All Roll Calls
Yes: 250 • No: 4
Sponsored By: Brian Stewart (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
90 provisions identified: 58 benefits, 15 costs, 17 mixed.
The law funds Ohio highway construction and maintenance in fiscal years 2026 and 2027. State construction gets $1.166495043 billion in 2026 and $849.676092 million in 2027. Federal construction gets $1.95 billion each year, while the separate construction account gets $83.5 million each year. State maintenance gets $701.557065 million in 2026 and $681.557065 million in 2027. These accounts fund road work, not direct household payments.
For each of FY 2026 and FY 2027, Ohio provides $210 million for bond-funded highway construction. It provides another $210 million each year for the bond-funded Highway Infrastructure Bank. Major New State Infrastructure bond payments receive $132.5 million in federal funding and $18.5 million in state funding each year. These appropriations support highway financing and debt payments, not direct household checks.
The law funds gasoline-tax payments to local governments and the Ohio Turnpike and Infrastructure Commission. Municipalities receive $413.4 million in fiscal year 2026 and $421.9 million in 2027. Townships receive $214 million in 2026 and $218.4 million in 2027. Counties and the turnpike commission share $359.8 million in 2026 and $367.2 million in 2027. These payments go to public entities, not directly to households.
Railroad wayside detector systems must be no more than 10 miles apart for Class I railroads. The maximum spacing is 25 miles for Class II railroads and 35 miles for Class III railroads. These limits set safety-related standards for detector placement.
The law funds named projects for local infrastructure, public facilities, transportation, and communities. Individual project amounts range from $9,969 to $27.5 million. Recipients include local governments, nonprofit groups, and other organizations named in the project schedule. The provided schedule summary does not state a combined total.
State transportation administration receives $118.136702 million in FY 2026 and $120.735709 million in FY 2027. The money supports transportation administration, without specifying new services or direct household payments.
Federal transportation planning and research gets $57.095074 million in each of fiscal years 2026 and 2027. State planning and research gets $34.583813 million in 2026 and $35.35235 million in 2027. The law does not name projects or provide direct household payments.
The law raises State Capital Improvements Fund local infrastructure funding from $400 million to $415 million. Within that total, $15 million is reserved for emergency road-slip grants to communities. Eligible projects involve nonstate roads, locally maintained routes, or portions of interstates. The Public Facilities Commission's additional bond authority rises from $215 million to a $230 million ceiling. Bonds support local capital projects as needed and remain subject to constitutional and statutory limits.
The Local Transportation Improvement Program gets $62 million in fiscal year 2026 and $67 million in 2027. Program operations get $324,768 and $330,375, respectively. Equal monthly transfers move $179.054124 million in 2026 and $187.584952 million in 2027 into the Gasoline Excise Tax Fund. Municipalities receive 42.86% of those transfers, counties receive 37.14%, and townships receive 20%. This funding goes to local governments and programs, not directly to households.
Federal public transportation gets $63.120485 million in fiscal year 2026 and $63.276002 million in 2027. The separate public transportation account gets $3.57 million each year. Within federal highway-construction funding, $33 million each year supports statewide transit through a federal flexible-funding program. Another $13.5 million each year from that highway account runs the Ohio Workforce Mobility Partnership Program. These amounts cover the biennium ending June 30, 2027; these provisions set no fares, routes, or individual benefits.
Through June 30, 2027, Ohio directs the first 2% of each prior month's motor fuel tax receipts to highway operations. The Treasurer makes the deposit on each month's last day. Required tax-refund-fund transfers happen first; this deposit comes before other statutory distributions. This rule directs existing revenue and does not create household payments.
People cannot knowingly keep using or occupying state highway space after the transportation director revokes their permit. Fines can reach $500 for a first offense and $2,500 for a later offense. Knowingly ignoring a required highway obstruction removal or relocation can bring fines of up to $100 per day.
Funding for listed strategic community projects falls from $717.8 million to $714.3 million. Before payment, the budget office must sign agreements requiring recipients to submit final reports on grant use. Funds left unspent and uncommitted at the end of FY 2025 carry forward for the same purpose in FY 2026. Indian Lake Advocacy Group grants are limited to current water-quality, infestation, dredging, waterway-improvement, or erosion-control needs. The group must get Natural Resources Department approval before spending.
Boat owners can authorize a registered watercraft dealer, employee, or agent to assign a title or complete a title application. The power-of-attorney document must identify the watercraft or outboard motor. It needs no notarization or verification and can be signed electronically. For a title transfer, the document must be given to the court clerk, who keeps it.
Lane-use signals have set meanings: green arrows open a lane in the shown direction, and a red X closes it. A yellow X warns that closure is coming; white left-turn arrows allow left turns but not straight travel. Existing stop, yield, and ordinary-care duties apply when an intersection signal does not clearly show right-of-way, including when dark. Those duties also apply when a malfunctioning detector fails to detect a bicycle or electric bicycle.
A green bicycle signal permits only the movement shown by the lane-use arrow, with yielding to pedestrians and vehicles. Yellow warns that green is ending; red generally requires stopping and prohibits entry for the indicated movement. A right turn on steady red is allowed after stopping only without a prohibiting device or motor-vehicle approach lanes to the right. Flashing red requires stopping. Flashing green and yellow bicycle signals have no meaning and cannot be used.
The law creates an alternative to inspection certificates, but the program starts only after federal environmental approval. Owners or lessees must submit a signed, dated statement of emissions compliance, vehicle identification, and a delivery method. Ohio must deliver qualifying certificates within 30 business days, or five business days for electronic forms. Requests can be rejected for substantial internal structural damage from a collision or qualifying emissions-related citations within the previous two years. False forms must be rejected, but applicants can submit corrections within 30 days after notice.
Counties, townships, and their representatives cannot use traffic cameras to detect or enforce violations. For these camera rules, local authority means a city or village. Qualifying camera officers must be permanent, full-time employees of that local authority's police agency and assigned to the camera location. Distance-based speed checks under the two covered Ohio speed laws may use highways or private roads, but not driveways. Drivers cannot be arrested based on those speed measurements over a driveway.
Replica vehicles titled under Ohio's replica-title law can use equipment allowed in the calendar year they copy. They do not have to meet state or local equipment rules adopted later. They are also exempt from later emissions, noise, and fuel-use rules, and cannot be barred from driving for violating those rules. Stop lights are not required when the original vehicle was not manufactured with them.
Owners and lessees of covered vehicles in inspection counties can use an alternative emissions certificate to register or renew. They still need either that certificate or an inspection certificate when required. Owners can also use alternative proof to lift emissions-related impoundment of registration papers and plates, through the required notice or presentation. Required vehicle notices in testing counties must give Ohio's toll-free testing-location number and state that battery electric vehicles need no inspection.
Qualifying hybrid vehicles seven years old or newer are exempt from Ohio's vehicle inspection and maintenance program. The exemption lasts seven years, even when ownership changes during that period.
Drivers cannot receive citations based only on speed-camera information from the Road Safety Pilot Program. The program also cannot use a device that produces tickets, summonses, or citations issued by anyone except a peace officer. That officer must be physically present when the offense occurs.
Educational service centers can request school zones for their preschools on roads with speed limits of at least 45 mph. The center must submit a written request. The transportation director handles state-controlled roads, and the county engineer handles locally controlled roads. The responsible official must establish the zone with suitable signs.
Ohio identification-card holders age 17 or older can get a replacement card without paying the usual $2.50 fee. The law also waives deputy-registrar and service fees otherwise charged for duplicates, reprints, or replacements.
From July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2027, Ohio's transportation department can close its rest areas only if commercial-vehicle parking remains available. Other rest-area facilities can close, but commercial motor vehicles must still have access to the parking lot.
When a registered watercraft dealer participates, specified boat or outboard-motor transfer documents no longer need notarization. Title, ownership-assignment, power-of-attorney, and related documents can be signed electronically. A court clerk can still request a notarized affidavit to correct a listed document. Consumer purchases from sellers who are not registered watercraft dealers still require a sworn application.
Any licensed motor vehicle dealer can now sell a used adaptive mobility vehicle at retail. Previously, only licensed new motor vehicle dealers could do so. The law expands authorized sellers but sets no prices and provides no financial assistance to buyers.
Ohio broadens which cars and buses qualify as adaptive mobility vehicles for people with disabilities. The definition no longer requires purchase from a new motor vehicle dealer or the prior new-or-used designation. Vehicles must meet federal modification standards and help a person with a disability drive or ride. They must have a lift, wheelchair ramp, or wheelchair or scooter securing system.
Vehicles six years old or newer are exempt from Ohio's emissions inspection program, up from four years. The six-year exemption continues even when the vehicle's title changes hands.
Rental drivers are protected from the specified plate-display charges and convictions when they have a valid written rental agreement. They must show it to the officer or submit it to court before or during the hearing. They must not remove, hide, or change the rental dealer's or affiliate's plate or sticker. The court must dismiss the citation when the agreement is submitted on time; only the registered owner owes related penalties.
The elected House Assistant Speaker Pro Tempore receives additional compensation for service in that role during calendar year 2025. The payment uses the statutory compensation amount and is prorated for time served. It is added to other compensation; the provided provision does not state the amount.
Schools can use or contract for vehicles originally designed for up to 12 passengers, excluding the driver. These vehicles can serve school sessions, related activities, and school-sanctioned events; districts no longer face the nine-student limit. Chartered nonpublic and community schools retain eligibility limits tied to district transportation obligations or offers. A qualified mechanic must inspect vehicles at least twice yearly and find them safe for student transportation. Drivers must meet qualification and licensing requirements, obey restraint rules, and not stop on the roadway to load or unload.
A licensed adaptive mobility dealer and a licensed remanufacturer can operate at the same location. The same company must own or operate both businesses. This creates an exception to the restriction on two motor vehicle dealers sharing a location.
From July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2027, motor fuel dealers receive a monthly discount when reports and taxes are timely. It equals 1% of prior-month gallons after specified statutory deductions, minus 0.5% of gallons sold to retail dealers. Retail dealers separately receive refunds equal to 0.5% of Ohio motor fuel taxes paid on purchases during each covered period. Covered six-month periods end December 31, 2025; June 30, 2026; December 31, 2026; and June 30, 2027.
Ohio's transportation department must extend its uniform traffic-device system to bikeways and site roadways open to public travel. The system must align with federal standards as much as possible. Entities installing traffic devices on public site roadways must follow Ohio's traffic-control manual.
Ohio provides $13.5 million in fiscal year 2026 and $7 million in 2027 for highway transportation safety. When traffic-camera rules reduce a locality's Local Government Fund payments, the state makes monthly school-safety payments to that locality. Each payment equals the smaller of one-twelfth of last year's gross school-zone camera fines or that month's reduction. Remaining camera-related reductions or withheld amounts go to the Ohio Highway and Transportation Safety Fund, solely for road safety in the affected transportation district. For localities spanning districts, money is split by public-road centerline miles.
The law bars standing or parking vehicles in bicycle lanes. Intersection crosswalks follow sidewalk boundary lines on opposite sides, measured from curbs or usable road edges when curbs are absent. If one side lacks a sidewalk, the sidewalk lines extend at right angles to the road's center line. Marked crossings can also use contrasting pavement texture, style, or color.
The law requires Ohio to start a one-year Road Safety Pilot Program by October 1, 2025. It operates in one or more construction zones. Devices display vehicle speeds and use flashing lights, while signs tell drivers the zones are monitored. The department can also use lane changes, rumble strips, and single lanes to reduce speeds.
Drivers turning in the direction of a flashing red arrow must stop first. Stop at the stop line, or before the near-side crosswalk when there is no stop line. Without a crosswalk, stop at the required point before entering the intersection. After stopping, follow the same rules used at a stop sign.
Federal railroad crossing programs get $14.068961 million in each of fiscal years 2026 and 2027. The funding supports crossing programs rather than direct household payments. The provision sets no individual eligibility rules.
Class II and Class III railroads must give Ohio's Public Utilities Commission a written explanation before installing detectors outside applicable spacing limits. The applicable spacing limits are 25 miles for Class II and 35 miles for Class III carriers. Installations within those limits do not require this explanation.
Ohio's transportation department is responsible for maintaining state interstate highways. Local governments can maintain, repair, light, or clear snow and ice from interstates under written agreements. The department can repay all or part of agreed costs, and the work must meet federal requirements. The department must also make reasonable efforts to identify owners of abandoned utility or telecommunications structures occupying state highways or rights-of-way. If those efforts fail, it can remove the structures itself or arrange removal by a third party.
Township trustees can buy or lease, install, and maintain signals at intersections that include a township road. They must follow traffic-control standards and get prior permission when a state highway or county road is involved. County-road intersections require the county engineer's permission. Ohio's transportation department must maintain township-installed signals at state highway intersections.
Light rail and transit buses approaching from designated busways, transit lanes, or tracks must follow transit signals. A steady horizontal white line means stop; vertical means go straight; diagonal shows the travel direction. A flashing vertical white line means prepare to stop. A transit authority must maintain local police contracts for safety at or near a transfer hub with at least six routes. That contract requirement applies only in counties with 535,000 to 540,000 people under the latest decennial census.
Through June 30, 2027, Ohio transfers $200,000 to the transportation department's deputy inspector general fund each July 1 and January 1. Transfers occur on those dates or as soon as possible afterward. The Controlling Board can approve necessary additional transfers and spending. Beginning October 1, 2025, state auditors and needed accountants or consultants can access any department system during an audit. Department staff must help, and auditors must follow privacy and confidentiality laws.
At a village government's request, Ohio must help remove snow and ice and apply salt on state highways within village limits. The department must also create a program for requested vegetation removal in state-highway rights-of-way. Vegetation help requires difficult or dangerous work, significant financial hardship, or a need to keep drivers' views clear. Ohio cannot seek repayment for either type of help when repayment would cause significant financial hardship. The department need not pay for snow and ice work arranged by the village itself.
Ohio can use state fuel tax money to match approved federal grants to the transportation department or eligible transit systems. It can also support eligible state- or locally funded transit road projects, including lanes, park-and-ride facilities, vehicle loops, and qualifying bridges. This authority does not cover transit operating aid or purchases of vehicles, equipment, or maintenance buildings.
In each of fiscal years 2026 and 2027, Ohio funds three transportation infrastructure banks. The federal Highway Infrastructure Bank gets $5.7505 million each year. The state Highway Infrastructure Bank gets $15.0995 million each year. The state Roadway Infrastructure Bank gets $3.75 million each year. These appropriations support infrastructure financing, but do not name specific projects or provide household payments.
For fiscal years 2026 and 2027, Ohio sets aside highway money for access roads at state natural-resources facilities. Metropolitan park roads get $2.562 million each year through June 30, 2027. Qualifying state parks and wildlife areas get $500,000 yearly for roads inside them and another $500,000 for roads leading there. Those areas must exceed 10,000 connected acres purchased in one transaction or a series of transactions. Highway money can also fund roads and related work at state fairgrounds and Ohio History Connection facilities, upon request and director approval.
Ohio provides $3 million each year in fiscal years 2026 and 2027 for rural transportation planning grants. Regional Transportation Planning Organizations run the grant program through June 30, 2027. In fiscal year 2026, up to $500,000 supports a joint plan for connecting U.S. Route 23 to Interstate 71. The transportation department and turnpike commission prepare that feasibility plan. This money funds planning, not construction of the connection.
Ohio makes $9 million available each year in fiscal years 2026 and 2027 for Transportation Improvement District projects. Districts must register, arrange project funding with other government agencies, and apply by the transportation director's deadline. Grants cannot pay staff or administrative costs, or cover a project's full cost. Each project is limited to $500,000 per fiscal year, but co-sponsoring districts may each request that amount.
In counties with 1.2 million to 1.3 million residents, transit facilities can include paratransit and related infrastructure. Population is measured by the latest federal decennial census. Covered examples include transit zones, bus lanes and stops, rail stations, and support vehicles. The definition change does not fund or require a specific service.
The Rail Transportation–Other account receives $2.210047 million in FY 2026 and $2.237389 million in FY 2027. The law does not specify service changes, individual eligibility, or direct household payments for this account.
The state Aviation Infrastructure Bank gets $2.4 million in each of fiscal years 2026 and 2027. Federal airport improvements get $405,000 each year. These funds support aviation financing and airport improvements. The provisions name no projects and set no passenger-charge changes or household payments.
Aviation administration receives $6.973124 million in FY 2026 and $7.106246 million in FY 2027. County airport maintenance receives $620,000 each year. The transportation director must create an advanced air mobility division and appoint its deputy director. The division handles transit integration, air-traffic systems, supporting infrastructure, overflight and liability rules, emergency uses, and critical infrastructure protection. No separate funding amount is stated for the new division.
The law provides $23 million in each of fiscal years 2026 and 2027 for transportation facility obligations. It covers lease and agreement payments from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2027, and related bond payments. Money above debt-service needs can move to state highway construction or maintenance. That transfer requires the Transportation Director's written request and the Budget and Management Director's approval.
Ohio sets aside up to $1.5 million in FY 2026 to study an Interstate 73 corridor from Toledo to Chesapeake. The feasibility study must follow the act's study requirements; it does not authorize construction. Another allocation of up to $500,000 studies how the transportation department selects pavement. Both allocations come from state Planning and Research funding, and the pavement study does not itself change standards.
Highways now qualify as capital facilities under Ohio's capital-financing law. Municipalities can count highway traffic signals as infrastructure for energy-saving procurement and financing measures. These changes make more road assets eligible but do not approve a project or set a funding amount.
The Roadwork Development Fund gets $15.2 million each fiscal year through June 30, 2027. Projects must improve public roads tied to opportunities expected to retain or attract Ohio businesses. Roads must be on, serve, or be capable of serving a project site. Qualifying airport access and airport roads count, and the money can be combined with other state infrastructure funds.
Unused, uncommitted Rail Safety Crossing Match funds from fiscal year 2025 remain available for the same purpose in fiscal year 2026. Through June 30, 2027, prior-year highway operating, highway capital, and Infrastructure Bank funds can carry forward with Controlling Board approval. Eligible uncommitted local capital funds from the fiscal year 2025 act carry into July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026. Amounts under this act still uncommitted on June 30, 2026, carry into July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. All keep their original purposes; the later local carryforward depends on revenue available as determined by the Public Works Commission director.
During covered license, endorsement, or state ID transactions, the registrar offers electronic voter registration or updates only after citizenship proof. Applicants can show proof of U.S. citizenship during the transaction or rely on proof previously shown to a registrar. Paper voter-registration and update forms remain available to other customers.
Drivers must stop before a railroad crossing when there is not enough space beyond it to avoid blocking rail equipment. A traffic signal allowing travel does not override this duty. Drivers cannot recklessly cross when rail equipment is sounding a signal or is plainly visible and dangerously close.
The stopped-vehicle exception to Ohio's handheld-device ban requires the vehicle to be stationary and outside a travel lane. It must also be at a highway traffic signal currently directing traffic to stop. The separate exception for vehicles parked because of an emergency or road closure remains.
Ohio's public safety director can make toll collection and enforcement agreements with private facilities in other states. Agreements can cover their toll highways, bridges, and tunnels. They apply only to tolls charged on or after the law's effective date. The law does not change toll amounts, but drivers can face the agreed collection and enforcement procedures.
Applicants 18 or older seeking an initial limited-term Ohio license must show completion of approved driver training. They must document at least 50 hours of actual driving, including at least 10 hours at night. An adult with a valid Ohio driver's or commercial driver's license must sign the affidavit and accompany the applicant. Applicants receiving the specified examination waiver are exempt. Applicants from countries covered by the registrar's reciprocal arrangement are also exempt.
Ohio Department of Transportation career professional service employees are no longer guaranteed a six-month improvement period before performance discipline. The department can still offer a written plan with at least six months to improve. For egregious conduct or offenses, it must take immediate disciplinary action without offering that plan.
Authorized nonstate commercial driver's license test providers no longer face the former $115 skills-test fee ceiling. The former limits for individual test portions are also removed. Their appointment fees no longer face the former $115 ceiling. These changes do not apply to the Department of Public Safety's fees, and no replacement private-provider prices are stated.
Required beginning-driver training now covers all noncommercial drivers subject to the training law, not just those under 18. It requires 24 hours of classroom lessons or approved online lessons, followed by eight hours of driving instruction. Applicants under 18 must show approved training; those receiving the specified examination waiver are exempt. A comparable military course counts when completed while living outside Ohio to be near someone serving in the armed forces. The former option for courses approved before December 31, 2003, is removed.
Ohio removes separate legal definitions for enhanced driver's licenses, enhanced commercial licenses, and enhanced identification cards. These credentials are no longer automatically included in the chapters' general license and ID terms. The law also removes the rule requiring extra features for enhanced commercial licenses. These changes do not specify a change to anyone's credential, eligibility, or fees.
Local authorities collecting traffic-camera fines, directly or indirectly, must report gross collections by July 31 each year. Reports cover the prior fiscal year and include school-zone fines. The Tax Commissioner calculates reductions to specified local government fund payments over the following 12 months, based on authority type. Payments can be withheld or reduced until the report arrives.
Building and renovation capital funds are limited to specified property, construction, professional-service, computer-system, and qualifying equipment costs. Furniture, fixtures, and equipment must be essential to the project's use or necessary for it to work. They generally must cost about $100 or more per unit and last at least five years. Computer-system funds cannot pay for regular or ongoing maintenance or support agreements.
The elected Ohio House assistant speaker pro tempore receives an annual salary of $99,903.90 for calendar year 2025. Pay rises by 1.75% each year from 2026 through 2028.
Regional transit boards must approve contracts at or above the federal simplified acquisition threshold. Boards decide whether smaller contracts also need approval. Contracts above the amount requiring board approval must be written and include or refer to plans and specifications. When considering sealed competitive bidding, the authority must have a clear, complete, and adequate description of the purchase or work.
Owners of private roads in residential areas with at least 20 homes can establish enforceable speed limits and stop signs. Speed limits must be at least 25 miles per hour, and the authority does not cover driveways. Stop signs can apply where private roads meet, but not at driveway intersections. Owners must meet sign standards and post required entrance signs. Drivers must obey qualifying limits and signs, which police can enforce.
A replica vehicle copies the make, model, and year of a vehicle at least 25 years old. Owners pay $10 instead of annual license taxes, and the plate stays valid while the vehicle exists. Registered replicas are limited to club activities, exhibitions, tours, parades, similar uses, and travel to or from maintenance. They cannot serve as general transportation. Owners must file an affidavit stating the permitted use and that an inspection found the vehicle safe for public roads.
Owners can obtain a title identifying a vehicle as a replica, but must obtain a State Highway Patrol inspection report. They also need a signed, notarized expert statement confirming that the vehicle reasonably copies its intended make, model, and year. Owners must surrender the existing title and submit the report copy and statement. The new title lists replica status, intended make, model, and year, plus the year it was constructed, assembled, or modified. For vehicles last registered elsewhere, Ohio clerks must carry forward replica status when they receive qualifying prior-title information.
Low-speed vehicles cannot use roads with speed limits above 35 miles per hour. Under-speed vehicles, utility vehicles, and mini-trucks need local permission and are limited to roads at 35 miles per hour or less. Park employees and volunteers can use utility vehicles within park boundaries for park operations or maintenance. Motor-driven cycles and motor scooters cannot use roads with speed limits above 45 miles per hour.
People can ride in a moving fifth-wheel trailer only when the towing driver has working communication with them. A cellular or satellite phone, radio, or similar wireless device can provide that communication. Any child inside must be properly secured under Ohio law.
The House assistant majority whip no longer receives the separately specified $68,822 annual salary. The officeholder instead receives the ordinary House-member salary. That replacement amount is not stated here, so the net pay change and state savings cannot be calculated.
Ohio's Public Utilities Commission cannot designate State Route 315 between Interstate 270 and U.S. Route 23 as a hazardous-materials route. This includes nonradioactive hazardous materials. The commission must notify federal officials of registry changes and designate replacement routes when needed to reach final destinations.
An area is not a crosswalk when local signs prohibit crossing there. The 30-foot parking restriction applies on the approach to yield signs, stop signs, and highway traffic signals. Bicyclists using two-stage turn boxes are exempt from the rule against entering an intersection, marked crosswalk, or rail crossing without space beyond it. That exception does not apply to other road users.
Normal maximum detector spacing is 10 miles for Class I, 25 miles for Class II, and 35 miles for Class III railroads. When terrain or another reason prevents compliant placement, the next detector can be up to five miles beyond that limit. Class II and III track is exempt from the specified detector requirements when its speed limit is 10 mph or less. The carrier must own or lease that track.
School bus operators no longer need to check the equipment listed in this provision during pre-trip inspections. This reduces required pre-trip checks. The Ohio State Highway Patrol must still examine that equipment during its school bus inspections.
Ohio generally bans possessing or using portable devices that change highway traffic signals. Illegal possession is a fourth-degree misdemeanor; illegal use is a first-degree misdemeanor. Peace officers, state patrol troopers, public safety vehicle occupants, and authorized local road-maintenance vehicle operators have possession exceptions. The first three groups can use devices during emergency calls; maintenance operators can use them during level two or three weather emergencies.
