All Roll Calls
Yes: 648 • No: 2
Sponsored By: Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
5 provisions identified: 2 benefits, 1 costs, 2 mixed.
KPERS and other covered Kansas public retirement plans must limit death and disability benefits under the federal incidental-benefit rule. This law does not state dollar limits. A member's, spouse's, or beneficiary's life expectancy generally cannot be recalculated after it is first set for benefit purposes. Recalculation is allowed only when federal retirement distribution rules permit it.
The KPERS Board uses set life-expectancy tables and its assumed investment return for certain benefit calculations. For members hired on or after July 1, 2009, it uses a 50/50 male/female RP 2000 table projected to 2025. Partial lump-sum conversions use a 50/50 male/female blend of the 1983 group annuity table and the Board's assumed return. Federal benefit-limit testing uses Treasury factors and Revenue Ruling 2001-62's mortality table before January 1, 2009. Starting January 1, 2009, that testing uses the table specified in Notice 2008-85.
For covered Kansas public retirement plans, required withdrawals start by April 1 after the year members reach their required age or leave employment, whichever is later. Required ages by birth date are: before July 1, 1949, 70½; July 1, 1949–December 31, 1950, 72; January 1, 1951–December 31, 1958, 73; and January 1, 1960 onward, 75. The law's schedule does not state an age for people born in 1959. Board-run defined contribution and deferred compensation plans must follow federal withdrawal rules specific to those plans.
People harmed by a KPERS Board order or decision made without a hearing have 60 days to request one. The deadline runs from receipt of notice, and the request must be in writing. This increases the filing period from 30 days to 60 days.
Beginning January 1, 2016, eligible distributions from KPERS and other covered Kansas public retirement plans can roll into SIMPLE IRAs. The rollover must occur after the two-year period required by federal law for SIMPLE IRAs. This adds a destination for eligible retirement money.
Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance
Affiliation unavailable
There are no cosponsors for this bill.
All Roll Calls
Yes: 648 • No: 2
Senate vote • 4/23/2026
Yea: 122 Nay: 0
Yes: 122 • No: 0
Senate vote • 4/23/2026
Yea: 123 Nay: 0
Yes: 123 • No: 0
Senate vote • 4/23/2026
Yea: 40 Nay: 0
Yes: 40 • No: 0
Senate vote • 4/23/2026
Yea: 39 Nay: 1
Yes: 39 • No: 1
Senate vote • 3/27/2025
Conference Committee Report was adopted
Yes: 39 • No: 1
House vote • 3/26/2025
Conference Committee Report was adopted
Yes: 122 • No: 0
House vote • 3/19/2025
Emergency Final Action - Passed as amended
Yes: 123 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/19/2025
Final Action - Passed
Yes: 40 • No: 0
Enrolled and presented to Governor on Friday, April 4, 2025
Approved by Governor on Tuesday, April 8, 2025
Conference Committee Report was adopted; Yea 39, Nay 1
Conference committee report now available
Conference Committee Report was adopted; Yea 122, Nay 0, Absent 3
Nonconcurred with amendments; Conference Committee requested; appointed Sen. Brenda Dietrich, Sen. Michael Fagg and Sen. Marci Francisco
Motion to accede adopted; Rep. Nick Hoheisel, Rep. Angela Stiens and Rep. Rui Xu appointed as conferees
Committee of the Whole - Committee Report be adopted
Committee of the Whole - Be passed as amended
Motion to advance to Emergency Final Action adopted
Emergency Final Action - Passed as amended; Yea 123, Nay 0, Absent 2
Committee Report recommending bill be passed as amended by House Committee on Financial Institutions and Pensions
Hearing: Wednesday, March 5, 2025, 9:00 AM — Room 582-N
Final Action - Passed; Yea 40, Nay 0
Received and Introduced
Referred to House Committee on Financial Institutions and Pensions
Committee of the Whole - Be passed
Committee Report recommending bill be passed by Senate Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance
Hearing: Thursday, February 6, 2025, 9:30 AM — Room 546-S
Referred to Senate Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance
Introduced
As Amended by House Committee on Financial Institutions and Pensions
As Introduced
Enrolled
SB 430, Adding mitragynine to schedule I of the uniform controlled substances act and reconciling multiple amendments to certain statutes in the Kansas criminal code.
SB 82, Providing tax credits for expenditures for lockable gun and ammunition storage and the retail sale of higher ethanol blends of fuel, discontinuing the tax credit for qualified alternative-fueled motor vehicle property or fueling station expenditures, repealing the agritourism liability insurance, assistive technology contributions, declared disaster capital investment, owners promoting employment across Kansas and swine facility improvement tax credits and expanding the eligibility for applicable expenses under the child day care services assistance tax credit.
SB 300, Providing for the apportionment of business income by manufacturers of alcoholic liquor depending on whether the taxpayer is a qualifying Kansas investor or a general manufacturer and removing obsolete reference to global intangible low-taxed income provided for under the federal internal revenue code in determining Kansas adjusted gross income.
HB 2029, Reconciling multiple amendments to certain statutes.
HB 2018, Senate Substitute for HB 2018 by Committee on Federal and State Affairs - Creating the crime of interference with the conduct of a religious assembly, providing criminal penalties therefor and providing for a civil cause of action for damages.
HB 2036, Providing a Kansas income tax subtraction modification for certain amounts received as compensation for members of the armed forces.