All Roll Calls
Yes: 247 • No: 5
Sponsored By: Jean Schmidt (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
53 provisions identified: 43 benefits, 2 costs, 8 mixed.
Currently employed public safety officers can receive reimbursement for a professionally diagnosed, work-related post-traumatic stress injury without accompanying physical injury. Covered out-of-pocket costs include diagnosis, therapy, medication, facility costs, and inpatient or outpatient treatment. Officers must apply using the commission's form and provide required information. Reimbursement is capped at $50,000 unless documented higher costs receive commission approval and additional funds are available. Access depends on available funds, and filing date sets priority when eligibility must be limited.
Approved qualifying homesteads and manufactured or mobile homes receive reductions on taxes from qualifying levies, after existing tax adjustments. The reduction starts at 5.70% in the first applicable tax year, then rises to 8.92% and 12.15%. It reaches 15.38% in the third following year and stays there. Counties can add up to 2.5% for homes already receiving the covered partial exemption, without a separate application. County decisions adopted by July 1 start or end relief that year for real property and the next year for manufactured homes; later decisions shift each date back one year.
Investors retain Ohio tax-credit eligibility in affected zones designated in 2018 that lose federal status on or after January 1, 2027. One route requires investment before December 31, 2026, followed by fund investment and property improvements before December 31, 2028. Another requires applying by January 10, 2028, receiving a credit certificate, and applying for eligible fund investments. Eligibility lasts until project completion or December 31, 2028, whichever is later.
Equity or loan proceeds used to repay affordable housing project financing can qualify for Ohio's opportunity-zone tax credit. This includes projects completed and initially financed before the repayment investment. The housing must be in an Ohio opportunity zone and covered by an Ohio Housing Finance Agency program. The original financing must not have received this credit, and repayment investment must occur within two years after project completion.
Ohio's opportunity-zone credit counts eligible money used to improve property, not money used to buy it. The property must be in an Ohio opportunity zone. Grant funds also cannot count toward the described eligible investment.
Tiffin-Fostoria Municipal Court can share criminal jurisdiction with Seneca County Common Pleas Court for eligible PIVOT drug recovery participants. Drug addiction must be the main factor behind the charged offense, and the person must be admitted to the program. Nonresidence, other-court supervision or sanctions, and pending felony proceedings elsewhere no longer block shared jurisdiction. Exclusions remain for first- through third-degree violent felonies, felony sex offenses or applicable registration duties, and drug felonies under sections 2925.04 or 2925.041. People serving another court's prison term or working as law-enforcement informants also remain excluded.
The law provides a one-time tax reduction for qualifying homes, not all homeowners. It covers real-property homesteads for tax year 2026 and manufactured or mobile homes for tax year 2027. Each home's reduction equals the remaining fund balance divided by eligible homes, rounded down to the nearest dollar. County auditors must certify eligible homes by November 1, 2026; relief applies first to first-half bills, then second-half bills. The law funds the required payments and provides up to $500,000 for implementation costs.
Employers cannot fire, demote, reassign, or punish public safety officers for pursuing or participating in state post-traumatic stress fund claims. Officers can seek relief in common pleas court. They must notify the employer in writing within 90 days of the challenged action. They must file suit within 180 days of that action.
Ohio's Parks and Recreation Improvement Fund has a reported total of $328.27877 million for named projects. Awards in this part of its schedule range from $12,500 to $250,000. Separate fiscal year 2026 grants provide $750,000 to the Outdoor Recreation Council of Appalachia for outdoor recreation activities. The Mahoning Valley Scrappers receive $500,000 that year for stadium maintenance and improvements. These funds support projects, not direct household payments.
On July 1, 2026, Ohio calculates available surplus from its uncommitted June 30, 2026 General Revenue Fund cash balance. It deducts 0.5% of fiscal year 2026 revenues and projected fiscal year 2027 spending and transfer shortfalls. Available money moves in order: up to $35 million toward a $4 billion stabilization balance, then $320 million for sales-tax holidays. Next come $350 million for property-tax relief, $310 million for health and human services, and $200 million for debt reduction. The debt fund supplies cash for the 136th General Assembly's capital appropriations instead of borrowing; financially advantageous debt retirement is also allowed. Any remaining surplus and the June 30, 2025 cash balance stay in the General Revenue Fund.
The law provides $310 million in state funds and $565 million in federal funds for fiscal year 2026 nursing facility payments. These payments settle amounts tied to an Ohio Supreme Court decision. Providers accepting payment settle covered amounts for July 1, 2023, through March 20, 2026, and waive contrary legal claims. Facilities with ownership or operator changes from July 1, 2023, through the section's effective date must prove the proper payee; others must be paid without delay. Unspent, uncommitted funds remain available for the same purpose in fiscal year 2027.
The Appalachian Ohio Manufacturers Coalition receives $1.5 million each fiscal year for a workforce reentry pilot. It serves behavioral health recovery-program graduates in Meigs, Athens, Morgan, Noble, Monroe, and Washington counties. The coalition jointly develops and runs the pilot with the Appalachian Children Coalition, consulting the state mental health agency director. The law does not specify individual payments or guarantee jobs.
During reappraisals or three-year valuation updates, county budget commissions adjust levies within the ten-mill limitation to limit tax growth. Covered increases cannot exceed the inflation factor based on the GDP deflator, using taxes before specified reductions. Adjustments must be certified by December 1. For taxing units spanning counties with different update years, calculations occur at the principal county's update and rates apply uniformly. Reduced mills cannot be reassigned to another taxing unit.
The law revises tax reductions for qualifying manufactured and mobile homes under section 4503.065. The formula leaves out the percentage reduction under section 319.303 while accounting for reductions under sections 319.302 and 323.152(B). This can increase relief for owners who satisfy the program's eligibility, occupancy, and application requirements. The supplied text does not provide a household savings amount.
Ohio's 2027 sales tax holiday runs August 1–15, 2027, for 15 days. Shoppers avoid applicable sales tax on purchases covered by the holiday during that period. This provision does not list covered items or estimate household savings.
Each fiscal year, Appalachia Assistance provides $375,000 to FosterHub in Hocking County. Integrated Services for Behavioral Health receives $250,000 for a behavioral health emergency pilot. Tuscarawas County Commissioners receive $100,000 for the County Growth Initiative. Athens receives $150,000 for a southeast Ohio regional agricultural initiative. These are grants to organizations and local governments, not stated payments to individual residents.
The Veterans and First Responders Appalachian Assistance Program receives $500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and $875,000 in fiscal year 2027. The Development and Veterans Services directors must set criteria for distributing the money. The provision does not set an individual payment amount.
Individual compensation and payroll details submitted for economic-development or similar financial aid are confidential and not public records. Local governments, port authorities, and tax incentive review councils can use them to review applications and verify information. They can also use them to meet state-law requirements, but cannot disclose them publicly.
The law directs a one-time $350,000 capital appropriation to Mount Vernon Parks Projects instead of West End Park Improvements. The money supports local parks work, not direct household payments. The provision does not name the specific improvements or residents served.
Qualified Ohio public educational television and radio stations receive $2.05596 million in fiscal year 2027 for equipment. Qualified radio reading services receive another $44,433 for equipment that year. Unspent fiscal year 2026 balances not already committed are carried forward for these same purposes in fiscal year 2027.
Ohio reserves $4.175 million from State Parks Renovations/Upgrades for seven named projects. Portage Lakes receives $1.75 million for a police boathouse; Grand Lake St. Marys receives $800,000 for East Bank Road. Rocky Fork receives $525,000 for East Shore Marina lighting and improvements; Wolf Run receives $350,000 for campground and beach improvements. Buckeye Lake receives $300,000 for north shore bathrooms; Appalachian Hills Wildlife Area receives $250,000 for an archery range. Hargus Lake in A.W. Marion State Park receives $200,000 for a kayak ramp.
The law provides $187,000 in fiscal year 2027 for the Participating in Victory of Transition pilot. Funding comes from Specialized Docket Support and covers Hancock, Seneca, and Wood counties. The provision does not establish direct household payments or individual eligibility benefits.
The law provides $45,000 in fiscal year 2026 for baby box installations at three local fire departments. The Development Director selects one department each in Geauga, Lake, and Portage counties. Each selected department receives $15,000.
Ohio provides $4.06 million in fiscal year 2027 for lake dredging and areas used to relocate dredged material. Lake Logan receives $1.725 million, Lake Loramie receives $1.745 million, and Grand Lake St. Marys receives $590,000. The money must support work at these three lakes.
Coshocton receives $250,000 each fiscal year to design and build a water line extension serving Warsaw and River View School. The provision does not identify household connections or changes to water bills.
Radiologist assistants perform authorized imaging procedures under a radiologist's supervision, including prescribed contrast, radio-isotopes, and drugs directly related to those procedures. They cannot interpret images, diagnose, prescribe treatment, or give or help give any level of sedation. Radiologists can supervise authorized contrast administration on-site or remotely. Remote supervision requires an on-site provider trained to evaluate reactions, authorized to treat them, able to consult the radiologist, and prepared for emergency response. That provider needs institution-accepted basic life support certification, and care must follow treatment guidelines approved by institutional clinical leaders.
Registered nurses, radiographers, radiation therapy technologists, and nuclear medicine technologists can give imaging contrast under physician supervision. Nurses must complete training and meet institutional competency guidelines for giving contrast and recognizing and evaluating reactions. Direct supervision requires the physician on-site; general supervision requires the physician readily available and a qualified provider on-site. For technologists, that provider must recognize reactions, be authorized to treat them, consult the physician, hold basic life support certification, and activate emergency response. Contrast care and adverse-event responses must follow treatment guidelines approved by institutional clinical leaders.
Election boards must review referendum petitions on proposed planned-unit development rule changes within 30 days after certification. If a petition has too few valid signatures, the petitioner gets 10 days after notice to submit more. These rules govern challenges to amendments establishing or changing planned-unit development regulations.
The law directs the Helping Ohioans Stay in Their Homes appropriation to People Working Cooperatively. The money supports its Safe and Healthy at Home Initiative. This provision does not state the funding amount, services offered, or household eligibility rules.
Neighborhood Alliance receives $250,000 each fiscal year to support the homeless shelter in Lorain County. The grant supports shelter services for people experiencing homelessness. It does not establish direct cash assistance or individual eligibility rules.
Freedom a la Cart receives $250,000 each fiscal year for workforce programs serving human trafficking survivors. The money supports employment-related services. The law does not establish direct payments, individual eligibility details, or guaranteed jobs.
Each fiscal year, four regional development districts receive $210,000 each to carry out their state-law programs and duties. They are Ohio Valley Regional Development Commission, Ohio Mid-Eastern Government Association, Buckeye Hills Regional Council, and Eastgate Regional Council of Governments. Ohio University's Voinovich School receives $1 million each fiscal year to work for the Mayor's Partnership for Progress. Shawnee State University receives $500,000 each fiscal year for its Civic and Culture Program for Appalachia.
Ohio provides $3.25 million in fiscal year 2027 for state road improvements alongside its Highway Construction–State funding. Before spending it, the Transportation Director must certify an equal amount in canceled commitments from existing departmental General Revenue Fund appropriations. Grand River separately receives $15,000 in fiscal year 2026 for sidewalk improvements and repairs.
Baldwin Wallace University receives $500,000 each fiscal year to expand the Northeast Ohio Flight Information Exchange. The grant also supports developing flight information exchanges in other Ohio communities. It does not establish traveler payments or travel-cost savings.
Ohio provides $2.5 million each fiscal year to help eligible entities buy diagnostic ultrasound machines. Applicants must meet state eligibility requirements and be physically located in Ohio. Hospitals, federally qualified health centers, and ambulatory surgical facilities cannot apply. Funded entities cannot charge pregnant women, or women who suspect pregnancy, for diagnostic ultrasound services. They also cannot promote or perform abortion-related services or make abortion referrals.