Traffic rules cover qualifying public-access roads and bikeways at shopping centers, office parks, airports, schools, universities, arenas, and parks. Parking areas, parking aisles, private rail crossings, and roads always restricted by gates or guards are excluded. Traffic-control definitions cover pedestrian facilities, bikeways, pathways, and public-access site roads; highway signals include beacons, in-road lights, and lane-use signals. That signal definition also changes which devices fall under buying, possession, and sales restrictions, while retaining employment, demonstration, and purchase exceptions. Private-road stop rules include vehicle travel areas and parking lanes, but exclude berms, sidewalks, and shoulders—even when cyclists use them. Railroad crossing warning systems mean flashing lights, with or without gates, and their control equipment.
Transit police arrest rules now use the department's jurisdiction under Ohio's transit law, including for specified serious offenses. This replaces references to transit facilities and agreed municipal areas. Outside-area pursuit authority uses the same jurisdiction reference, and pursuit must start inside the applicable area without unreasonable delay. Covered offenses include felonies, first- or second-degree misdemeanors, equivalent municipal offenses, and traffic offenses that carry license points.
The law removes language saying the Turnpike and Infrastructure Commission is not immune because it performs essential governmental functions. Ohio's political-subdivision liability law still applies, and the commission remains a political subdivision for that purpose. The provision does not establish how a specific claim or payment changes.
Ohio's transportation department can do chip- or fog-sealing with its own crews without bidding, up to 28 feet wide excluding turn lanes. This work is capped at 200 centerline miles yearly and skips the assessment form and audit except size or tonnage checks. Flexible-quantity maintenance contracts cover guardrails, highway lighting, and signals, with each project capped at $2 million. Contracts cover at most one district, with two active contracts per district; extensions are limited to one year. Contract increases cannot exceed the lesser of $200,000 or 10% of advertised value. Written repair and maintenance agreements made by the former Department of Highways remain binding on successors, including for state highways inside municipalities.
The transportation contractor qualification threshold for an independent, attested financial audit rises from $5 million to $10 million. Applicants seeking less than $10 million in qualification submit a financial review; those seeking $10 million or more submit an audit. The exemption from quantity-increase or extra-work monetary restrictions rises from $25,000 to increases totaling $50,000 or less. For grade-separation projects, performance bonds no longer must protect railroads against damage caused by contractor negligence.
Above the applicable state purchasing threshold, Ohio's transportation department must post online notices and use competitive selection; opened bids cannot change. The director can let state agencies, local governments, the Turnpike, and state colleges use department contracts without separate competitive bidding. Local governments, the Turnpike, and state colleges must file certified governing documents and accept the director's terms. Bidders now qualify by contract award, not the bid deadline; affirmative-action certificates must be dated within 180 days before award. Environmental remediators and specialty contractors doing work without a class in the director's rules are excluded from the application requirement.
Brian Stewart
Republican • House
Adam C. Bird
Republican • House
Adam Holmes
Republican • House
Adam Mathews
Republican • House
Al Cutrona
Republican • Senate
Al Landis
Republican • Senate
Andrea White
Republican • House
Andrew O. Brenner
Republican • Senate
Angela N. King
Republican • House
Anita Somani
Democratic • House
Bernard Willis
Republican • House
Beryl Brown Piccolantonio
Democratic • House
Beth Lear
Republican • House
Beth Liston
Democratic • Senate
Bill Reineke
Republican • Senate
Bill Roemer
Republican • House
Bob Peterson
Republican • House
Brian Lampton
Republican • House
Brian Lorenz
Republican • House
C. Allison Russo
Democratic • House
Casey Weinstein
Democratic • Senate
Catherine D. Ingram
Democratic • Senate
Cecil Thomas
Democratic • House
Chris Glassburn
Democratic • House
Christine Cockley
Democratic • House
Cindy Abrams
Republican • House
Crystal Lett
Democratic • House
Daniel P. Troy
Democratic • House
Darnell T. Brewer
Democratic • House
David Thomas
Republican • House
Derrick Hall
Democratic • House
Diane Mullins
Republican • House
Don Jones
Republican • House
Dontavius L. Jarrells
Democratic • House
Elgin Rogers, Jr.
