MissouriHB20022026 Regular SessionHouseWALLET

Appropriates money for the expenses, grants, refunds, and distributions of the State Board of Education and Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Sponsored By: Deaton, Dirk (159)

Signed by Governor

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

43 provisions identified: 37 benefits, 1 costs, 5 mixed.

Child care help by family income

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides about $304.8 million for child care subsidies. Eligible families at or below 150% of the federal poverty level qualify for the full traditional subsidy. Separate sliding-scale tiers cover incomes above 150% through 185%, and above 185% through 215%. The law does not state each family's payment amount or the sliding-scale calculations.

Missouri funds public schools and busing

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Missouri provides about $4.69 billion for school funding, busing, and small schools. This includes $4.28 billion for the foundation formula, $376.58 million for transportation, and $30 million for small schools. A separate $1.31 billion comes from the School District Trust Fund for public schools. The law also provides $492,000 for school district bond costs. Foundation Program funds cannot support sharing identifiable student data for non-educational purposes, marketing, or advertising.

State transfers money into school funds

The law transfers about $225.23 million into the State School Moneys Fund. Sources include $204.53 million in general revenue, $19.2 million from Fair Share, and $1.5 million from school-building funds. Another $2,000 comes from the After-School Retreat Reading and Assessment Grant Program Fund. It transfers $836.6 million in general revenue into the Outstanding Schools Trust Fund. Classroom Trust Fund transfers total about $408.36 million: $385 million from gaming and $23.36 million from lottery proceeds.

Missouri funds meals for schoolchildren

From July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, Missouri provides about $331.32 million to reimburse schools for food programs. This includes about $3.41 million in general revenue and $327.91 million in federal funds. The money supports school meals; it does not establish new household eligibility rules or a direct family payment.

Disability employment programs receive state funding

For fiscal year 2027, vocational rehabilitation receives about $85.15 million. This includes $1 million from the Vocational Rehabilitation Fund for payments by the Department of Mental Health. The Sheltered Workshops Program receives $30 million. The law funds these programs without setting individual payments or changing workshop participant eligibility.

School grants help disadvantaged students

For fiscal year 2027, the law provides about $227.84 million in federal Title I funding for disadvantaged students. Another Title I allocation provides about $31.41 million to local education agencies. A $10 million competitive grant program supports innovation, improvement, and expansion of high-quality public schools, with awards of at least $1 million. Up to 25% of the $227.84 million allocation may move to Section 2.320. Up to 3% may move to Sections 2.210, 2.215, 2.220, and 2.225; these are agency transfers, not family payments.

Special education and residential schooling funded

For fiscal year 2027, the Special Education Program receives about $273.51 million in federal funds; up to 25% may transfer to Section 2.290. Early childhood special education receives about $272.77 million, including $234.76 million from general revenue, plus lottery and early-childhood fund money. Districts receive about $7.69 million for educating children in qualifying residential placements through the mental health or social services departments. An additional $250,000 is limited to qualifying placements representing at least 30% of a district's prior-year average daily attendance. These are program and district payments, not household checks.

State schools and disability services funded

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, state-operated school programs get about $70.75 million, with 15% flexibility between staffing and expenses or equipment. Special education excess-cost funding totals about $74.24 million: $54.65 million in general revenue and $19.59 million in lottery funds. The Office of Childhood Special Education Program gets $27 million in federal funds. Up to 25% of that appropriation can transfer to Section 2.270. Another $445,327 funds the Language Equality and Acquisition for Deaf Kids program for deaf and hard-of-hearing children.

Teachers receive salary and career support

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the Career Ladder program gets about $52.55 million. The law transfers about $33.42 million into the Teacher Baseline Salary Grant Fund and authorizes that amount for grants. These are funding steps for the same grant program, which supports a $40,000 baseline educator salary. Another one-time $750,000 supports teacher recruitment, training, or development for academically struggling districts. The law does not specify an individual teacher's raise.

Parents gain pilot school information portals

The law provides one-time funding of $400,000 for online school information portals. The education department must select six local education agencies: two large, two medium, and two small. Parents and the public can use the portals to view curriculum materials and school library resources.

Young children receive free mailed books

The law provides $2 million for a program mailing free, high-quality books to children from birth through age five. Children receive books, not cash. The law does not set a per-child allotment.

Disability determination services receive operating funds

For fiscal year 2027, the law provides about $20.18 million for Missouri's Disability Determination Program. The money comes from the Vocational Rehabilitation Fund. It funds disability decisions without changing eligibility rules or setting individual benefit payments.

Disability services and equipment loans funded

For fiscal year 2027, Independent Living Centers receive about $6.83 million; up to 3% may transfer to Section 2.455. Centers receiving added direct federal funding get equal percentage-based increases, while state funding is equalized for centers without that funding. Deaf-blind service organizations receive $300,000, and Missouri Special Olympics receives $100,000. The Missouri Assistive Technology Council receives $745,851 from the Assistive Technology Loan Revolving Fund to support equipment loans. The law does not set individual loan amounts, loan terms, or household payments.

Limits protect students' identifiable data

From July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, the law limits use of Division of Learning Services funds. Covered funds cannot support collecting, distributing, or sharing individually identifiable student data with the federal government. Exceptions allow required reporting for Migrant Education, Vocational Rehabilitation, and Disability Determination programs. The restriction applies to Section 2.125 funds, not all education spending.

Nonprofit receives health and hunger funding

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $2 million from general revenue to a nonprofit. The organization must focus on health, hunger, and hygiene. The law does not identify specific household services, eligibility rules, or individual benefit amounts.

Schools join state-funded dangerous drug monitoring

All schools must join state efforts to monitor and identify dangerous drugs, including fentanyl and nitazenes. This requirement applies only when the state pays all monitoring costs. The law does not specify a funding amount.

Child care payments can cover absences

With federal Administration for Children and Families approval, Missouri's Office of Childhood can change subsidy payments to count absences. Children authorized for at least 20 care units monthly can have up to 10 paid absences, including holidays. Children authorized for 19 or fewer units can have up to six paid absences monthly. Any needed rate changes must maintain access for children already enrolled. Rates can be weighted across age groups to balance costs.

First Steps services receive state funding

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Missouri provides about $87.66 million for First Steps early intervention services. Funding includes about $63.84 million in general revenue and $12.31 million in federal funds. Another $11.5 million comes from the Part C Early Intervention System Fund. The appropriation supports eligible children and families but does not set individual payments or eligibility details.

Funding supports child care quality and providers

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides about $55.21 million for child care quality efforts. Funding covers quality checks, provider health and safety outreach, more early childhood services, low-income programs, administration, and innovation grants. A separate one-time $2 million allocation supports a statewide program for child care providers and workers. It covers recruitment, licensing, business operations, sustainability, digital tools, and a searchable online platform. It also supports community events, coaching, marketing, and training.

Missouri funds hearing aid distribution

The law transfers $100,000 into Missouri's Statewide Hearing Aid Distribution Fund. It separately authorizes $200,000 in spending from that fund for the program during July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. The provision does not set an individual benefit amount or eligibility formula.

Adults get education and diploma funding

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, educational institutions get about $15.13 million for Adult Basic Education. The department can transfer up to 3% of this funding to Section 2.455. Another one-time $1.5 million supports a department-designated workforce diploma program for adults without a high school diploma. The law does not specify payments to individual participants.

Career education providers receive program funding

For fiscal year 2027, the law provides about $86.37 million for career and technical education. This includes about $34.3 million in federal funds for program providers. Of the federal funding, $3.6 million is one-time money. None of the funds may pay for advertising.

Children get dyslexia screening support

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides $400,000 to develop and launch early-grade reading assessments. The system covers kindergarten through third grade and aims to identify students at risk for dyslexia and related disorders. Another $600,107 funds dyslexia programs. The department can transfer up to 3% of that program funding to Section 2.455.

Families get funded afterschool program options

For fiscal year 2027, the law provides about $29.27 million for school-age afterschool and before-and-after-school programs. About $7.69 million of that amount must be awarded through competitive grants. The money supports program providers and services, not direct family payments.

School grants support students facing barriers

For fiscal year 2027, the law provides about $24.84 million for student support and enrichment grants. It provides about $2.18 million to help homeless children enroll, attend, and succeed in school, including $781,694 in one-time funding. Rural education grants receive about $3.23 million. Student language-acquisition services receive about $4.89 million. Education providers receive the funding, not households.

Schools get safety and emergency funding

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, $500,000 funds school safety, active-shooter response training, and counseling for suicide and behavioral health needs. A separate one-time $500,000 funds all-hazards emergency plans, online planning tools, incident-command training, cyber and artificial-intelligence threat management, and site assessments. Emergency plans must consider students with disabilities. Both grants go through a statewide education organization governed entirely by public school board members. Up to 3% of the emergency-planning grant can cover related administrative and operating costs.

Schools receive health and student support

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, $107,380 funds one school-based mental health coordinator and related costs, capped at one full-time position. Federal funds provide about $1.71 million for Project AWARE youth mental health services and $449,126 for Healthy Schools, Successful Students. Another $500,000 funds a recovery high school through a nonprofit whose mission includes youth substance use disorder services. The law also provides $320,000 to identify students who lack adequate resources and support.

State funds student data system

The education department gets about $2.6 million for a statewide system that tracks student data over time. Funding includes $752,000 in one-time state money and about $1.85 million in federal funds. The appropriation covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027. It does not provide payments to families.

Students get career preparation funding

The law provides one-time funding of $1.2 million for nationally recognized career-readiness tests available to all 11th- or 12th-grade students. Tests cover applied math, workplace documents, and graphic literacy, and lead to a nationally recognized work-readiness credential. The Missouri Career Advising Initiative gets $3.5 million. Another one-time $400,000 funds mentorship instruction focused on business standards and operations, while $611,000 supports and expands registered youth apprenticeships. Funding covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027.

Students get computer and academy funding

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, Missouri provides $514,514 for computer science education. This includes a $450,000 transfer to the Computer Science Education Fund and $64,514 for staff and expenses. The Missouri Scholars and Fine Arts Academies get another $675,000. The money supports education programs, not direct payments to families.

Students get funded reading programs

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, districts and charter schools get $14 million for reading-cost reimbursements. Covered costs include assessments, designated programs, supplies, and reading materials; another $3 million funds evidence-based literacy training for teachers and administrators. Federal Comprehensive Literacy Development funding totals about $11 million, including $10.19 million for program distributions. A one-time $200,000 grant funds reading tutoring for underserved youth in a city not within a county. That nonprofit must engage solely men and fathers.

Students with disabilities receive school support

For fiscal year 2027, the law provides $25,000 for readers serving blind or visually disabled elementary and secondary students. The Missouri School for the Deaf receives $49,500 from its trust fund. The Missouri School for the Blind receives $1.5 million from its trust fund. Missouri Schools for the Severely Disabled receive $200,000 from the Handicapped Children's Trust Fund. These allocations support schools and services, not direct family payments.

Targeted students receive science learning support

The law provides a one-time $1 million for a hands-on science, technology, engineering, and math program for at-risk middle school students. Districts must apply for grants in $1 million increments for a school-within-a-school program. The program must have documented results from other states showing gains of up to two grade levels in one school year. A separate one-time $100,000 funds tutoring, enrichment, and support for underserved, low-income students in a city exceeding 400,000 people that spans multiple counties. That $100,000 appropriation covers July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027.

Teachers receive training and scholarship support

For fiscal year 2027, federal grants supporting effective instruction receive about $35 million. Teacher recruitment scholarships receive $800,000 transfers each from general revenue and lottery proceeds, plus $1.6 million in spending authority from the scholarship fund. The Teacher Development System receives $1.6 million from general revenue. The Leadership Development System receives $1.2 million, split equally between general revenue and the Excellence in Education Fund. Teacher of the Year receives $190,000: $150,000 from the Excellence in Education Fund and $40,000 from federal funds; individual awards are not set.

Virtual school program receives operating funds

Missouri provides $556,678 for the Virtual Schools Program from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. The money comes from general revenue and lottery proceeds. It supports program operations rather than direct payments to families.

Education department receives money for refunds

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the education department receives $2.51 million in federal funds for refunds. The law does not identify eligible recipients or set refund amounts. This appropriation does not establish a general refund for families.

School district bond fund receives transfer

The law transfers $492,000 from the Gaming Proceeds for Education Fund to the School District Bond Fund. The transfer supports school district financing. It does not set household payments or local tax changes.

Child care providers face payment rules

The covered child care program cannot pay providers in advance. For future child care rate studies, the Office of Childhood must obtain records from all providers to verify reported rates. It cannot rely only on unaudited, self-reported survey answers.

State-care children get subsidies with limits

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides about $57.31 million for child care subsidies. These subsidies serve children under the Missouri Department of Social Services Children's Division's care or custody. For children in its legal custody, providers must receive at least the regional market rate for their provider type. Covered payments also face caps: the 100th percentile for infant and toddler care, and the 65th percentile for pre-kindergarten and school-age care. Both the minimum and caps use the 2024 market-rate study.

Career schools get grants requiring matches

The law provides $5.5 million for career and technical school and comprehensive high school facilities. Funding covers design, renovation, construction, and improvements. Local funds must match state funds dollar for dollar, creating a 50/50 state-local split. Another $1 million supports career center operations and/or comprehensive high schools. These appropriations cover July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027.

Parent education funded with service limits

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, early childhood development gets about $28.42 million, plus $500,000 for unaccredited or provisionally accredited districts. The education department must coordinate parent education with the Office of Administration's home visiting programs. Funds cannot support parent education that requires enrollment for another program or lacks separate, voluntary enrollment. Funds also cannot pay for virtual parent education visits. The department must publish annual counts of children enrolled in both parent education and local school pre-kindergarten programs.

Prekindergarten grants prioritize lower-income families

For July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the law provides about $5.23 million to child care facilities and $35.83 million to local education agencies for prekindergarten. Programs must meet state standards, serve children the year before kindergarten, and prioritize families at or below 185% of federal poverty guidelines. Facilities must be state-licensed or, if unlicensed, registered with the education department; priority children cannot already receive full subsidies for the same instruction. Facility reimbursement is capped at the lower of $7,145 per child receiving at least 1,044 instructional hours or the adjusted state adequacy amount. Local education agency reimbursement uses the lower of $7,145 or the adjusted state target, multiplied by the applicable dollar-value modifier per average daily attendance.

School testing funded with spending limits

For fiscal year 2027, the law provides about $21.85 million for Missouri's Performance Based Assessment Program. The department cannot use this money to collect or share individually identifiable student data with the federal government. Exceptions allow specified federal reporting for Migrant Education, Vocational Rehabilitation, and Disability Determination. The funds also cannot pay Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium license fees or membership dues.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • Deaton, Dirk (159)

    Affiliation unavailable

Cosponsors

There are no cosponsors for this bill.

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 395 • No: 340

Senate vote • 5/6/2026

Truly Agreed To and Finally Passed

Yes: 20 • No: 13

Senate vote • 5/6/2026

Senate Adopts Conference Committee Report

Yes: 20 • No: 13

House vote • 5/6/2026

Third Read and Passed

Yes: 83 • No: 68 • Other: 2

House vote • 5/6/2026

House Adopts Conference Committee Report

Yes: 83 • No: 66 • Other: 2

House vote • 5/6/2026

Substitute Motion Defeated

Yes: 62 • No: 89

Senate vote • 4/22/2026

Third Read and Passed

Yes: 21 • No: 11

House vote • 3/26/2026

Third Read and Passed

Yes: 85 • No: 70

House vote • 3/12/2026

HCS Reported Do Pass - with a time limit of five and a half hours of debate on Perfection pursuant to Rule 24(4)(d)

Yes: 21 • No: 10

Actions Timeline

  1. Delivered to Secretary of State (G)

    6/30/2026House
  2. Vetoed in Part by Governor (G)

    6/30/2026House
  3. Delivered to Governor

    5/28/2026House
  4. Signed by President Pro Tem

    5/28/2026Senate
  5. Signed by House Speaker

    5/28/2026House
  6. Senate Message

    5/7/2026Senate
  7. Truly Agreed To and Finally Passed - AYES: 20 NOES: 13 PRESENT: 0

    5/6/2026Senate
  8. Senate Adopts Conference Committee Report - AYES: 20 NOES: 13 PRESENT: 0

    5/6/2026Senate
  9. Senate Submits Conference Committee Report

    5/6/2026Senate
  10. House Message

    5/6/2026House
  11. Third Read and Passed - AYES: 83 NOES: 68 PRESENT: 2

    5/6/2026House
  12. House Adopts Conference Committee Report - AYES: 83 NOES: 66 PRESENT: 2

    5/6/2026House
  13. Substitute Motion Defeated - AYES: 62 NOES: 89 PRESENT: 0

    5/6/2026House
  14. Substitute Motion Offered - House refuses to adopt, request Senate grant further conference.

    5/6/2026House
  15. House Submits Conference Committee Report

    5/6/2026House
  16. House Distributes Conference Committee Report

    5/5/2026House
  17. Senate Message

    4/28/2026Senate
  18. Senate Conference Committee Appointed - SENATORS BLACK, HUDSON, HENDERSON, MAY, NURRENBERN

    4/28/2026Senate
  19. House Message

    4/27/2026House
  20. House Conference Committee Appointed - REPRESENTATIVES DEATON, DAVIDSON, CHAPPELL, FOGLE, STEINHOFF

    4/27/2026House
  21. Senate Message

    4/23/2026Senate
  22. Senate Refuses to Recede, Grants Conference

    4/23/2026Senate
  23. House Message

    4/23/2026House
  24. House Refuses to Adopt, Requests Senate to Recede or Grant Conference

    4/23/2026House
  25. Taken Up

    4/23/2026House

Bill Text

  • Truly Agreed

    5/6/2026

  • Perfected

    3/24/2026

  • Committee Substitute

    3/12/2026

  • Senate Substitute

    3/12/2026

  • Introduced

    1/21/2026

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation