. U.S. products or U.S.-based producers receive second preference. The rule applies to product purchases and does not specify a spending amount.
Beginning July 1, 2025, captive insurance premium tax receipts under Iowa Code section 432.1A enter the captive insurance oversight fund. Fees, assessments, fines, and administrative penalties under chapter 521J also enter that fund. This directs revenue to oversight rather than changing household tax amounts.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Iowa's Department of Revenue must prepare and provide state appraisal manuals and updates to cities and counties for free. The provision does not specify local savings or a change in household property tax bills.
Iowa's Department of Administrative Services may charge $2 per health insurance contract each month for plans it administers. This authority runs from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The law does not say whether plan members pay the charge.
From July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, a standing general fund appropriation for tobacco-product enforcement cannot exceed $17,525. The cap applies to enforcement under Iowa Code chapter 453D. It does not change household taxes or benefit eligibility.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Iowa's Utilities Commission and Insurance and Financial Services divisions must cover appropriations and state-assessed indirect costs through charges or revenue. The commission may exceed its utility-regulation budget for actual extra expenses only when those expenses are fully reimbursable. The law sets no household charge or utility bill increase.
During July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, Iowa's licensing department must collect specified fees under chapters 99B, 137C, 137D, and 137F. For municipalities with section 137F.3 agreements, it must return municipal fees after deducting electronic transaction fees. At least $800,000 of non-municipal fees must enter the state general fund by June 30, 2026. Remaining fees support enforcement of those chapters; the provision does not set new fee amounts.
COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS
Affiliation unavailable
There are no cosponsors for this bill.
All Roll Calls
Yes: 120 • No: 108
Senate vote • 5/14/2025
Passed Senate
Yes: 31 • No: 15
House vote • 5/13/2025
Passed House
Yes: 60 • No: 31
legislature vote • 5/13/2025
Motion to suspend rules for immediate consideration of amendment H-1336
Yes: 29 • No: 62
Explanations of votes.
Explanation of vote.
Signed by Governor.
NOBA: Final
Reported correctly enrolled, signed by Speaker and President, and sent to Governor.
Message from Senate.
Immediate message.
Passed Senate, yeas 31, nays 15.
Substituted for SF 658.
Read first time, attached to SF 658.
Message from House.
Immediate message.
Passed House, yeas 60, nays 31.
Motion to suspend rules failed.
Motion to suspend rules for immediate consideration of amendment H-1336, yeas 29, nays 62.
Point of order raised on amendment H-1336, ruled not germane.
Amendment H-1336 filed.
Amendment H-1330 filed, adopted.
NOBA: House Full Approps
Introduced, placed on Appropriations calendar.
As Introduced
Enrolled
HF 2801, A bill for an act modifying the major economic growth attraction program, and including effective date provisions. (Formerly HSB 785.) Effective date: 10/02/2026.
SF 2472, A bill for an act relating to state and local government taxes, fees, financial authority, and budgets, by modifying property assessment provisions, divisions of revenue, and funding from the secure an advanced vision for education fund, establishing a program for first-time homebuyers, modifying and making appropriations, and including effective date, applicability, and retroactive applicability provisions. (Formerly SSB 3001.) Effective date: 05/18/2026, 07/01/2026, 01/01/2027. Applicability date: 01/01/2026, 07/01/2026, 01/01/2027, 07/01/2027, 07/01/2028.
HF 2601, A bill for an act relating to campaign finance, including participation in ballot issue campaigns by foreign nationals and investigations of election misconduct, and making penalties applicable. (Formerly HF 2044.) Effective date: 07/01/2026.
SF 2471, A bill for an act relating to fees for lifetime fur harvester licenses. (Formerly SF 2317, SSB 3121.) Effective date: 07/01/2026.
SF 2399, A bill for an act relating to bail and bond amounts and conditions. (Formerly SSB 3162.) Effective date: 07/01/2026.
SF 2299, A bill for an act relating to the district-to-community college sharing or concurrent enrollment program. (Formerly SF 2176.) Vetoed 6-2-26.