All Roll Calls
Yes: 90 • No: 23
Sponsored By: Linda R. Greenstein (Democratic), Eliana Pintor Marin (Democratic), Paul A. Sarlo (Democratic), Benjie E. Wimberly (Democratic)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
8 provisions identified: 3 benefits, 0 costs, 5 mixed.
Beginning June 28, 2024, the law allows up to $40 million for free, full-day preschool for resident three- and four-year-olds. The money can also support workforce preparation, training, and other preschool expansion needs. The education commissioner sets district awards, and districts must show readiness to meet state preschool quality standards. Districts first receiving aid in 2023–2024 must show efforts to partner with willing, qualified licensed child care or Head Start programs nearby. This funding does not guarantee every child a place.
Beginning June 28, 2024, the law sets FY2024 economic development grants at $299.682 million. It also directs $10 million from existing Film-Lease Partner Facility Investments funding to film and digital media programs. The New Jersey Economic Development Authority chooses those industry programs, projects, and initiatives. With state budget director approval, real estate project funds can move to Strategic Innovation Centers and the Maternal and Infant Health Innovation Center. No transfer amount or direct household payment is specified.
Beginning June 28, 2024, the law provides $50 million from the Health Care Affordability and Accessibility Fund for Medicaid coverage for parents and children. The state budget director must approve the funding. The director can also approve transfers from Robert Wood Johnson Barnabas Health Community Health Projects to the state Medicaid office. Transferred funds must follow federal Medicaid guidelines and solely maximize federal Medicaid payments to affiliated faculty physicians and other clinical professionals. These provisions do not change Medicaid eligibility or set individual benefit amounts.
Beginning June 28, 2024, the law shifts FY2024 New Jersey corrections funding. It adds $2.5 million for institutional care and treatment and $7.3 million for administration and support. It reduces materials and supplies funding by $9.8 million, offsetting those increases. The law does not specify changes to individual rights, services, or household payments.
Beginning June 28, 2024, the law adds $4.3 million from the Property Tax Relief Fund for community mental health services. It reduces funding for patients in county psychiatric hospitals by the same amount. This reallocates FY2024 funding rather than adding a net $4.3 million. The law does not specify changes to individual patients’ care or costs.
Beginning June 28, 2024, the law adds $12.111 million to FY2024 Income Maintenance Management funding. It reduces General Assistance payment funding by $7.918 million and Supplemental Security Income payment funding by $4.193 million. These are equal, offsetting changes among state accounts. The law does not specify changes to recipients’ payment amounts or eligibility.
Beginning June 28, 2024, the law revises FY2024 preschool aid formulas based on each district’s funding history and expansion status. Early Launch districts funded in 2007–2008 receive their allocation from that year. Certain districts with 2008–2009 aid histories use 2022–2023 per-pupil aid, adjusted for inflation and projected enrollment. Other specified districts, including expansion and competitive-award districts, use a statutory formula with projected 2023–2024 full-time-equivalent enrollment. That formula uses per-pupil amounts from the commissioner’s March 2023 aid notice; the information provided does not establish individual district awards.
Beginning June 28, 2024, the law reallocates FY2024 school aid among state accounts. Through the Property Tax Relief Fund, it adds $6.764 million for General Formula Aid and $4.455 million for Student Transportation. It cuts Equalization Aid by $6.764 million and Transportation Aid by $4.455 million. The law does not specify changes to household costs or each district’s final net funding.
Linda R. Greenstein
Democratic • Senate
Eliana Pintor Marin
Democratic • House
Paul A. Sarlo
Democratic • Senate
Benjie E. Wimberly
Democratic • Senate
Verlina Reynolds-Jackson
Democratic • House
All Roll Calls
Yes: 90 • No: 23
House vote • 6/28/2024
3RDG FINAL PASSAGE
Yes: 52 • No: 22
Senate vote • 6/28/2024
3RDG FINAL PASSAGE
Yes: 38 • No: 1
Approved by Governor — P.L.2024, c.17.
Passed Assembly, PBH — (52-22-0)
Substituted for A4701
Received in Assembly, Without Reference, 2nd Reading in Assembly
Passed Senate — (38-1)
Reported, 2nd Reading in Senate
Introduced, 1st Reading in Senate, Referred to Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee
Version PL2024
9/10/2024
Version AL2024
7/31/2024
As Introduced
6/28/2024
Senate Budget and Appropriations Substitute (6/26/24)
6/27/2024
S2160, Allows seasonal retail consumption alcoholic beverage license holder to exchange license for full-year consumption license.
A6307, Modifies certain requirements of film and digital media content production tax credit program; modifies criteria for purchase of certain tax credit transfer certificates administered by Division of Taxation.
A6306, Authorizes tax credits for certain sports and entertainment projects; authorizes additional tax credits for New Jersey Aspire Program and Emerge Program.
A6298, Modifies provisions concerning net positive benefits test and special economic importance for certain transformative projects under New Jersey Aspire Program.
A6213, Allows cities to close existing life guard pension plans to new entrants and modifies certain life guard pension benefits; makes new life guard pension plans permissive.
A6316, Requires establishment of financial advisory services program for participants of State's deferred compensation plan.