All Roll Calls
Yes: 99 • No: 23
Sponsored By: Jason Nemes (Republican)
Became Law
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
29 provisions identified: 14 benefits, 7 costs, 8 mixed.
Farm sellers can claim approved credits up to $25,000 yearly and $100,000 lifetime for sales to actively engaged, non-beginning farmers. Sales to beginning farmers have higher caps: $50,000 yearly and $200,000 lifetime. Credits cannot exceed the approved amount or tax owed, cannot be transferred, and unused amounts carry forward up to five tax years. Sellers first claim the credit in the approval year against eligible Kentucky individual, corporate, or limited liability entity taxes. The program shares a $3 million annual cap with the Small Business Tax Credit Program.
The Selling Farmer Tax Credit no longer excludes buyers who previously owned farmland used for farming for more than 10 years. Buyers must still be Kentucky residents with required licenses, registrations, and experience. They cannot already own the assets being purchased. Applications can be reviewed before the sale closes and title and assets transfer, with enough information to decide eligibility.
Buyers in Selling Farmer Tax Credit deals must intend to keep the purchased Kentucky land in for-profit farming for 10 years, up from five. They must provide most of the farm’s management and materially take part in its work. Buyers who fail program requirements owe a penalty equal to the seller’s awarded tax credit. The Department of Revenue can add another penalty, whose amount is not specified. The program accepts no new applications on or after December 31, 2031.
Kentucky’s individual income tax rate falls from 4% in 2024 and 2025 to 3.5% for tax years beginning January 1, 2026. Savings depend on Kentucky net income. Beginning with 2027 tax years, further cuts require annual revenue and reserve-fund tests and approval by the General Assembly.
Type B direct shipper license holders can ship cannabis-infused drinks to Kentucky consumers. Eligible applicants include Public Health-licensed manufacturers and qualifying manufacturers or suppliers authorized in their home state. Manufacturers can ship only brands they own or exclusively license and that they, or someone acting for them, produce or package. Direct shipper applications and renewals require the applicable annual fee rather than the former fixed $100 fee. This provision does not state the replacement fee.
The 50% malt beverage tax credit flows through to distributors or retailers buying directly from an in-state brewer. The credit covers no more than 300,000 barrels per year. This is a business tax benefit, not a required price cut for consumers.
Covered cannabis drinks must be permitted, intoxicating adult-use liquids with no more than 5 milligrams of intoxicating cannabinoids per 12-ounce serving. Cannabinoids must come from USDA-sanctioned domestic hemp programs, not other substances; medical cannabis, tinctures, and solely nonintoxicating products are excluded. Manufacturers need a Public Health food-manufacturer permit and Revenue registration before selling, giving away, or importing drinks. Annual retail package licenses cost $2,000. Distributor and supplemental distributor licenses each cost $1,000 yearly.
New Selling Farmer Tax Credit applications are not accepted or considered on or after December 31, 2031. Applications with preliminary or final approval by that date remain covered by the program rules.
For tax years beginning January 1, 2025, Kentucky uses the federal tax code in effect on December 31, 2024. This replaces the December 31, 2023 reference date. Later federal changes generally do not apply, except extensions of provisions that otherwise expire. The effect on a taxpayer's bill depends on the federal rules involved.
Data center owners, operators, and colocation tenants need $450 million in investment in counties with at least 100,000 people. The minimum is $100 million above 50,000 but below 100,000 people, and $25 million at 50,000 or fewer. Project organizers need $150 million, and required investment must be made by the fifth anniversary of preliminary approval. Population uses the latest available five-year American Community Survey estimate when the application is filed. The law removes the former restriction to consolidated local governments with at least 500,000 people.
A microbrewery holding a quota retail drink or package license can include a barrel-selected bottle in a private selection package. The bottle must come from barrels the microbrewery selected during a private selection event.
Beginning July 1, 2025, the gaming corporation cannot regulate horse sales or require breeders to hold licenses as breeders. It cannot control matters within an entity's exclusive national authority under federal law. It also cannot restrict or ban games or charitable gaming activities in use in Kentucky on July 1, 2025. Changing that protection requires General Assembly action.
The independent Kentucky Horse Racing and Gaming Corporation oversees live racing, pari-mutuel and sports wagering, and horse-breed integrity and development. It took the Horse Racing Commission's duties, staff, equipment, and funding on July 1, 2024, abolishing the commission. Its charitable gaming office took the Department of Charitable Gaming's duties and resources on July 1, 2025, abolishing that department. Beginning July 1, 2025, its programs cover horse, jockey, and driver safety, medical practices, equine growth and research, and wagering integrity. It can issue racing and charitable gaming rules and share wagering information with sports governing bodies; its authority excludes the lottery.
Beginning July 1, 2025, the gaming corporation's records and board meetings are generally open to the public. It can withhold trade secrets, legally protected intellectual property, confidential business information, and operational security records. Meetings can close for applicable legal exceptions or specified confidential and security matters.
Covered alcoholic and cannabis-infused drinks made in or imported into Kentucky are exempt from the state gallon tax when permanently shipped out. The drinks must be sold and consumed outside Kentucky.
The Metropolitan College employer tax credit is extended to April 15, 2037, unless lawmakers extend it again. Qualifying taxpayers receive 50% of eligible tuition and other education costs for up to 2,800 participating employees yearly. They must be consortium-agreement parties as of June 26, 2009, under the agreement approved November 5, 2005, and college partners. The credit cannot produce a refund and remains subject to tax-liability and carryforward rules. The direct tax benefit goes to qualifying taxpayers, not employee-students.
Beginning July 1, 2025, qualifying attractions receive an incentive equal to 50% of Kentucky sales tax from admissions and on-site goods and services. Half goes to the venue operator for operations and maintenance, and half goes to the sponsor. Each ticketed, public entertainment series must last at least two consecutive days and draw at least 60,000 admissions. Sponsors need an agreement for annual series over at least five consecutive years and must apply at least 60 days before the first event. Payment applications follow event completion, and the incentive expires June 30, 2035.
A narrow group of revised projects can reapply to the first Signature Project initiative for eligible cost recovery. The original project cannot have had the specified local development contract in effect on or before March 23, 2007. It must have had a project grant agreement signed before January 1, 2008. That agreement must have been voluntarily withdrawn before project completion.
Approved tourism attractions in enhanced incentive counties with 20,000 or fewer people can receive sales-tax incentives over 20 years. County population uses the latest decennial census when the company gains approval. Recovery cannot exceed the lower of company-and-lessee sales-tax liability or 50% of approved costs. The rule applies to applications considered after the law's effective date and covers related property transfers on or after March 1, 2025. Tourism project reviews also drop the test requiring no adverse effect on existing Kentucky employment.
Covered alcohol licensees, except retailers, and permitted cannabis-drink manufacturers must file monthly beverage activity reports by the 20th. Reports cover the prior month, including beverages destined for sale outside Kentucky; Revenue can require additional reports. Beginning July 1, 2026, qualifying microbreweries must electronically file and pay both wholesale sales and malt beverage excise taxes. This electronic requirement applies to microbrewery licensees authorized to sell malt beverages that owe both taxes; it does not change tax owed.
From July 1, 2025, through April 15, 2026, the gaming corporation generally cannot approve additional electronic charity ticket locations. New approvals are limited to charity offices, licensed bingo sites, and pre-approved fundraising events. Activities and sites operating before July 1, 2025, can be restocked or updated. The restriction does not apply once the corporation issues regulations governing these tickets.
Kentucky taxes covered cannabis-infused drinks at $1.92 per gallon, with proportional amounts for smaller or larger containers. A separate 11% tax applies to covered wholesale sales and certain shipments to consumers at Kentucky addresses. Covered manufacturers must hold a Kentucky Department for Public Health permit. Covered sellers must report and pay by the 20th day of the month after the taxable transfer or sale. Distributors, retailers, and consumers handling untaxed drinks can each be held responsible for the full unpaid gallon tax.
Qualifying utility mains, pipes, pipelines, and conduits count as real property beyond the former 2024–2025 assessment limit. This covers authorized infrastructure in public or private streets or places serving public heat, steam, water, sewage, gas, or electricity. The property-tax amendments in Sections 4 and 5 apply to property assessed on or after December 31, 2022. Refund or credit claims based on changes to subsection (3) of those sections are barred when filed on or after the law's effective date. The bar covers amended returns, refund applications, and other claims.
Beginning July 1, 2025, the gaming corporation can set its own purchasing rules instead of following the standard state procurement chapter. Major personal-service procurements are exempt from a specified state rule, and its president can declare purchasing emergencies. After transfers of specified administrative appropriations for fiscal years 2024–2025 and 2025–2026, the corporation must fund its own expenses. General Fund money cannot pay or be committed to those expenses after the transfers.
Spirits stored or aging in barrels in qualifying bond-financed warehouses are taxed on 100% of value at January 1, 2023 rates. Warehouses must belong to tax-exempt governments or statutory authorities, with industrial revenue bonds issued before January 1, 2024. Some warehouse costs must remain bond-financed during at least part of the calendar year. These spirits become exempt from state and local property taxes for assessments on or after January 1, 2043. Spirits value exempted under the separate phaseout is excluded from school-funding local-effort and school tax-rate calculations.
The taxable share of qualifying barrel-stored spirits falls from 96% on January 1, 2026, to 8% on January 1, 2042. These spirits become exempt from state and local property taxes on January 1, 2043. Starting in 2026, qualifying warehouse taxpayers also owe a replacement tax in jurisdictions that collected property tax in 2025. It uses historical collections, school-funding changes, and each taxpayer’s share of barrels stored on January 1 of the prior year. Local jurisdictions receive receipts within 60 days after assessment. Taxpayers can seek reductions for business-wide declines measured against 2025 production or extraordinary events beyond their control that prevent distilling or barreling. Revenue bond-financed warehouses are excluded from the replacement-tax warehouse definition before 2043.
State budget officials must review fiscal tests and report by September 5, 2025, and September 5, 2026. Passing those tests permits lawmakers to consider income tax cuts for 2027 and 2028, respectively. Revenue officials cannot lower the rate without General Assembly action. Annual reviews continue until the rate reaches zero; this process does not itself lower the rate.
In counties containing a consolidated local government or first-class city, qualifying development areas can be smaller than one square mile. They remain capped at six square miles, may include existing economic assets, and must meet public-improvement or project criteria. New areas can also be carved from areas established before March 23, 2007, with qualifying agreements signed before that date. The old project must remove the new area, with required local, state, agency, and applicable bond-insurer approvals. At least 10% of the new area's added tax revenue must go to the old area's agency, outside contract thresholds.
Specified approved lodging projects receive 20-year sales-tax incentives capped at the lower of company-and-lessee sales-tax liability or 50% of approved costs. One qualifying project type needs over $100 million in eligible costs and at least 100 public-open days yearly, including year one. After year three, at least 25% of its overnight visitors must be from outside Kentucky. That project type also needs an independent study of comparable lodging within 50 miles for the latest calendar year. Its net-positive-impact statement must exclude effects from state-funded infrastructure approved before its application.
Jason Nemes
Republican • House
There are no cosponsors for this bill.
All Roll Calls
Yes: 99 • No: 23
Senate vote • 3/14/2025
passed
Yes: 32 • No: 5
House vote • 3/11/2025
3rd reading, passed
Yes: 67 • No: 18
became law without Governor's Signature (Acts Ch. 98)
filed without Governor's signature with the Secretary of State
delivered to Governor
enrolled, signed by President of the Senate
enrolled, signed by Speaker of the House
passed 61-23
House concurred in Senate Committee Substitute (1) and Floor Amendment (4)
posted for passage for concurrence in Senate Committee Substitute (1) and Floor Amendment (4)
to Rules (H)
received in House
passed 32-5 with Committee Substitute (1) and Floor Amendment (4)
Floor Amendments (1), (2) and (3) withdrawn
3rd reading
floor amendment (4) filed to Committee Substitute
posted for passage in the Regular Orders of the Day for Friday, March 14, 2025
reported favorably, to Rules with Committee Substitute (1)
returned to Appropriations & Revenue (S)
2nd reading
taken from Appropriations & Revenue (S)
floor amendment (3) filed
floor amendments (1) and (2) filed
1st reading
returned to Appropriations & Revenue (S)
taken from Appropriations & Revenue (S)
to Appropriations & Revenue (S)
Current
3/14/2025
Introduced
1/30/2025
HB 501, AN ACT relating to pharmaceutical drugs.
HB 664, AN ACT relating to the operation of a motor vehicle and declaring an emergency.
HB 606, AN ACT relating to economic development.
HB 421, AN ACT relating to colorectal cancer screenings.
HB 555, AN ACT relating to local government financial practices.
HB 493, AN ACT relating to the towing and storage of motor vehicles.