Democratic • House
Eric Synenberg
Democratic • House
Erika White
Democratic • House
Gary Click
Republican • House
Gayle Manning
Republican • House
George F. Lang
Republican • Senate
Haraz N. Ghanbari
Republican • House
Hearcel F. Craig
Democratic • Senate
Heidi Workman
Republican • House
Ismail Mohamed
Democratic • House
Jack K. Daniels
Republican • House
James M. Hoops
Republican • House
Jamie Callender
Republican • House
Jane M. Timken
Republican • Senate
Jason Stephens
Republican • House
Jean Schmidt
Republican • House
Jerry C. Cirino
Republican • Senate
Jodi Salvo
Republican • House
Johnathan Newman
Republican • House
Joseph A. Miller, III
Democratic • House
Josh Williams
Republican • House
Juanita O. Brent
Democratic • House
Justin Pizzulli
Republican • House
Kellie Deeter
Republican • House
Kevin D. Miller
Republican • House
Kevin Ritter
Republican • House
Kristina D. Roegner
Republican • Senate
Latyna M. Humphrey
Democratic • House
Lauren McNally
Democratic • House
Marilyn John
Republican • House
Mark Hiner
Republican • House
Mark Johnson
Republican • House
Mark Romanchuk
Republican • Senate
Mark Sigrist
Democratic • House
Matthew Kishman
Republican • House
Melanie Miller
Republican • House
Meredith R. Lawson-Rowe
Democratic • House
Michael D. Dovilla
Republican • House
Michele Grim
Democratic • House
Michele Reynolds
Republican • Senate
Michelle Teska
Republican • House
Monica Robb Blasdel
Republican • House
Munira Abdullahi
Democratic • House
Nathan H. Manning
Republican • Senate
Nick Santucci
Republican • House
Nickie J. Antonio
Democratic • Senate
Paula Hicks-Hudson
Democratic • Senate
Phil Plummer
Republican • House
Phillip M. Robinson, Jr.
Democratic • House
Rachel B. Baker
Democratic • House
Riordan T. McClain
Republican • House
Rodney Creech
Republican • House
Roy Klopfenstein
Republican • House
Sarah Fowler Arthur
Republican • House
Sean P. Brennan
Democratic • House
Sedrick Denson
Democratic • House
Shane Wilkin
Republican • Senate
Sharon A. Ray
Republican • House
Stephen A. Huffman
Republican • Senate
Steve Demetriou
Republican • House
Terrence Upchurch
Democratic • House
Terry Johnson
Republican • Senate
Tex Fischer
Republican • House
Thaddeus J. Claggett
Republican • House
Theresa Gavarone
Republican • Senate
Thomas Hall
Republican • House
Tim Barhorst
Republican • House
Tim Schaffer
Republican • Senate
Tom Young
Republican • House
Tristan Rader
Democratic • House
Ty D. Mathews
Republican • House
Veronica R. Sims
Democratic • House
William P. DeMora
Democratic • Senate
Willis E. Blackshear, Jr.
Democratic • Senate
All Roll Calls
Yes: 250 • No: 4
House vote • 3/19/2025
Concurred in Senate amendments
Yes: 87 • No: 3
Senate vote • 3/19/2025
Passed
Yes: 32 • No: 0
Senate vote • 3/19/2025
Transportation: Reported
Yes: 6 • No: 1
House vote • 2/26/2025
Passed
Yes: 97 • No: 0
House vote • 2/25/2025
Finance: Reported
Yes: 28 • No: 0
Signed by Governor
Sent to Governor
Concurred in Senate amendments
Passed
Reported
Refer to Committee
Introduced
Passed
Reported
Refer to Committee
Introduced
As Enrolled
3/31/2025
As Concurred by the House
As Introduced
As Passed by the House
As Passed by the Senate
As Pending in the Senate Transportation Committee
As Reported by the House Finance Committee
As Reported by the Senate Transportation Committee
HB 519, Prohibit specified actions with intent to steal a motor vehicle
HB 455, Regards the operation of public schools and the DEW
SB 162, Regards timing of health insurer recoupment from providers
HB 433, Alter amusement ride classification for inspection fee purposes
HB 210, Regards the sale of used catalytic converters
HB 195, Revise the Ohio Uniform Commercial Code