All Roll Calls
Yes: 199 • No: 1
Sponsored By: J. Gary Pretlow (Democratic)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
20 provisions identified: 14 benefits, 0 costs, 6 mixed.
For payrolls scheduled April 1–22, 2026, state employee payroll funding rises from $835.781 million to $1.228949722 billion. It covers executive-branch and legislative employees, including state-operated special employment, work-for-pay, and sheltered-workshop programs. Judiciary payroll funding rises from $85 million to $186 million; both payroll appropriations also cover liabilities from before April 1. State fringe-benefit funding rises from $644.5685 million to $682.0685 million, including Social Security contributions rising from $78.5 million to $116 million. Another $62.25 million covers Judiciary benefit liabilities incurred April 1–22, including health, retirement, Social Security, dental, vision, and workers’ compensation. These funds pay existing obligations rather than establish individual raises or benefit increases.
New York provides $2.283 billion for public school obligations during the April 1–22, 2026 emergency period. The funding covers remaining obligations from the 2025–26 and earlier school years. Available funding accounts for disallowed payments and credits. Moving money among the specified public-school support appropriations requires budget director approval. This supports schools and districts, not direct household payments.
Beginning April 1, 2026, the Medicaid appropriation that includes applied behavior analysis rises from $784.936 million to $1.177404 billion. This funding covers the 2026–27 fiscal year. Applied behavior analysis can use these funds only with a recommendation from an authorized health or mental health practitioner. That practitioner must have the Health Commissioner’s designation as an applied behavior analysis center of excellence provider. The appropriation does not guarantee a specific amount of care.
New York increases its Medicaid appropriation from $4.529831 billion to $6.489781 billion, subject to federal approval. Funding for noninstitutional and other Medicaid costs rises from $359.61 million to $539.415 million, including past and future bills. State Medicaid spending is capped at $36.0992 billion for April 1, 2026–March 31, 2027, with specified exclusions and adjustments. When projected spending exceeds the cap, state officials must develop a savings plan that can change payments or discontinue benefits. Changes must follow federal law, seek available federal funding, limit paperwork, and apply cuts uniformly where practical. Health officials must seek stakeholder input and give legislative finance chairs 30 days’ notice, including for material revisions; defined emergencies allow exceptions. Savings notices and quarterly spending reports must be public. The law also allows provider payment accounts, advances, aid for distressed safety-net hospitals, and certified funding for minimum-wage-related pay costs.
Beginning April 1, 2026, community disability-services funding rises from $311.985 million to $457.038 million for eligible local governments and nonprofits. Payments follow an agency plan approved by the budget director, covering local fiscal periods starting January 1, April 1, or July 1, 2026. Advances can also cover January–March 2027. For April 1–22, residential funding rises from $18.563 million to $21.494 million; day programs rise from $4.56 million to $5.28 million. Family support rises from $5.13 million to $5.94 million, while other disability services rise from $760,000 to $880,000. Those services include care-at-home, epilepsy services, hepatitis B services, Special Olympics New York, and voluntary fingerprinting; individual payments are not guaranteed.
Beginning April 1, 2026, New York increases funding for several Medicaid services. Transportation funding rises from $31.764 million to $47.646 million. Medicaid funding for people with developmental disabilities rises from $280.008 million to $420.012 million. Dental funding rises from $3.672 million to $5.508 million. These appropriations support services and providers; they do not set individual benefit amounts or change eligibility.
Beginning April 1, 2026, the appropriation available for approved affordable housing transfers rises from $192.308 million to $288.462 million. State agencies can receive these funds and available federal matching funds for affordable housing services. Transfers require budget director approval and an allocation adjustment submitted by the Health Commissioner. Spending must consider where grants are located. The law does not create an individual housing payment or change household eligibility.
Beginning April 1, 2026, New York increases unemployment benefit funding from $570 million to $765 million. The money pays state unemployment benefits and federally authorized unemployment benefits. Covered programs include disaster assistance, extended benefits, and additional federal compensation. Claimants must qualify under the applicable state or federal program. The appropriation does not specify an increase in anyone’s individual benefit.
Beginning April 1, 2026, the Medicaid appropriation that includes pharmacy services rises from $236.438 million to $354.657 million. The funding covers the 2026–27 fiscal year. It cannot pay for drugs unless previously enacted law or state rules explicitly authorize them, or the budget director approves them. The appropriation does not specify changes to any recipient’s drug coverage or payment amount.
For April 1–22, 2026, New York’s developmental disabilities agency allows more uses of approved self-direction budgets. Enrollees’ budgets can cover care continuity, family-reimbursed respite, non-staff costs, and direct housing subsidies. Every covered cost must appear in an agency-approved budget. Direct support staff in agency-certified or approved programs, including covered home- and community-based waiver programs, can perform agency-specified tasks. A registered nurse must train, supervise, and periodically inspect the work, which must follow an authorized practitioner’s care orders.
For April 1–22, 2026, state agency operating-expense funding rises from $32 million to $44 million. It covers ordinary business costs other than payroll, for purposes authorized in the 2025–26 state fiscal year. The Judiciary also receives $13 million for operating expenses and $11 million for aid to localities incurred during that period. These appropriations support government operations rather than direct household payments.
New York funds eligible capital-project costs incurred April 1–22, 2026. Up to $10 million covers contracts and grants approved before April 1, 2026. Up to $20 million covers contracts and grants approved after April 1, 2026. Projects must serve purposes authorized by the Legislature in the 2025–26 state fiscal year. The funding pays eligible project recipients, not households directly.
New York provides $7 million for its Indian health program’s services and expenses. Payments must follow a plan prepared by the Health Commissioner and approved by the budget director. The law does not specify individual eligibility rules or benefit amounts.
New York provides $1.2 million for its Elderly Pharmaceutical Insurance Coverage program. The money supports program premiums, services, and reimbursements to participating pharmacies. It supports prescription coverage for enrolled older residents without changing eligibility or setting a new individual benefit amount.
New York increases funding for federal food and nutrition services from $20.33 million to $23.54 million. The money can pay financial assistance that accrued before the appropriation. This supports food assistance services and providers. The law does not specify changes to individual eligibility or benefit amounts.
For April 1–22, 2026, New York increases homeless veterans’ housing funding from $114,000 to $132,000. The money covers housing-related services and expenses through the Homeless Veterans Assistance Fund. It does not guarantee an individual payment or housing placement.
For April 1–22, 2026, disability employment and day-training funding rises from $2.964 million to $3.432 million. The permitted transfer to the Education Department’s vocational rehabilitation program rises from $43,700 to a maximum of $50,600. That transfer supports FEDCAP Rehabilitation Services’ LongTerm Sheltered Employment program. The funding does not guarantee an individual payment or service outcome.
For April 1–22, 2026, directors of facilities licensed but not operated by New York’s developmental disabilities agency can continue using residents’ funds for care. The director must be the resident’s federally appointed representative payee and have responsibility for managing the money. Spending must follow federal law and rules. This supports care using residents’ own resources; it does not provide new money.
For April 1–22, 2026, New York can reimburse private residential schools for residential and day services for people over age 21. Both in-state and out-of-state schools are covered. Residential payments must subtract any Supplemental Security Income the person is eligible to receive. Day-service payments cannot exceed the maximum reimbursement for appropriate services from other agency-certified or approved providers, unless the budget director allows more. Payments go to schools, not directly to households.
For April 1–22, 2026, New York’s developmental disabilities agency can help fund supportive housing development through aid, loans, or grants. Units must be set aside for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. The agency receives a property lien equal to its loan or grant. The lien can last up to 30 years, or longer when another regulatory agency requires it. The agency commissioner sets funding terms; no unit count or individual housing subsidy is specified.
J. Gary Pretlow
Democratic • House
There are no cosponsors for this bill.
All Roll Calls
Yes: 199 • No: 1
Senate vote • 4/20/2026
FLOOR Vote
Yes: 58 • No: 1
House vote • 4/20/2026
Assembly floor vote
Yes: 141 • No: 0
SIGNED CHAP.104
DELIVERED TO GOVERNOR
RETURNED TO ASSEMBLY
PASSED SENATE
MESSAGE OF NECESSITY - 3 DAY MESSAGE
MESSAGE OF NECESSITY - APPROPRIATION
3RD READING CAL.699
SUBSTITUTED FOR S9963
REFERRED TO RULES
DELIVERED TO SENATE
PASSED ASSEMBLY
MESSAGE OF NECESSITY - 3 DAY MESSAGE
MESSAGE OF NECESSITY - APPROPRIATION
ORDERED TO THIRD READING RULES CAL.95
RULES REPORT CAL.95
REPORTED
REPORTED REFERRED TO RULES
REFERRED TO WAYS AND MEANS
Original
4/19/2026
S 9051, Prohibits artificial intelligence companions from using features which are considered unsafe for minors
S 10643, Relates to labor peace agreements and the cannabis industry wage board; repealer
A 5175, Requires certain security features and warning labels on baby monitors
S 8953, Establishes the Clarence Center Volunteer Exempt Firefighter's Benevolent Association
S 9968, Establishes the Harris Hill Volunteer Fire Company Benevolent Association
A 10052, Extends the effectiveness of the authority of the town of Red Hook to impose real estate transfer taxes and to deposit revenue from such taxes into a community preservation fund