IndianaHB 1050First Regular Session 124th General Assembly (2025)HouseWALLET

Technical corrections.

Sponsored By: Karen Engleman (Republican)

Signed by Governor

Summary

Addresses technical issues in the Indiana Code, including those related to spelling, tabulation, formatting, grammar, and cross-references. Resolves technical conflicts from the 2024 legislative session. Makes conforming amendments. (The introduced version of this bill was prepared by the code revision committee.)

judiciarythe senate

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

26 provisions identified: 11 benefits, 3 costs, 12 mixed.

Military moves allow penalty-free service cancellations

Servicemembers can cancel covered contracts without early termination charges after orders relocate them for at least 90 days somewhere service is unavailable. Covered services include telecommunications, internet, television, gyms or athletic clubs, and satellite radio. Cancellation requires written or electronic notice and a copy of the orders. Providers must refund fees for service beyond termination within 60 days; unpaid taxes and other amounts remain due. Resubscribing within 90 days after returning allows only usual installation or equipment acquisition fees.

Students get free required classroom materials

Indiana school corporations and charter-school organizers must buy selected curricular materials and provide them free to enrolled students. The school keeps ownership. Schools may charge reasonable fees only when materials are lost or significantly damaged, following state board rules. Collected fees go into the school's education fund or, for charters without one, its state-tuition-support fund.

Property owners face lead-line replacement deadlines

Beginning July 1, 2025, owners outside multifamily properties with more than four units must act within 45 days of utility notice. They must enroll and allow access at no cost to the utility, or replace their lead line at their own expense. After nonresponse or failure to act, the utility may enter without permission; owners owe restoration costs above $500. For multifamily properties with more than four units, owners have 45 days to elect participation; otherwise, current or future owners must pay their own contractors. Utilities may shut off water when owners block authorized replacement steps; restoration requires proof of enrollment or completed replacement.

Abandoned properties face water repair costs

Beginning July 1, 2025, water utilities may disconnect properties they determine are abandoned or unserviceable under applicable law. Utilities may also require the owner, including a future owner, to install a new service line at personal expense.

Lead-line replacement costs enter water rates

Beginning July 1, 2025, state regulators must approve lead-line plans before customer-owned line work qualifies as eligible infrastructure. Plans must serve the public interest and cover financing help, work coordination, replacement volumes, costs, savings, notices, restoration, and future repairs. Approval does not guarantee customer financing. In later general rate cases, regulators must include actual eligible replacement or removal costs in utility property value, potentially raising bills. Annual costs above the approved range do not qualify for this rate treatment.

Student savings accounts set age limits

Students must be at least 5 and under 22 on October 1 of the school year to qualify for education savings accounts. They also need Indiana legal settlement and must meet the choice scholarship program's annual income requirement. Students must have the required disability and education plan, or be siblings of students with accounts. The supplied provision gives no account amount or income threshold.

Incarcerated people get property-loss claim payments

Incarcerated people can receive payment for approved personal-property losses caused during confinement by the Department of Correction or its representatives. Covered representatives include agents, former officers, employees, and contractors. The person must file an administrative claim within 180 days of the alleged loss. Approved claims follow the payment procedure in IC 34-13-3, sections 24 and 25; no payment amount is stated.

Legislative commission members get travel allowances

Beginning July 1, 2025, General Assembly members serving on the covered commission receive legislative interim-study-committee allowances. These include per diem, mileage, and travel allowances. Legislative Council or Legislative Services Agency appropriations may pay the costs; specific amounts are not stated.

Nonprofit board members get expense reimbursements

Covered nonprofit board members who are not state employees receive the per diem provided for General Assembly members. They also receive mileage, travel, and other actual duty-related expense reimbursements. State-employee board members receive travel and other actual expense reimbursements, but not that per diem. The corporation pays from its revenues; the supplied provision gives no dollar amounts.

Homeowners get longer homestead filing window

Homeowners seeking the homestead standard deduction must complete, date, and file the certified statement by January 15. The deadline falls in the calendar year when property taxes are first due and payable. The former deadline was January 5, so homeowners get 10 extra days. Applicable homestead recording requirements still apply.

Qualifying schools get buildings for $1

School corporations must notify the state education department within 30 days of a public decision to stop classroom use of a covered building. Charter schools and state educational institutions have 90 days after department notice to submit preliminary requests with required supporting information. Selected users get a $1 annual lease for qualifying classroom or academic use, or can buy the building for $1. Qualifying use must begin within three years of closure, discontinued use, or vacancy; leases continue during that use and include a $1 purchase option. If no timely preliminary request arrives, the corporation may dispose of the building under the referenced laws.

Schools disclose salaries before referendum votes

Beginning July 1, 2025, schools in counties covered by the law must post disclosures before qualifying referendum votes. The referendum resolution must have been adopted after May 10, 2023. Disclosures are due at least 30 days before a primary or general election vote. They must rank salaries by position from highest to lowest, link to individual salaries on Gateway Indiana, and include required school information. Charter schools are covered only when they elect to participate in the referendum.

Broadband grants require budget committee review

Beginning July 1, 2025, the state broadband office must send proposed subgrant amounts and terms to the budget committee. Review is required before awards in every funding round, unless federal law overrides the requirement. The rule applies to subgrantees and sets no direct household payment.

Local wireless pole bans face limits

Local bans on new small-cell poles in underground-utility areas require both underground designation and strictly residential zoning before May 1, 2017. Existing above-ground infrastructure remains subject to the law's exceptions. Authorities must allow specified equipment additions and replacements, provide a process for new-structure requests, and apply restrictions without discrimination. Designations adopted after April 14 and before May 2, 2017, apply only to communications providers and residential areas with all existing utilities buried. These limits do not guarantee new service or lower prices.

Migrant-serving childcare providers qualify for vouchers

Childcare providers operating to serve migrant children qualify for voucher payments when they comply with the applicable childcare chapter. The law does not specify payment amounts or create direct payments to families.

Limited-license optometrists face prescription certificate rules

Beginning July 1, 2025, limited-license optometrists at Indiana University face requirements for certificates to administer, dispense, or prescribe legend drugs. They cannot receive or renew these certificates without meeting IC 25-24-3-12, IC 25-24-3-13, and IC 25-24-3-15. Limited-license eligibility also requires an active out-of-state optometry license and applicable continuing education.

Historic areas keep wireless installation review

Local authorities may require historic-appropriateness certificates for small-cell facilities and associated structures in designated historic areas. Covered areas include those overseen by the Meridian Street preservation commission. Authorities use generally applicable procedures, subject to section 26(b) of the wireless-facility chapter.

Neighborhoods get wireless notices and design input

Neighborhood and homeowners associations in strictly residential underground-utility areas can register for notices of specified small-cell applications and uses. Authorities with websites must post instructions; mailed notices may carry capped charges, but electronic notice costs cannot pass to applicants. Authorities may develop location and appearance guidelines with neighborhood groups and must follow guidelines published before applications. Compliance depends on applicant-determined technical feasibility and cost efficiency, and cannot block service; specified existing-pole additions and replacements are excluded. Applicants cannot be required to provide specified need, coverage, traffic-study, or business-decision information to show technical infeasibility.

State section repealed; effects remain unclear

Effective July 1, 2025, the law repeals IC 36-8-16.7-9. The supplied information does not describe that section's subject, requirements, or affected people. Its practical effects cannot be determined from this provision.

Schools lose teacher-pay spending waiver

Indiana school corporations must spend at least 62% of specified state tuition support on teacher compensation. The law removes the waiver process that allowed exceptions. This protects the spending floor but reduces schools' flexibility over those dollars.

Schools restrict hiring after listed misconduct

Public, charter, and state-accredited nonpublic schools face hiring restrictions for people wearing conviction-related ankle monitors or engaging in sexual grooming. Restrictions also cover people whose student-related misconduct settlements include nondisclosure agreements about the allegations. Exceptions require governing-body approval as a separate, special agenda item, or nonpublic-school administrator notice to the appointing authority. Schools and covered service companies may also reject applicants based on substantiated child-abuse or neglect reports obtained through the specified background process.

Schools tighten conviction screening and reporting

Public, charter, state-accredited nonpublic schools, and covered service companies must bar or terminate workers with listed convictions from ongoing child-contact jobs. The list includes violent, sex, child-abuse, and obscenity-related offenses. After June 30, 2023, subsection (c) convictions can receive specified school approval; reversed, vacated, or set-aside convictions need not count. Covered employees must report listed convictions or substantiated child-abuse or neglect reports during employment to the school's governing body. Service companies must immediately notify schools when they learn a worker there has a subsection (b) conviction.

Local projects face votes and advocacy limits

Local governments need voter approval before using property taxes for debt or lease payments on specified controlled projects. For section 3.5(a)(1)(E) projects, approval applies while that category remains effective; categories (A) through (C) require a sufficient petition first. Beginning July 1, 2025, local funds may pay registered engineers for covered project services during the petition or opposition process. Those engineers cannot spend money supporting either side. Violations are Class A infractions and bar the engineer from working on the project.

Telecom oversight narrows, filing notices go online

Indiana regulators cannot exceed federal authority when setting telecom interconnection, resale, or unbundled network-access rules and prices. They retain specified dispute-resolution and agreement-review powers, subject to federal regulations. In authorized disputes or agreement reviews, providers' in-state switched or special access rates count as fair when matching their interstate rates. Required tariff filings count as public notice, and regulators must also announce them online or electronically. These rules do not set household phone or internet prices.

Wireless work avoids permits, adds identification

Local authorities cannot require applications, permits, or fees for specified routine wireless maintenance and substantially similar or same-size-or-smaller replacements. The exemption includes specified small facilities suspended between existing utility poles when codes and public-right-of-way authorization requirements are met. Small-cell applicants must also follow federal requirements and industry standards for identifying the owner's name and contact information.

Direct marketers get statewide licensing limits

Holders can apply to the Indiana commission for direct-marketing authority throughout their service areas. Designated employees must be at least 18, have a high school diploma or equivalent, and hold a valid driver's license. They must meet listed criminal-history requirements; holders must show financial responsibility and may certify completion of required background checks. Local governments generally cannot add marketing permits, licenses, or fees. Local limits on hours or conduct remain enforceable only when applied uniformly to all direct marketers and solicitors.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • Karen Engleman

    Republican • House

Cosponsors

  • Aaron Freeman

    Republican • Senate

  • Edward DeLaney

    Democratic • House

  • Kyle Pierce

    Republican • House

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 140 • No: 0

Senate vote • 3/11/2025

Third reading: passed

Yes: 48 • No: 0

House vote • 1/28/2025

Third reading: passed

Yes: 92 • No: 0

Actions Timeline

  1. Public Law 1

    3/25/2025House
  2. Signed by the Governor

    3/25/2025House
  3. Signed by the President of the Senate

    3/18/2025Senate
  4. Signed by the Speaker

    3/13/2025House
  5. Signed by the President Pro Tempore

    3/13/2025Senate
  6. Returned to the House without amendments

    3/12/2025Senate
  7. Third reading: passed; Roll Call 222: yeas 48, nays 0

    3/11/2025Senate
  8. Second reading: ordered engrossed

    3/10/2025Senate
  9. Committee report: do pass, adopted

    3/6/2025Senate
  10. First reading: referred to Committee on Judiciary

    2/18/2025Senate
  11. Referred to the Senate

    1/29/2025House
  12. Third reading: passed; Roll Call 18: yeas 92, nays 0

    1/28/2025House
  13. Senate sponsor: Senator Freeman

    1/28/2025House
  14. Second reading: ordered engrossed

    1/27/2025House
  15. Committee report: do pass, adopted

    1/21/2025House
  16. First reading: referred to Committee on Judiciary

    1/8/2025House
  17. Coauthored by Representatives Boy, DeLaney, Pierce K

    1/8/2025House
  18. Authored by Representative Engleman

    1/8/2025House

Bill Text

  • Enrolled House Bill (H)

  • House Bill (H)

  • House Bill (S)

  • Introduced House Bill (H)

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation