All Roll Calls
Yes: 236 • No: 51
Sponsored By: Robby Mills (Republican)
Became Law
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
59 provisions identified: 53 benefits, 1 costs, 5 mixed.
The Department of Highways gets $250 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 and $200 million in 2025–2026. The money supports the State Supported Construction Program and selected projects in the 2024–2026 highway construction plan. Selected projects cover industrial development, economic and quality improvements, or counties projected to have the largest numerical and percentage population changes. Unspent funds do not expire and carry forward.
These arts and cultural grants are for fiscal year 2024–2025. Compose Arts gets $300,000 for Thy Will Be Done Productions statewide. The Department of Parks gets $850,000 to restore the Dye House at Perryville Battlefield State Historic Site. The Owensboro Museum of Science and History gets $1.1 million for building infrastructure. Paducah's Lincoln High School Historical Foundation gets $1 million for a civic center project.
Covered health and family services websites must prominently post the ombudsman's website, phone number, and email at the top. The cabinet must give the ombudsman read-only access to group complaint inboxes. Agencies covered by these reviews must answer critical findings and recommendations in writing within 15 days of receiving the report. Within 60 days after completion of the audit, investigation, or draft report, agencies must report which recommendations they followed. They must explain any recommendations they did not follow.
In fiscal year 2024–2025, Nicholas County Fiscal Court gets $1 million to buy and install an industrial fire pumper. Murray gets $1 million to buy a firetruck. Greenup County projects receive $500,000 for ambulance purchases and renovations to emergency management headquarters and its training facility. These grants support emergency response equipment and facilities, not household payments.
These park and sports grants are for fiscal year 2024–2025. County fiscal courts receive $2.4 million for Knox County's sports complex and $4 million for Jackson County Park development. Bath County Fiscal Court gets $2 million for youth baseball fields; Menifee County Community Park gets $3.5 million for new athletic fields. McDaniels gets $135,000 for a community ballpark. Elizabethtown gets $1 million for the Elizabethtown Parks and Trails Conservancy.
The law moves $34.5 million in restricted Court of Justice funds into its reserve account in fiscal year 2024–2025. This shifts existing court money rather than creating a household payment.
Covington gets $500,000 in each of fiscal years 2024–2025 and 2025–2026 for Covington Partners' violence prevention efforts. The money supports community safety work, not direct household payments.
The health services cabinet must provide Ombudsman contact information at offices where community-based services employees or contractors work. It must also provide it at facilities housing children in cabinet custody and to cabinet and contracted foster parents. Information must be printed and publicly posted or otherwise available in an Ombudsman-approved format. The Ombudsman's office must keep information confidential, but can disclose it when advisable for its duties and recommendations.
In each of fiscal years 2024–2025 and 2025–2026, Louisville Metro gets $1.25 million for Jefferson Memorial Forest. Campbell County Fiscal Court gets $3.75 million in each of those years for General James Taylor Park. Rockcastle County Fiscal Court gets $2.367 million in 2024–2025 and $2.3 million in 2025–2026 for a recreation complex. For 2024–2025, Bourbon County Fiscal Court gets $3 million for a community park; Leslie County Fiscal Court gets $2 million for Leeco Park. Webster County Park Welcome Center gets $100,000 in 2024–2025 and $259,000 in 2025–2026.
The law creates a Court of Justice reserve account, managed by the Administrative Office of the Courts. Money enters and leaves the account only through legislative appropriations, and unused balances carry forward. The law provides $3.2 million from the account in fiscal year 2024–2025 to buy and renovate Franklin County real estate. This money goes to Court Operations and Administration. Unspent project money carries into fiscal year 2025–2026.
The Bluegrass Land Conservancy gets $4 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 through the Department for Local Government. The money serves as a match for a federal grant. It supports the conservancy's grant-funded work, not direct household payments.
The Nest in Lexington receives $100,000 for operations in each fiscal year, 2024–2025 and 2025–2026. The law does not specify which services receive support, who qualifies for them, or any direct household payment.
Owsley County Fiscal Court gets $1 million for the Sturgeon Creek Bridge project in fiscal year 2024–2025. Berea gets $1 million for the Kenway Street expansion in fiscal year 2025–2026 through the Department for Local Government. The money funds local transportation projects, not direct household payments.
For fiscal year 2024–2025, the law provides Barbourville $1.5 million to finish City Hall and emergency medical service buildings. Knox County Fiscal Court gets $8.5 million for land and renovations for a new administrative office. Clay County Fiscal Court gets $4 million for multipurpose buildings and renovations. Jessamine County Fiscal Court gets $10,000 in each of fiscal years 2024–2025 and 2025–2026 to maintain High Bridge Fire House.
In fiscal year 2024–2025, Harlan County Fiscal Court gets $3.8 million for its Wellness and Recreation Center. Allen County Fiscal Court gets $250,000 to build a community center with the Core of Scottsville that year. Fort Thomas gets $2.5 million each fiscal year through the Department for Local Government for the Tower Park Community Complex. Louisville Metro Government gets $3.5 million each fiscal year for Parks and Recreation's Shawnee Outdoor Learning Center. The covered years for the per-year grants are not specified in these provisions.
Mercy Chefs, Inc. gets $500,000 in fiscal year 2024–2025 to expand services in Kentucky. The provision does not identify the services or which households qualify. It does not provide direct household payments.
Goodwill Industries of Kentucky gets $3 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 for the West Louisville Opportunity Center. Henderson County Fiscal Court gets $150,000 for Harbor House in each of fiscal years 2024–2025 and 2025–2026. These provisions do not specify funded services, individual eligibility, or direct household payments.
Paris gets $1.5 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 to relocate its transfer station. The law funds the local project but does not set a change in household charges.
Revenue bond issuers must now disclose itemized borrowing costs, alongside issuers of covered general obligation bonds and notes. Legislative committees and the public must receive the list before issuance. Changes to amounts or payees must be reported and made public within three days. The list excludes wages and expenses of full-time, permanent Commonwealth employees.
Pulaski County Fiscal Court gets $1.5 million each fiscal year for Connect Community Village. The provision does not specify the covered fiscal years. It also does not set individual eligibility rules or direct household payments.
The Commonwealth Office of the Ombudsman can receive reports and information from child welfare investigations and assessments. Those records remain confidential. The office can use this information in its required reporting, but must remove details that identify people.
State agencies must provide software and access rights needed to retrieve covered records, at no cost to the Auditor. The Auditor must obtain state and national background checks for current and prospective staff who access federal tax information. This includes contract staff and fingerprint checks by Kentucky State Police and the FBI. Ongoing criminal-record monitoring is optional. Check and monitoring fees cannot exceed actual processing and check costs.
The law funds utility projects through three county fiscal courts. In fiscal year 2024–2025, Knott County gets $3.5 million for water and Leslie County gets $3.4 million for a gas line. Clark County gets $3 million for a water project in fiscal year 2025–2026. These grants do not specify which households get service or how utility bills change.
Pineville gets $1 million each fiscal year for courthouse square construction, renovation, and water expansion; covered years are not specified. Letcher County Fiscal Court gets $945,000 in fiscal year 2024–2025 and $925,000 in fiscal year 2025–2026 for Fleming-Neon Rising. It also gets $3 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 to renovate Whitesburg's historic Daniel Boone Hotel. The Historic Adair County Courthouse receives $1 million for revitalization in fiscal year 2024–2025. These grants fund local projects, not direct household payments.
Russell County Fiscal Court gets $3 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 for its Library Community Development Center project. Ballard County Fiscal Court gets $50,000 each fiscal year to support the Ballard-Carlisle County Public Library. The covered years for Ballard County's per-year grant are not specified in the provision. The money supports libraries, not direct household payments.
Whitley County Fiscal Court gets $7.5 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 for corrections-related renovations. The money funds local facilities. This provision does not specify changes to individual legal duties, services, or household costs.
Local governments enforcing fire codes can create five-member appeals boards with local lawmakers' approval; at least three members must be nonemployees. Appeals must identify the disputed fire-code rules and explain the challenge. Boards must hear appeals within 15 days of receipt, give certified-mail notice at least 10 days before hearings, and decide within five working days afterward. Fire-department employees cannot hear appeals from their own department, and members cannot hear cases involving their private interests. Appeals without a local board having authority go to the state fire marshal; final orders can reach the proper Circuit Court. Local governments can share boards through interlocal agreements.
The law creates a legislative board to review Kentucky Medicaid's services, costs, and administration and recommend changes. State agencies, Medicaid managed-care plans, the state pharmacy benefit manager, and other Medicaid contractors must provide requested information, including contracts. The board can set reporting formats, schedules, and deadlines. These provisions do not themselves change Medicaid eligibility, benefits, or household costs.
Russell County Fiscal Court gets $10 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 to support a hospital expansion. The grant funds healthcare facilities. It does not specify changes to services, insurance coverage, eligibility, or household medical bills.
The law provides $5 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 to the Emergency and Targeted Investment Fund for school facilities. The School Facilities Construction Commission must prioritize schools with structural failures and no capacity to borrow through bonds.
The Challenger Learning Center of Kentucky gets $460,000 in each funded fiscal year for science, technology, engineering, and math resources. The law does not set individual eligibility rules or provide direct payments to students.
Beattyville's Radio Read Meter Replacement Project receives $1.2725 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 and $600,000 in 2025–2026. The law does not state how the project changes household utility bills.
Taylor County Fiscal Court receives $2.95 million in each fiscal year, 2024–2025 and 2025–2026, for its Community Development Project. In 2024–2025, Booneville receives $1.25 million for land purchases and renovations. Owsley County Fiscal Court receives $1.25 million that year for land purchases, reclamation, and renovations. The McCreary County Heritage Foundation receives $5 million that year for the Stearns Revitalization Project. London also receives $1 million that year to build London City Plaza.
In fiscal year 2024–2025, 1CC receives $10 million for land purchases, construction, and joint regional economic development projects. Barren County Fiscal Court receives $1 million that year for projects serving multiple counties. Hart County Fiscal Court receives $1.5 million that year for various projects; Green County Fiscal Court receives $2 million in 2025–2026. Jessamine County Fiscal Court receives $300,000 in each fiscal year, 2024–2025 and 2025–2026, for Enterprise Industria infrastructure and utilities. The law does not identify the specific Hart or Green County projects.
The East Kentucky Heritage Foundation gets $6 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 to build cabins at Raven Rock Resort. The money comes through the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet. Harlan County Fiscal Court gets $500,000 for Backroads of Appalachia in each of fiscal years 2024–2025 and 2025–2026.
The law provides $10.6 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 for $200,000 grants to each general aviation airport. Recipients must have an automated dependent surveillance broadcast tracking system installed or use grant money to buy and install one. A separate $600,000 goes through the Department of Aviation to Danville-Boyle County Airport for Stuart-Powell Field.
The Kentucky Center for the Performing Arts gets $6 million for renovations in each of fiscal years 2024–2025 and 2025–2026. For 2024–2025, Louisville Metro gets $1.5 million for the Grand Lyric Theater. The Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet provides $4 million that year to support moving the Aviation Museum of Kentucky. Breckenridge County Fiscal Court also gets $60,000 that year for the Joseph Holt Home.
For fiscal year 2024–2025, Covington gets $10 million through the Department for Local Government for Central Riverfront site infrastructure. Mercer County Fiscal Court gets $11.5 million for the Wilkinson Farm Mega Site. Kenton County Fiscal Court gets $6 million for SparkHaus and $5 million to prepare brownfield sites. These grants fund named projects, not direct household payments.
Kentucky Horse Park gets $18 million for upgrades in each of fiscal years 2024–2025 and 2025–2026. Uses include its restaurant, competition barns and stalls, entertainment pavilions, campground sites and bathhouse. The funding also covers a maintenance pool and the International Museum of the Horse.
In fiscal year 2024–2025, the Kentucky Music Hall of Fame receives $150,000 for facility upgrades. The International Bluegrass Music Museum receives $500,000 through the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet for its Bluegrass Capital Initiative. The National Quilt Museum receives $400,000 through that cabinet to replace its roof.
Public riverports get $7.5 million in each of fiscal years 2024–2025 and 2025–2026, with unspent 2024–2025 funds carrying forward. Within that yearly amount, West Kentucky Regional Riverport Authority gets $250,000 for predevelopment archaeological work. Each existing public riverport gets $750,000 yearly for construction, maintenance, and other eligible uses, without a local match; the Transportation Secretary distributes the remainder. Separately, Paducah-McCracken Riverport Authority gets $3.5 million for Riverport West in 2023–2024, carrying forward without lapsing into 2024–2025. Owensboro Riverport Authority gets $1.3 million in 2024–2025 to build a waterline loop.
In fiscal year 2024–2025, Laurel County Fiscal Court receives $1 million for regional fairgrounds. Williamsburg receives $1.5 million for its recreational vehicle campground and water park. Knox County Fiscal Court receives $1.5 million for recreational vehicle park upgrades. Corbin receives $3.5 million for land purchases, construction, and renovations for a tourism initiative. Another $125,000 supports construction of the KY 160 Black Mountain Roadside Overlook.
Warren County Fiscal Court receives $301,400 in each fiscal year, 2024–2025 and 2025–2026, to beautify the Interstate 65 corridor. Paducah receives $3.5 million in 2024–2025 to finish a federally funded Build Grant project. The law does not specify direct household payments or savings from these projects.
Partners for Rural Impact gets $500,000 in each of fiscal years 2024–2025 and 2025–2026 to help secure federal grants. Taylor County Fiscal Court gets $150,000 in 2024–2025 and $350,000 in 2025–2026 for rural economic development. Those initiatives operate with Campbellsville University. The law does not provide these funds directly to households.
In fiscal year 2024–2025, the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet provides $200,000 to the Muhlenberg County Tourism Commission. The cabinet also provides $720,000 for Trail Town grants, capped at $30,000 per grant. Through the Parks budget unit, Dream Big Burnside Authority receives $100,000 to study a lodge and other amenities at General Burnside Island State Park. The Burnside money pays for a feasibility study, not construction.
Washington County Fiscal Court gets $1.2655 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 for natural gas infrastructure upgrades. The law does not set a change in household gas rates.
The Rural Infrastructure Improvement Fund gets $19.9881 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 for utility pole replacements. This includes $4 million for pole owners to hire temporary workers. Another $2 million goes to the Kentucky Association of Electric Cooperatives to administer the work. The Office of Broadband Development gets $2 million to support temporary workers for investor-owned utilities and other pole owners. Unspent money carries forward to fiscal year 2025–2026.
Covington Life Science Center receives $1.25 million in each fiscal year, 2024–2025 and 2025–2026, for equipment and facilities. The University of Kentucky receives $1 million in 2024–2025 for immune dysregulation research. These appropriations do not create household payments or health coverage rights.
Multifamily housing projects that add at least 48 homes to Kentucky’s housing supply can qualify for bond financing. The law sets no financing amount and does not require those homes to be affordable. Separately, Booneville gets $500,000 in fiscal year 2024–2025 for a home development initiative. The law does not specify who can access those homes or what they will cost.
The law continues a one-time allocation of $2.2 million in each funded fiscal year for the LifeWorks at WKU Program. The money supports operations, renovations, and property purchases. Money unspent at the end of fiscal year 2024–2025 carries forward to 2025–2026.
The eKentucky Advanced Manufacturing Institute receives $1 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 for operations. Shaping Our Appalachian Region receives $1.5 million that year to attract remote talent. These grants fund organizations and do not establish direct household payments or individual eligibility rules.
Green County Fiscal Court gets $2 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 for employment stabilization and workforce development. A regional training center through the Lake Cumberland Area Development District gets $8 million that year and $500,000 in 2025–2026. Western Kentucky Community and Technical College gets $1.4 million in 2025–2026 through the state college system for aviation programs. These grants fund programs and facilities, not promised payments to workers or students.
The law adds a $50 million reauthorization of agency bonds for Western Kentucky University's athletic facilities. The financing supports construction, renovations, and improvements. The project listing separately shows $10 million in agency bonds. These figures describe bond financing, not direct household payments.
Entities subject to discretionary Ombudsman investigations, reviews, evaluations, information analysis, or related work must pay the office's expenses. Charges use the Auditor's rate for audit work. The office must track its time and expenses. The law sets no total charge and imposes no direct household payment duty.
Authorized agents, the deputy auditor, and the ombudsman can use the Auditor's powers for work authorized by law. This includes access to relevant records and property. Officers, employees, and contractors face obstruction penalties for preventing, attempting to prevent, or obstructing audits, examinations, or reviews. The Auditor must keep information confidential but can disclose it when judged advisable for official duties and recommendations.
The Commonwealth Office of the Ombudsman can investigate health and family services cabinet actions or inaction without waiting for final decisions. Investigations can follow complaints or start on the office's own initiative, and cover cabinet units, employees, and contractors. Covered parties cannot willfully obstruct investigations, restrict access to records or staff, or retaliate against complainants or cabinet employees. The office can recommend complaint solutions and require corrective action when it finds a policy violation. It also gains access to adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation investigation records, but reports using confidential information must remove identifying details.
Edmonson County Fiscal Court receives a $2 million emergency infrastructure grant in fiscal year 2024–2025 through the Department for Local Government. The grant requires at least $1 million in local matching funds. It does not establish a direct household payment.
Frankfort receives $11.25 million in fiscal year 2024–2025 to build the Frankfort Convention Center. The grant requires a dollar-for-dollar match. The appropriation supports construction, not direct household payments.
Two rail pilot programs each get $7.5 million in each of fiscal years 2024–2025 and 2025–2026. One supports Class II and III railroad lines, corridors, equipment, and capital work; the other funds industrial rail access and safety improvements. Both require non-state funds covering at least 50% of project costs and cap grants at $2 million per project. The industrial access and safety program also limits each recipient to 25% of its yearly funds. Both programs carry unspent 2024–2025 money into 2025–2026.
Robby Mills
Republican • Senate
Donald Douglas
Republican • Senate
All Roll Calls
Yes: 236 • No: 51
Senate vote • 3/27/2025
passed
Yes: 31 • No: 6
House vote • 3/27/2025
passed
Yes: 72 • No: 19
House vote • 3/14/2025
3rd reading, passed
Yes: 69 • No: 19
Senate vote • 3/14/2025
passed
Yes: 30 • No: 7
Senate vote • 2/28/2025
3rd reading, passed
Yes: 34 • No: 0
delivered to Secretary of State (Acts Ch. 117)
enrolled, signed by Speaker of the House
enrolled, signed by President of the Senate
received in Senate
passed 72-19
line vetoes partially overridden
posted for consideration of Governor's veto
taken from Rules
to Rules (H)
received in House
passed 31-6
line vetoes partially overridden
posted for passage for consideration of Governor's veto
to Rules (S)
received in Senate
line items vetoed
delivered to Governor
enrolled, signed by Speaker of the House
enrolled, signed by President of the Senate
passed 30-7
Senate concurred in House amendment Committee Substitute (1), Floor Amendments (1) and (3), and Committee Amendment (1-title)
posted for passage for concurrence in House Floor Amendments (1) and (3), Committee Substitute (1), and Committee Amendment (1-title)
to Rules (S)
received in Senate
3rd reading, passed 69-19 with Committee Substitute (1), Floor Amendments (1) and (3), and Committee Amendment (1-title)
Current
3/27/2025
Introduced
2/17/2025
HB 501, AN ACT relating to pharmaceutical drugs.
HB 664, AN ACT relating to the operation of a motor vehicle and declaring an emergency.
HB 606, AN ACT relating to economic development.
HB 421, AN ACT relating to colorectal cancer screenings.
HB 555, AN ACT relating to local government financial practices.
HB 493, AN ACT relating to the towing and storage of motor vehicles.