All Roll Calls
Yes: 166 • No: 72
Sponsored By: Linda R. Greenstein (Democratic), Ellen J. Park (Democratic), Eliana Pintor Marin (Democratic), William B. Sampson IV (Democratic), Paul A. Sarlo (Democratic)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
23 provisions identified: 22 benefits, 0 costs, 1 mixed.
The law provides $135 million in Transitional Aid to Localities, including $110.4 million that municipalities must repay as loans. The local government services director sets loan allocations, with approval from the state budget director. Remaining aid requires approved municipal applications, needs reviews, and state budget director approval; it may also require repayment. The local government services director sets aid terms and repayment schedules in consultation with the State Treasurer. These terms must be recorded in written agreements between the Department of Community Affairs and recipient municipalities.
Burlington Township gets $700,000 for La Gorce Square roadway improvements in FY2026. The money funds the local road project. It does not create direct household payments.
The Maria Magda Hispanic Multi-Purpose Service Center gets $1 million for building improvements. The Jewish Community Center of Middlesex County gets $500,000, and Newark's United Community Corporation gets $300,000. Horizons at the Jersey Shore gets $75,000. The Jersey Shore Dream Center in Neptune gets $75,000 for infrastructure improvements. These grants support organizations and facilities; the law does not set household payment amounts or eligibility rules.
The law provides $1.5 million to the Greater Mount Zion Community Development Corporation. The Community Affairs and Resource Center gets $50,000. The law does not specify funded activities, who qualifies for services, or direct household benefit amounts.
The law provides $500,000 for lead service line improvements in Elizabeth. The money funds local water infrastructure work. The law does not identify which lines receive improvements or provide direct household payments.
The Essex County Family Justice Center gets $340,000. SAFE in Hunterdon gets $500,000 for property purchases and building improvements. The law does not specify the services or direct household assistance these grants fund.
Rahway gets $2.175 million in FY2026 operating aid, and Weehawken gets $1 million. Bloomfield gets $1.2 million for public services and personnel aid. Frenchtown gets $200,000 for municipal building renovations. The money supports local government operations and facilities rather than direct household payments.
Cliffside Park gets $1.75 million for improvements to its municipal library and recreation center. West New York gets $1.5 million for operating aid and public library construction. Franklin Township in Gloucester County gets $650,000 to build a community center. Lawrence Township in Mercer County gets $2 million to restore a community center. These FY2026 grants support town operations and public facilities, not household payments.
Hamilton Township in Mercer County gets $1.1 million for a fire engine, and Magnolia Fire Company gets $560,000 for facility improvements. Bradley Beach gets $200,000 for police radio upgrades, and Shrewsbury gets $50,000 for police equipment. Glen Ridge gets $50,000 for transportation and public safety modernization. Belleville gets $423,000 for emergency response reimbursement. These FY2026 grants support local services; Belleville's reimbursement goes to the township, not households.
The law provides $400,000 to restore the Paul Robeson House of Princeton. Interfaith Neighbors gets $50,000 for its Heritage Walk project. These grants fund named projects, not direct household payments. The law does not describe the Heritage Walk's activities or intended users.
Wood-Ridge gets $5 million for the Highland Avenue Recreation Center. East Rutherford gets $1.25 million for Lois Lane Athletic Complex improvements, and Rutherford gets $1.25 million for Memorial Park field renovations. Haledon gets $800,000 for recreation improvements. East Newark gets $250,000 for recreation improvements, and Harrison gets $250,000 for recreation projects. The FY2026 funding supports local facilities, not direct payments to residents.
The law provides $700,000 for the Middlesex County Fire Marshal's Foam Replacement Initiative. The funding supports firefighting foam replacement, not direct payments to households.
The law funds local park projects for FY2026 and took effect June 30, 2026. Essex County gets $2.25 million for urban parks, and Mercer County gets $1.25 million for Wharf Park construction. Buena gets $450,000 for Bruno Melini Park lighting, and Keansburg gets $100,000 for park improvements. Metuchen gets $500,000 for Memorial Park, Clifton gets $500,000 for Nash Park, and South Plainfield gets $55,000 for Monument Park. These grants fund public spaces, not household payments.
The law provides $3 million to relocate and renovate Woodbridge's municipal court. The money supports the court facility, not direct payments to households.
St. Joseph's Senior Home in Woodbridge gets $500,000 for a replacement generator. The funding supports the home's backup power. It does not create direct household payments or new benefit eligibility.
The law provides $75,000 to the Boys and Girls Club of Monmouth County. The Girl Scouts of New Jersey gets $250,000 in operating support. The law does not specify funded activities, participation rules, or direct benefit amounts for families.
The law provides $2 million for mosquito control in Essex County. The funding covers research, administration, and operations. It supports local public health work, not direct household payments.
The law provides $650,000 for Camden Lutheran Housing, Inc.'s Casa del Rios Project. It also allows up to $1.125 million from the NJ Community Capital Foreclosure Mitigation Program for affordable housing in Newark. The Newark allocation requires approval from the Director of the Division of Budget and Accounting. Neither provision sets household eligibility or individual assistance amounts.
The law provides $1 million for Domestic Violence Housing Support. It does not set household eligibility, name specific services, or state how much housing help each household receives.
The law provides $2.175 million in operating aid to Linden and $2.5 million to Perth Amboy. Plainfield gets $4 million in operating aid. The law does not name the services or costs this money supports, and residents do not receive direct payments.
The law directs $11.5 million to the New Jersey Department of Education for charter schools and renaissance school projects. Grants support urgent needs, major upkeep, and facility costs. Grant support requires review by the director of the department's Office of Charter and Renaissance Schools. The money supports schools rather than direct payments to families.
Little Ferry Public Schools gets $2.5 million for construction. School facility improvements receive $250,000 in Hammonton, $500,000 in Roselle Borough, and $700,000 in South Amboy. Operating aid provides $1.5 million to Union Public Schools and $100,000 each to Bloomfield and East Orange schools. These funds support school buildings and operations, not direct payments to families.
The law provides $299,000 to the Avellana Agroforestry Cooperative for New Jersey agroforestry and the regional food supply chain. Funds are limited to hazelnut processing automation, cold storage, food safety compliance, and commercial-scale infrastructure. The law does not provide direct household payments.
Linda R. Greenstein
Democratic • Senate
Ellen J. Park
Democratic • House
Eliana Pintor Marin
Democratic • House
William B. Sampson IV
Democratic • House
Paul A. Sarlo
Democratic • Senate
Carmen Theresa Morales
Democratic • House
Raj Mukherji
Democratic • Senate
All Roll Calls
Yes: 166 • No: 72
House vote • 6/30/2026
3RDG FINAL PASSAGE
Yes: 57 • No: 22
Senate vote • 6/30/2026
3RDG FINAL PASSAGE
Yes: 26 • No: 14
Senate vote • 6/30/2026
3RDG FINAL PASSAGE
Yes: 83 • No: 36 • Other: 1
Governor: APP
Approved by Governor — P.L.2026, c.20.
Passed Assembly, PBH — (57-22-0)
Substituted for A5326
Received in Assembly, Without Reference, 2nd Reading in Assembly
Passed Senate — (26-14)
Reported, 2nd Reading in Senate
Introduced, 1st Reading in Senate, Referred to Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee
Version PL2026
9/17/2026
Version AL2026
8/13/2026
As Introduced
7/1/2026
Senate Budget and Appropriations Substitute (6/28/26)
6/29/2026
S1395, Allows certain limited liability companies to terminate alternate names before end of five-year registration period.
S4413, Establishes School-based Partnerships for Access and Resilience for Kids program in DCF; requires school districts to develop mental health support and partnership programs. **
S4420, Authorizes regional rehabilitation and reentry center authority to determine county proportional share assessment for budget purposes.
S4515, Authorizes dual employment by certain employees of Rutgers University and affiliated contracting entities.*
S2962, Provides seniority service credit to educational support professionals for military service.
A4072, Establishes minimum qualifications for persons employed on public works contract.