The Tax Commissioner must decide covered advance-filed property tax exemption applications within one year of receiving a complete application. A written information request made before that deadline can extend the decision period. The extended deadline is the later of 120 days after receiving the information or the original one-year deadline. Applications left undecided past the applicable deadline are deemed approved. The Commissioner must issue an approval determination within 30 days after that deadline.
The law directs Residential Economic Development District Program funds to grants for workforce housing development. Unspent, uncommitted fiscal year 2026 funds remain available for the same purpose in fiscal year 2027. The provision does not state an amount or create individual rental assistance or homebuyer aid.
The Tax Commissioner can certify a tax-reduction percentage within 15 days after receiving the needed county information. This applies to first-time levies or delays needed for the specified county budget commission certification. The law changes the certification schedule, not the tax-reduction formula.
Owners have 12 months after this section's effective date to apply to fix a qualifying missed property tax exemption. The property must qualify under the specified economic development exemption laws and currently serve an exempt purpose. The missed exemption must result from failing to follow the specified filing or property-listing procedures. The Tax Commissioner can cancel unpaid taxes, penalties, and interest, or credit or repay amounts already paid. The Commissioner can also grant this relief for qualifying applications already pending on the effective date.
Development Projects, Inc. receives $1.55 million in fiscal year 2026 and $1.45 million in fiscal year 2027. The money supports economic development and job creation tied to mission gains at defense and related facilities in Ohio. Supported work includes workforce development, technology transfer, human performance, and cybersecurity initiatives.
Three centers each receive $133,333 each fiscal year for the Ohio Oil and Gas Career Jumpstart Program. They are Apollo Career and Technical Center, Mahoning Career and Technical Center, and Washington County Career Center. The Salem Worlds War Memorial Building Association receives $10,000 in fiscal year 2026 to develop a job training center. These grants fund centers rather than direct household payments.
Marietta College receives $1.3 million in fiscal year 2027 to develop training programs for high-demand healthcare jobs. Spending requires the Development Director to certify at least $550,000 in canceled commitments from existing department General Revenue Fund appropriations. NewBridge Cleveland Center for Arts and Technology receives $500,000 in fiscal year 2026. That grant supports healthcare certification and job placement for at-risk adult learners. These grants do not promise individual tuition aid or jobs.
School districts in the expedited local partnership program use their percentile ranking to determine their required building-project cost share. The law removes the alternative calculation based on bringing district debt within $5,000 of a required level. That old calculation used the greater of the two amounts. The provision does not establish a household tax change.
The Minority Business Development appropriation supports division activities and grants to local nonprofits promoting minority business development. Those activities must coordinate with organizations funded through Small Business and Export Assistance. The Stark County Minority Business Association receives $85,000 in fiscal year 2026 for the Kirk Schuring Business Development Center and Innovation Hub. These provisions do not establish direct grants or loans for individual business owners.
Applications for the exemption programs named in section 5713.08(A) no longer require a treasurer's certificate about taxes, interest, and penalties. Applicants for programs named in section 5715.27(I)(1) can file before the tax year under an authorizing resolution or ordinance. The Tax Commissioner decides whether the property is or will be exempt; auditors record approved exemptions for the applicable year. Approved exemptions under section 5715.27(I)(1) or (2) also follow parcels created by splitting or combining the approved parcel. Those resulting parcels do not need a new application.
County auditors cannot remove exempt property solely because it transfers between a nonprofit and its single-member limited liability company. The company must have a nonprofit purpose and the nonprofit must be its sole member. The protection covers transfers in either direction.
Ohio opportunity-zone credit applications now run January 15–16 and July 15–16, replacing January 10–17 and July 10–17. Non-business-day dates shift under the law's next-business-day rule. For the $5 million project credit cap, each qualified opportunity-zone business receiving fund investment counts as one project. Its number of assets or activities does not create separate projects.
Specified school current-expense tax calculations exclude taxes from levies under sections 5705.194 or 5705.199 approved before January 1, 2026. The exclusion ends in the first tax year from 2026 onward when section 5715.24 applies in a county containing district territory. This changes tax-reduction calculations, but the supplied text does not establish whether a particular property owner's bill rises or falls.
Township zoning text or map changes tied to legally defined megaproject property take effect immediately when trustees adopt them. These amendments are exempt from the specified referendum process. This speeds zoning changes for projects but removes that referendum option for residents.
The law redirects uncommitted June 30, 2026 balances from Network Operations Center Upgrades and Ohio Radio Reading Services to network upgrades. It sets reappropriations for Ohio Public TV-Radio and Ohio Radio Reading Services Equipment to zero. The provision changes Broadcast Educational Media Commission funding but does not state the dollar amounts.
Ohio can sell its building and improvement interests on a described 15.0321-acre parcel by negotiated agreement or sealed-bid auction. The land is excluded and remains under Ohio State University's control. After bid acceptance, the buyer owes a 10% deposit within five business days, plus the purchase price and transaction costs. The sale is as-is, with all faults; net proceeds support the Computer Center Bond Retirement Fund or another designated fund. Excess proceeds go to the General Revenue Fund, and sale authority expires three years after this section takes effect.
Regional transit authorities cannot include specified terms in goods and services contracts unless state or federal law allows or requires them. Limits cover certain indemnities, binding arbitration, venue, liability, renewals, outside counsel, public records, and replacement-contractor costs. A prohibited term is void, but the rest of the contract stays enforceable, and Ohio law governs. Contracts already in effect before the amendment's effective date, plus their renewals and extensions, are exempt.
School districts can request a new project-cost ranking when eligible for state aid or priority assistance. Their expedited local partnership agreement must predate the latest fiscal year by at least 10 years. Rankings must have reduced their cost share by at least 15% in three of the latest five fiscal years. Added state funding must exceed local spending under the agreement, and districts cannot have prior awards under the specified school-building program. Using the new ranking to reset the cost share means giving up reimbursement otherwise owed for local project spending.
Jean Schmidt
Republican • House
Adam Holmes
Republican • House
Anita Somani
Democratic • House
Cecil Thomas
Democratic • House
Cindy Abrams
Republican • House
Crystal Lett
Democratic • House
Derrick Hall
Democratic • House
Elgin Rogers, Jr.
Democratic • House
Gary Click
Republican • House
Jason Stephens
Republican • House
Josh Williams
Republican • House
Karen Brownlee
Democratic • House
Kellie Deeter
Republican • House
Mark Hiner
Republican • House
Mark Romanchuk
Republican • Senate
Mark Sigrist
Democratic • House
Michael D. Dovilla
Republican • House
Michele Grim
Democratic • House
Mike Odioso
Republican • House
Monica Robb Blasdel
Republican • House
Sean P. Brennan
Democratic • House
Stephen A. Huffman
Republican • Senate
Terry Johnson
Republican • Senate
Tristan Rader
Democratic • House
All Roll Calls
Yes: 247 • No: 5
House vote • 6/10/2026
Concurred in Senate amendments
Yes: 90 • No: 5
Senate vote • 6/10/2026
Passed
Yes: 33 • No: 0
Senate vote • 6/9/2026
Finance: Reported
Yes: 13 • No: 0
Senate vote • 5/20/2026
Health: Reported
Yes: 7 • No: 0
House vote • 2/25/2026
Passed
Yes: 92 • No: 0
House vote • 2/18/2026
Health: Reported
Yes: 12 • No: 0
Line item veto receipt
Sent to Governor
Concurred in Senate amendments
Passed
Reported
Re-referred
Reported
Refer to Committee
Introduced
Passed
Reported
Refer to Committee
Introduced
As Enrolled
As Introduced
As Passed by the House
As Passed by the Senate
As Re-Referred to the Senate Finance Committee
As Re-reported by the Senate Finance Committee
As Reported by the House Health Committee
As Reported by the Senate Health Committee
HB 519, Prohibit specified actions with intent to steal a motor vehicle
HB 455, Regards the operation of public schools and the DEW
SB 162, Regards timing of health insurer recoupment from providers
HB 433, Alter amusement ride classification for inspection fee purposes
HB 210, Regards the sale of used catalytic converters
HB 195, Revise the Ohio Uniform Commercial Code