OregonSB 55502025 Regular SessionSenateWALLET

Relating to state financial administration; and declaring an emergency.

Sponsored By: Sponsor information unavailable

Signed by Governor

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

54 provisions identified: 43 benefits, 7 costs, 4 mixed.

More spending authority for septic aid

Oregon raised spending authority for the Onsite Septic Financial Aid Program by $2.7 million. The authority covered federal American Rescue Plan recovery money in the budget ending June 30, 2025. The program supports eligible applicants, including homeowners needing help with onsite septic costs. This provision did not set individual award amounts or an eligibility formula.

Higher health plan limits for public employees

For the budget ending June 30, 2025, Oregon raised payment limits for public employee and educator benefit plans. The Public Employees’ Benefit Board gained about $328.64 million in authority from the Public Employees’ Revolving Fund. The Oregon Educators Benefit Board gained about $65.82 million from the Oregon Educators Revolving Fund. Payments were limited to benefit-plan premiums and self-insurance. These provisions did not specify changes to individual premiums or coverage.

More funding for aging and disability services

For the two-year budget ending June 30, 2025, Oregon increased funding and spending authority for aging and disability services. Aging and People with Disabilities gained about $109.65 million in General Fund money, $24.37 million in other revenue, and $218.95 million in federal authority. Intellectual and developmental disability programs gained about $35.23 million in General Fund money and $155.6 million in federal authority. These changes did not set individual benefit amounts or change who qualifies.

More spending authority for Oregon health programs

For the budget period ending June 30, 2025, the law added about $619.98 million in federal health-program spending authority. It also added about $14.76 million for administration, $5.26 million for central services, and $5 million for agency-wide costs. Federal increases included $495,000 for public health and $64,619 for health policy; these limits exclude separately authorized funds. Lottery-funded authority increased by $479,545 for health programs and $25,000 for health policy. These changes authorized agency spending, not new household benefits or eligibility rules.

Grant funding for small forestland owners

Oregon moved $5.7 million from the Forestry Department’s General Fund appropriation into its small forestland stream habitat program fund. The department received authority to spend up to that amount on grants to eligible small forestland owners under ORS 526.402. The funding covered the budget ending June 30, 2025. The provision did not set individual grant amounts.

More assistance funding for smaller manufacturers

Oregon raised the Business Development Department’s federal spending limit by $2 million for small and medium-sized manufacturer assistance. The authority covered the two-year budget ending June 30, 2025. The provision did not set an award amount or allocation formula for individual businesses.

Junction City gets well project funding

The law provided $1 million in General Fund money for Junction City’s Alderdale Well project. Administrative Services distributes the grant to the city. The appropriation covered the budget period ending June 30, 2025, and did not set household water rates or benefits.

Local resource and safety projects get funding

The law provided General Fund grants through Administrative Services for the budget period ending June 30, 2025. Homeless Solutions Coalition of Clackamas County received $2 million for the Oregon City Resource Center. Center for Hope & Safety received $750,000 for the HOPE Plaza project. The provisions did not set individual benefit amounts or eligibility, or describe HOPE Plaza’s services or housing.

More funding for community and family centers

Administrative Services received General Fund money for these grants for the budget period ending June 30, 2025. Latino Network received $4 million for La Plaza Esperanza, a service hub for Portland and Gresham residents. Oregon Vietnamese American Cultural Center received $2.5 million to acquire and develop a community center. Portland Japanese Garden received $1.5 million for The Japan Institute. Clackamas County Children’s Commission received about $1.44 million for the Marylhurst Center for Children and Families; these grants did not set individual benefits or eligibility.

More funding for corrections services and counties

The law added about $2.30 million in General Fund money to reimburse counties for felony impaired-driving incarceration costs. It added about $1.09 million for corrections administration’s COVID-19-related government risk service charges. Federal spending authority increased by $105,402 for electronic health records and $390,600 for a Braille transcription training grant. The health-record funding uses federal pandemic recovery money transferred through the Department of Administrative Services. These changes covered the budget period ending June 30, 2025, without creating household payments or changing health benefits.

More funding for courts and judicial oversight

The law added $8.5 million in General Fund money to pay court interpreters. It also added $75,000 for investigations and prosecutions by the Commission on Judicial Fitness and Disability. Both increases covered the budget period ending June 30, 2025. The money supports court access and judicial oversight, not direct household payments.

More funding for digital equity efforts

The law added $149,230 in Business Development Department infrastructure spending authority for state digital equity capacity. This covered the budget period ending June 30, 2025. It supported state-level efforts but did not create household payments or new eligibility rules.

More funding for fire and emergency readiness

For the budget period ending June 30, 2025, the law added $6 million for wildfire-season staffing grants. It also raised federal spending authority by $400,000 for hazardous-materials preparedness grants. General Fund grants through Administrative Services included $2.5 million for Emergency Communications of Southern Oregon’s radio expansion and modernization. Lane County received $900,000 for emergency communications equipment. Gresham Fire Department received $500,000 to replace Station 74’s training tower, and La Pine Rural Fire Protection District received $190,000 for emergency medical rescue equipment.

More funding for local sports and parks

The law funded these projects through Administrative Services with General Fund money for the budget period ending June 30, 2025. Eugene Civic Alliance received $5 million for the Eugene Civic Park Stadium project. Round-Up City Development Corporation received $3 million to help build the Pendleton Regional Sports Complex. Willamette University received $3 million for turf and lights at Bush Park’s Roy S. “Spec” Keene Stadium, supporting Salem youth baseball and softball. Portland Parks and Recreation received $750,000 for lighting and walkways at George Park; the grants did not set individual access terms or fees.

More funding for military programs and staff

The law added $123,000 in state matching funds for the Portland Air National Guard Civil Engineering program. Military Department administration received $798,725 for budget realignment and pay equity-related staff costs. Operations received another $89,226 for pay equity-related staff costs. These General Fund increases covered the budget period ending June 30, 2025, and did not set individual workers’ pay.

More funding for Oregon 911 contracts

The law added $3.5 million in spending authority for Oregon’s 911 Emergency Program. The money supported managed services contracts during the budget period ending June 30, 2025. It did not create household payments or new personal duties.

More funding for public safety training

The law raised Oregon’s public safety training agency spending limits for the budget period ending June 30, 2025. It added $200,000 for emergency dispatcher training and $250,554 for one additional basic local corrections class. Traffic safety training received $300,000, and firing range controller replacement received $350,000. Another $260,000 covered staff pay equity costs. The authority uses fees and other nonfederal, nonlottery revenue; these provisions do not set new household fees.

More funding for voter registration technology

The law added $250,000 in federal spending authority to replace Oregon’s voter registration system. The increase covered the budget period ending June 30, 2025. It funded the replacement project without changing who can vote.

More funding for water safety studies

The law added $250,000 in General Fund money for domestic well sampling in Crook County. It also added $300,000 in Water Resources Department spending authority for dam analyses, using transferred federal pandemic recovery funds. Both changes covered the budget period ending June 30, 2025. They fund testing and analysis, not guaranteed repairs or an individual right to well sampling.

More funding for youth facilities and staff

The law added about $2.30 million in General Fund money for Oregon Youth Authority facility staff pay equity costs. It also added $1.2 million to realign facility-program budgets. Both increases covered the budget period ending June 30, 2025. They did not set individual pay raises or create payments to youth and families.

More funding to fight Japanese beetles

The law added $418,079 in Agriculture Department spending authority for Japanese beetle eradication contracts. The authority uses specified receipts, including federal funds, for the budget period ending June 30, 2025. It funds eradication work rather than household payments.

More service funding for blind Oregonians

The law added about $1.77 million in federal spending authority for the Oregon Commission for the Blind. The money covered increased caseload costs for the budget period ending June 30, 2025. It supported services for people with blindness or vision loss without setting individual payment amounts.

More transportation spending for storm repairs

Oregon raised the Transportation Department’s maintenance spending limit by $15 million for emergency repairs caused by 2024 storms. The authority covered the two-year budget ending June 30, 2025. It supported repairs to affected transportation infrastructure, not direct household payments.

Funding for Lincoln County addiction treatment

Oregon provided about $1.32 million in General Fund money for Lincoln County’s residential substance use disorder treatment facility. The Department of Administrative Services distributes the grant to Samaritan Pacific Health Services, Inc. The funding covered the budget ending June 30, 2025. The provision did not set treatment prices or individual eligibility rules.

Funding for Nehalem Bay senior care

Oregon provided $2 million in General Fund money for the Nehalem Bay Health and Senior Care Improvement project. The Department of Administrative Services distributes the grant to Nehalem Bay Health District. The funding covered the budget ending June 30, 2025. The provision did not specify service changes, eligibility rules, or lower patient costs.

More funding for Medicaid fraud enforcement

The law added $750,000 in federal spending authority for Oregon’s Medicaid fraud control unit. The increase covered the budget period ending June 30, 2025. It supported fraud enforcement without changing household Medicaid benefits or eligibility.

More spending authority for veterans’ services

The law raised Oregon Veterans’ Affairs’ spending limit by $2.1 million for the budget period ending June 30, 2025. The increase covers administration, grants, and services for veterans. It did not set individual benefit amounts or change eligibility rules.

Funding for Linn County veterans housing

Oregon provided $1 million in General Fund money for Linn County YMCA Veterans Housing. The Department of Administrative Services distributes the grant to Mid-Willamette Family YMCA. The funding covered the two-year budget ending June 30, 2025. The provision did not set unit counts, individual eligibility rules, or household payments.

Funding for local housing projects

Oregon provided General Fund grants for housing projects in the budget ending June 30, 2025. Homes for Good Housing Agency received $1.5 million for Ollie Court, formerly the Naval Reserve Housing and Early Learning Center project. Benton County received $2.5 million for housing units within its coordinated housing and homelessness response. The Department of Administrative Services distributes the grants. These provisions did not set unit counts or household eligibility rules.

Funding for early learning centers

Oregon provided $3.605 million in General Fund money to the Clackamas County Children’s Commission for the Milwaukie Head Start Center. The law also added $15,000 in spending authority for issuing bonds for Klamath Community College’s Childcare Learning Center. Both changes covered the budget ending June 30, 2025. They did not set family payments, enrollment increases, or new eligibility rules.

Spending support for wildfire-affected schools

Oregon set a maximum of about $5.48 million in spending for eligible wildfire-affected school districts. Payments must come from the School Stabilization Subaccount for Wildfire-impacted School Districts, established in 2022. The authority covered the budget ending June 30, 2025. The provision did not create a direct payment to families.

More funding for human services administration

The law increased Oregon human services funding for state assessments and agency-wide costs through June 30, 2025. It added about $11.63 million from the General Fund, $601,603 from fees and other revenue, and $3.62 million federally. This budget realignment did not create household payments or new eligibility rules.

Oregon adds money to business reserve

The law appropriated $2.5 million from the General Fund to the Oregon Business Development Department. The money was for deposit into the Strategic Reserve Fund for the budget period ending June 30, 2025. The deposit did not provide direct household payments or name individual recipients.

Portland terminal gets more operating money

The law provided $2.5 million from the General Fund for Port of Portland Terminal 6 operating expenses. The Oregon Business Development Department received the appropriation for the budget period ending June 30, 2025. It did not set household prices, job guarantees, or individual benefits.

Health agency gets more administrative spending authority

The law raised Oregon Health Authority’s shared-administration spending limit by $8 million for the budget period ending June 30, 2025. The budget shift uses specified fees and other revenues. It excludes lottery money and federal funds not included in the existing authorization. It did not directly change household benefits or service eligibility.

More funding for Medicaid waiver work

Oregon provided the Health Authority $1.3 million in General Fund money and matching federal spending authority for Medicaid waiver work. The money supported contracted professional services to develop and implement federal Medicaid waivers. The funding covered the budget ending June 30, 2025. This provision did not itself change Medicaid eligibility, coverage, or household costs.

More compensation funding for corrections workers

The law added General Fund money for corrections staff pay equity costs through June 30, 2025. Operations and health services received $16.1 million; central administration and administrative services received $1 million. Correctional services received $500,000, and community corrections received $100,000. Operations and health services also received $1.9 million for position compensation adjustments. The law did not name affected workers or set individual raises.

More funding authority for vocational rehabilitation

Oregon raised the Department of Human Services’ federal spending limit for vocational rehabilitation by about $2.3 million. The budget change covered the two-year period ending June 30, 2025. It did not set individual benefit amounts or change who qualifies.

More pay funding for environmental staff

The law added General Fund money for Environmental Quality staff pay adjustments for the budget period ending June 30, 2025. Air quality received $375,968, and water quality received $812,365. Land quality received $34,295, and agency management received $33,082. These amounts fund position-pay adjustments but do not set individual salaries.

More pay funding for regulatory staff

For the budget period ending June 30, 2025, the law raised spending limits for regulatory staff pay. Pay-equity increases included $93,834 for Workers’ Compensation, $45,393 for Oregon OSHA, and $58,233 for Central Services. Financial Regulation received $166,320 in pay-equity authority, and Building Codes received $41,662. Separate position-pay increases were $13,651 for Oregon OSHA, $112,557 for Central Services, and $671,081 for Financial Regulation. These increases use fees and other nonfederal, nonlottery receipts without changing fees or setting individual pay. The Universal Health Plan Governance Board also received $7,290 in General Fund money for pay equity, not expanded health coverage.

More staff pay funding at smaller agencies

The law funded staff pay adjustments for the budget period ending June 30, 2025. The Land Use Board of Appeals received $225,824 in General Fund money for pay equity and position-pay adjustments. The Commission for the Blind received $67,779 in General Fund money and $66,574 in federal spending authority for pay equity. These amounts do not set any employee’s raise.

Pay equity funding for compensation board workers

The law raised the Workers’ Compensation Board’s spending limit by $3,809 for staff pay equity costs. The authority uses fees and other nonfederal, nonlottery receipts for the budget period ending June 30, 2025. It did not set individual pay changes or change fees.

Pay equity funding for human services workers

The law funded human services staff pay equity costs for the budget period ending June 30, 2025. Central services received $276,290 in General Fund money, $8,204 in other revenue authority, and $188,188 in federal authority. Agency-wide costs received $786,320, $69,775, and $570,758 from those same sources; shared services received about $1.43 million in other revenue authority. Self-sufficiency programs received about $1.75 million in General Fund money, $874 in other revenue authority, and $1.11 million federally. The law did not set individual workers’ pay adjustments.

Less funding for youth community programs

Oregon cut the Youth Authority’s General Fund support for community programs by $1.7 million. The budget change covered the two-year period ending June 30, 2025. The provision did not identify which services or people served experienced changes.

Lower court pay and collection budgets

Oregon reduced Judicial Department General Fund budgets for the period ending June 30, 2025. Funding for third-party debt collection fell $2.5 million, and judicial compensation funding fell $2 million. These changes did not alter household debts or legal duties. The provision did not specify whether any judge’s pay changed.

Lower public defense administration budgets

Oregon reduced two Public Defense Commission General Fund budgets for the period ending June 30, 2025. The Executive Division lost $200,000. The Compliance, Audit and Performance Division lost $250,000. These budget changes did not identify specific cuts to defense services or changes in household costs.

Lower funding authority for child welfare

Oregon reduced Department of Human Services child welfare resources for the budget ending June 30, 2025. General Fund support fell $521,132, and federal spending authority fell about $4.79 million. This budget change did not directly change family eligibility or add duties for families. The provision did not identify specific service cuts.

More funding for water agencies’ legal costs

The law added General Fund money for agency legal expenses for the budget period ending June 30, 2025. Environmental Quality’s water quality program received $1.01 million. The Water Resources Department’s director’s office received about $1.87 million. The funding did not create household payments or new legal duties.

State funds transportation agency management review

The law appropriated $50,000 from the General Fund to the Legislative Policy and Research Office. The money funds a professional services contract to review Transportation Department management. The appropriation covered the budget period ending June 30, 2025, and did not itself change transportation services.

Lower lottery spending for health administration

Oregon cut the Health Authority’s lottery-funded Health Systems Division administration spending limit by $504,545. The money came from the Administrative Services Economic Development Fund. The change covered the budget ending June 30, 2025. It did not directly change household benefits or costs.

Disaster stockpile funding moves between agencies

Oregon added $5 million in General Fund authority to Emergency Management for the disaster preparedness stockpile. It reduced the Emergency Board’s funding reserved for that same allocation by $5 million. The shift covered the budget ending June 30, 2025. It did not add net funding for the stockpile allocation.

Justice funding shifts from trials to appeals

Oregon raised the Justice Department Appellate Division’s spending limit by $1 million and lowered the Trial Division’s by $1 million. The limits cover fees and other revenue, excluding federal and lottery money. The change applied to the budget ending June 30, 2025. It added no net spending authority and did not change individual legal duties.

Self-sufficiency funding rises as sources shift

Oregon changed Department of Human Services self-sufficiency funding for the budget ending June 30, 2025. General Fund support rose about $5.37 million, and spending authority from fees and other revenue rose about $10.19 million. Federal spending authority fell about $4.28 million. The provision did not create a direct payment or change individual eligibility.

Housing financing funds shift between agencies

For the budget ending June 30, 2025, Oregon cut the Facilities Authority Account’s funding and related spending limit by about $3.61 million. These resources supported purposes under section 51 of a 2023 housing law. Housing and Community Services received $3.2 million to carry out that section, as amended by Senate Bill 10 in 2025. It also received $14,757 to reimburse the Facilities Authority’s past administrative costs for moderate-income housing predevelopment loans. These provisions did not specify household payments or changes to loan terms.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsors

There is no primary sponsor on record.

Cosponsors

There are no cosponsors for this bill.

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 74 • No: 24

House vote • 4/2/2025

Third reading. Carried by Sanchez. Passed.

Yes: 34 • No: 17

Senate vote • 3/24/2025

Third reading. Carried by Lieber. Passed.

Yes: 23 • No: 5

legislature vote • 3/14/2025

Ways and Means: Heard and Reported Out with Amendments

Yes: 17 • No: 2

Actions Timeline

  1. Chapter 7, 2025 Laws.

    4/16/2025Senate
  2. Effective date, April 7, 2025.

    4/16/2025Senate
  3. Governor signed.

    4/10/2025Senate
  4. Speaker signed.

    4/7/2025House
  5. President signed.

    4/3/2025Senate
  6. Third reading. Carried by Sanchez. Passed.

    4/2/2025House
  7. Third Reading commenced. Carried over to April 2, 2025 Calendar by virtue of adjournment.

    4/1/2025House
  8. Second reading.

    3/31/2025House
  9. Recommendation: Do pass.

    3/27/2025House
  10. Referred to Ways and Means.

    3/27/2025House
  11. First reading. Referred to Speaker's desk.

    3/25/2025House
  12. Third reading. Carried by Lieber. Passed.

    3/24/2025Senate
  13. Carried over to 03-24 by unanimous consent.

    3/20/2025Senate
  14. Second reading.

    3/18/2025Senate
  15. Recommendation: Do pass with amendments. (Printed A-Eng.)

    3/17/2025Senate
  16. Work Session held.

    3/14/2025Senate
  17. Returned to Full Committee.

    3/7/2025Senate
  18. Public Hearing and Work Session held.

    3/7/2025Senate
  19. Assigned to Subcommittee On Capital Construction.

    2/28/2025Senate
  20. Referred to Ways and Means.

    1/17/2025Senate
  21. Introduction and first reading. Referred to President's desk.

    1/13/2025Senate

Bill Text

  • JWM Amendment -2 (Adopted)

    3/14/2025

  • JWMCC Amendment -2 (Proposed)

    3/7/2025

  • A-Engrossed

  • Enrolled

  • Introduced

  • Senate Amendments to Introduced

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation