IdahoH 03412025 regular legislative sessionHouse

APPROPRIATIONS – STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION – Relates to the maintenance appropriation to the State Board of Education for fiscal year 2026.

Sponsored By: APPROPRIATIONS COMMITTEE

Signed by Governor

APPROPRIATIONS

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

10 provisions identified: 7 benefits, 2 costs, 1 mixed.

Idaho funds education and research programs

The law provides about $1.135 billion for education and related programs from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. Funding supports colleges, career training, health education, school services, vocational rehabilitation, public television, and related programs. Within this funding, up to $902,600 supports shared needs benefiting all four-year institutions. About $1.9605 million supports higher education research, including infrastructure awards, matching grants, and competitive Idaho Incubation Fund grants. The law declares an emergency and takes full effect July 1, 2025.

Public television can spend private donations

Idaho Public Television has ongoing spending authority for private donations in its designated revenue fund during fiscal year 2026. The authority covers staff, content production, and related services funded by those donations. It runs from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The law does not specify a donation amount.

Career Ready programs keep leftover funding

The Department of Education can carry forward up to $39 million from the Idaho Career Ready Students Fund. The money must be from fiscal year 2025 appropriations or carryovers and remain unspent and uncommitted. It can pay only one-time Career Ready Students Program expenses from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. Before processing, the State Controller must confirm amounts by fund, spending category, and program with the Legislative Services Office.

Education agencies gain budget flexibility

These rules apply from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. Colleges, universities, community colleges, and the State Board office can move appropriated money without limit between programs and spending categories. Agricultural Research and Extension and postsecondary career technical programs can make unlimited transfers between spending categories. Health Education Programs have that same flexibility for dedicated-fund appropriations. Moving money between separate funds still requires express legislative approval; these rules do not set tuition or household payments.

Education programs keep eligible leftover funds

Colleges, universities, and Health Education Programs can carry eligible dedicated funds from fiscal year 2025 into fiscal year 2026. The Department of Education can also carry forward its eligible Idaho Millennium Income Fund balances. Money must come from fiscal year 2025 appropriations or carryovers and remain unspent and uncommitted. It is available only for one-time expenses from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. Before processing, the State Controller must confirm amounts by fund, spending category, and program with the Legislative Services Office.

Leftover money supports Idaho student scholarships

Unused fiscal year 2025 General Fund money for Scholarships and Grants moves to the Opportunity Scholarship Program Account. The transfer covers money still unspent and uncommitted on June 30, 2025. Eligible dedicated scholarship and grant balances also remain available for one-time fiscal year 2026 uses. The law does not state the transfer amount or change individual scholarship amounts or eligibility.

State approval governs tuition spending

For fiscal year 2026, colleges, universities, and Health Education Programs can seek approval to spend dedicated state funds for student tuition and fees. The Division of Financial Management must approve spending through its special budget approval process. Each institution or program must include approved changes in its fiscal year 2027 budget request. This authority runs from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. It does not set tuition prices, promise student payments, or guarantee lower costs.

Driver training standards spending faces cap

Beginning July 1, 2025, Driver's Training Fund spending on standards review and adoption programs cannot exceed $150,000. The cap covers money provided by this law and other appropriations from that fund. It limits state spending, not the fees households pay.

Education agencies face annual staffing limits

Staffing caps apply from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, measured in full-time-equivalent positions. Limits include the State Board office, 84.25; Department of Education, 126; Vocational Rehabilitation, 148; career technical education, 60; and public television, 15. Health education limits include WWAMI, 13.72; Family Medicine Residencies, 23.30; and Idaho Dental Education Programs, 3.25. The Governor can specifically approve increases, with prompt notice to the Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee. Higher education institutions and postsecondary career technical programs are exempt.

Education spending faces purpose and audit rules

Beginning July 1, 2025, agencies must use money set aside by law only for its stated purpose. This protects designated uses but limits agencies' spending choices. Accountability reports and management reviews apply when the Legislative Services Office auditor has enough resources. Agencies authorized to hire outside auditors must send completed reports to the Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee when available. By December 1, 2025, the Department of Education must report fiscal year 2025 property contracts exceeding $25,000, including competition status and reasons for noncompetitive awards.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • APPROPRIATIONS COMMITTEE

    Affiliation unavailable

Cosponsors

  • James Petzke

    Republican • House

  • James W. “Jim” Woodward

    Republican • Senate

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 99 • No: 2

Senate vote • 3/6/2025

Senate Floor Vote

Yes: 34 • No: 1

House vote • 3/3/2025

House Floor Vote

Yes: 65 • No: 1

Actions Timeline

  1. Reported Signed by Governor on March 12, 2025 Session Law Chapter 44 Effective: 07/01/2025

    3/13/2025
  2. Delivered to Governor at 8:10 a.m. on March 11, 2025

    3/11/2025
  3. Returned Signed by the President; Ordered Transmitted to Governor

    3/10/2025Senate
  4. Signed by President; returned to House

    3/10/2025Senate
  5. Received from the House enrolled/signed by Speaker

    3/10/2025Senate
  6. Reported Enrolled; Signed by Speaker; Transmitted to Senate

    3/7/2025House
  7. Returned from Senate Passed; to JRA for Enrolling

    3/6/2025House
  8. Read third time in full – PASSED - 34-1-0

    3/6/2025Senate
  9. Read second time; filed for Third Reading

    3/5/2025Senate
  10. Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation; Filed for second reading

    3/4/2025Senate
  11. Introduced, read first time; referred to: Finance

    3/4/2025Senate
  12. Received from the House passed; filed for first reading

    3/4/2025Senate
  13. Rules Suspended: Ayes 67 Nays 0 Abs/Excd 3, read in full as required – PASSED - 65-1-4

    3/3/2025House
  14. Read second time; Filed for Third Reading

    3/3/2025House
  15. Reported Printed; Filed for Second Reading

    2/28/2025House
  16. Introduced, read first time, referred to JRA for Printing

    2/27/2025House

Bill Text

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation