OklahomaSB 837Oklahoma 2026 Regular SessionSenate

License plates; modifying certain special license plate. Effective date.

Sponsored By: Darcy Jech (Republican)

Became Law

Senate Committee

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

8 provisions identified: 6 benefits, 1 costs, 1 mixed.

Car club supporters get a specialty plate

Beginning November 1, 2025, the law authorizes a plate for supporters of the Street Kings Car Club in Guthrie. A licensing agreement may pay the club up to $20 for each plate issued. The provided text does not state the buyer's total price.

New plates support veterans and honor service

Beginning November 1, 2025, the law authorizes National Defense Service Medal and America First plates. The medal plate is for medal recipients who wish to support the Oklahoma Department of Veterans Affairs. A licensing agreement may pay the Department up to $20 per plate. The America First plate is for people wishing to show support for the proclamation of “America First.” Its agreements may pay Honoring America's Warriors Foundation and Warriors for Freedom Foundation up to $10 each per plate. The provided text does not state buyers' total prices.

Paramedic specialty plate authorization is renewed

The law reauthorizes the Paramedic License Plate effective November 1, 2022. Authorization remains subject to subsection A of Section 1-2505.2 of Title 63. The supplied text does not explain those requirements or state the plate's price.

Support health groups through specialty plates

Beginning November 1, 2025, the law authorizes Diabetes Awareness, Epilepsy Awareness, and Alliance of Mental Health Providers of Oklahoma plates. These optional plates let buyers show support for the named groups. Licensing agreements may pay the Epilepsy Foundation and the Alliance up to $20 each per plate issued. Diabetes plate payments go to the Diabetes Awareness License Plate Revolving Fund to support Diabetes Solutions of Oklahoma. The provided text does not state that deposit amount or the total prices buyers pay.

Support schools and college through plates

Beginning November 1, 2025, the law authorizes plates supporting Stillwater Public Schools, Broken Arrow Public Schools, and Tulsa Community College. These plates are for people who wish to support the named schools or college. Licensing agreements may pay each school district or the college up to $20 for each plate issued. The school districts help develop their plate designs. These payments are not the total prices buyers pay.

University club members get scholarship support plates

Beginning November 1, 2025, the law authorizes a University of Oklahoma RUF/NEKS plate for past and present members. Applicants must provide the membership proof Service Oklahoma requires. A licensing agreement may direct up to $20 per plate to the Mike James RUF/NEKS Memorial Scholarship. The provided text does not state the buyer's total price.

Selected specialty plates cost $35 to renew

Beginning November 1, 2025, covered specialty plates carry a $35 annual renewal fee, plus all other registration fees. The bill summary identifies the Alliance of Mental Health Providers of Oklahoma, Stillwater Public Schools, and Broken Arrow Public Schools plates. The law retains older fee allocation language through June 30, 2023. Beginning January 1, 2023, the $8 yearly administrative allocation goes to the Service Oklahoma Reimbursement Fund. The $35 is not the total cost of vehicle registration.

Existing specialty plates change access and funding

Beginning November 1, 2025, the Greenwood Historical District plate includes motorcycles, and $27 per plate goes to the Tulsa Juneteenth Festival. The law removes the prior $2 payment to the Public School Classroom Support Revolving Fund. Service Oklahoma can license the Oklahoma Zoological Society's logo or design, paying the Society up to $20 per plate. This replaces the prior direction to deposit part of the fee in the Society's revolving fund. The law also repeals 47 O.S. 2021, Section 1104.13; the supplied text does not explain its practical effect.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • Darcy Jech

    Republican • Senate

Cosponsors

  • Regina Goodwin

    Democratic • Senate

  • Hefner

    Affiliation unavailable

  • Carri Hicks

    Democratic • Senate

  • Johns

    Affiliation unavailable

  • Nikki Nice

    Democratic • Senate

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 280 • No: 1

Senate vote • 5/29/2025

OVERRIDE

Yes: 47 • No: 0

House vote • 5/29/2025

OVERRIDE

Yes: 78 • No: 0

House vote • 5/1/2025

THIRD READING

Yes: 82 • No: 1

House vote • 4/22/2025

DO PASS

Yes: 8 • No: 0

House vote • 4/9/2025

DO PASS

Yes: 7 • No: 0

Senate vote • 3/26/2025

THIRD READING

Yes: 46 • No: 0

Senate vote • 2/10/2025

THE OKLAHOMA

Yes: 12 • No: 0

Actions Timeline

  1. Filed with Secretary of State

    5/29/2025Senate
  2. To Senate

    5/29/2025House
  3. Veto overridden: Ayes: 78 Nays: 0

    5/29/2025House
  4. Veto override message received

    5/29/2025House
  5. Measure sent to House

    5/29/2025Senate
  6. Veto overridden: Ayes: 47 Nays: 0

    5/29/2025Senate
  7. Vetoed 05/08/2025

    5/12/2025Senate
  8. Sent to Governor

    5/5/2025Senate
  9. Signed, returned to Senate

    5/5/2025House
  10. Enrolled, to House

    5/5/2025Senate
  11. Referred for enrollment

    5/1/2025Senate
  12. Signed, returned to Senate

    5/1/2025House
  13. Third Reading, Measure passed: Ayes: 82 Nays: 1

    5/1/2025House
  14. Coauthored by Representative(s) Hefner

    5/1/2025House
  15. General Order

    5/1/2025House
  16. CR; Do Pass Judiciary and Public Safety Oversight Committee

    4/22/2025House
  17. Coauthored by Senator(s) Nice

    4/9/2025House
  18. Policy recommendation to the Judiciary and Public Safety Oversight committee; Do Pass Public Safety

    4/9/2025House
  19. Referred to Public Safety

    4/1/2025House
  20. Second Reading referred to Judiciary and Public Safety Oversight

    4/1/2025House
  21. First Reading

    3/27/2025House
  22. Engrossed to House

    3/27/2025Senate
  23. Referred for engrossment

    3/26/2025Senate
  24. Measure passed: Ayes: 46 Nays: 0

    3/26/2025Senate
  25. General Order, Amended by Floor Substitute

    3/26/2025Senate

Bill Text

  • Enrolled (final version)

    5/5/2025

  • Floor (House)

    4/23/2025

  • House Committee Report

    4/22/2025

  • House Policy Committee Report

    4/9/2025

  • Engrossed

    3/27/2025

  • Floor (Senate)

    2/11/2025

  • Senate Committee Report

    2/10/2025

  • Introduced

    1/16/2025

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation