All Roll Calls
Yes: 199 • No: 0
Sponsored By: J. Gary Pretlow (Democratic)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
21 provisions identified: 15 benefits, 1 costs, 5 mixed.
For April 1, 2025–March 31, 2026, the law raises a main Medicaid appropriation from $2.222408 billion to $3.333612 billion. A separate program account rises from $20.744 million to $31.116 million, without a stated service purpose. Funding for noninstitutional and other services rises from $275.262 million to $412.893 million. Medical services at state mental health, developmental disability, and addiction facilities rise from $166.8 million to $250.2 million. These funding increases do not themselves set new eligibility rules or individual benefit amounts.
For April 1–15, 2025, the law provides $85 million for scheduled judiciary paychecks. It also provides $300 million for employee benefit bills incurred during that period. Another $25 million covers court operating bills, and $30 million covers court aid to local governments. The law funds existing obligations rather than changing individual pay rates or health coverage.
Beginning April 1, 2025, the law provides $277.014 million for the state's share of medical assistance for people with developmental disabilities. It also provides $14.655 million for residential services and related expenses. These appropriations support services and providers without specifying individual payments or changes to eligibility.
For April 1, 2025–March 31, 2026, Medicaid clinic funding rises from $33.934 million to $50.901 million. Managed-care funding rises from $301.658 million to $452.487 million. That account also supports accessible primary care, help for integrated care systems, and electronic health records. Transportation funding rises from $24.47 million to $36.705 million, and dental funding rises from $2.844 million to $4.266 million. These provisions fund services but do not specify changes to individual coverage or costs.
Beginning April 1, 2025, Medicaid nursing-home funding rises from $158.718 million to $238.077 million. Funding for other long-term care rises from $264.788 million to $397.182 million. Both appropriations are available through March 31, 2026. They support services but do not specify changes to individual eligibility, benefits, or resident payments.
For the state budget year starting April 1, 2025, unemployment benefit funding rises from $345 million to $465 million. The money pays benefits under New York's unemployment law and specified federally funded programs. Recipients must qualify under the applicable program. The provision does not change eligibility or individual benefit amounts.
The law provides $79.2 million for covered Safety Net Assistance costs, generally reimbursing districts at 29%. It also makes $125 million in federal money available for eligible temporary housing costs otherwise reimbursable starting April 1, 2025. Costs must fall within calendar year 2025; district claims are due March 1, 2026. Rental reimbursement caps use January 1, 2021 limits, rising only with annual Fair Market Rent increases and never falling when those rents fall. Districts above 5 million people face tighter shelter-supplement limits. For homeless or at-risk people with diagnosed HIV, covered emergency shelter, transportation, and nutrition payments generally receive 29% reimbursement. In smaller districts, approved use of managed-care savings can cover emergency shelter costs above agency limits, up to full Fair Market Rent. Additional rent aid for public-assistance recipients with HIV receives 29% reimbursement in larger districts where resident contributions are capped at 30% of income. Smaller districts can choose reimbursement up to 100% with agency approval. Districts must report annually; missing approved homeless-service plans, required services, or outcome reports can lead to withheld or denied payments.
For April 1, 2025–March 31, 2026, Medicaid pharmacy funding rises from $185.232 million to $277.848 million. The money cannot pay for drugs lacking explicit approval in law, rules, or regulations unless the budget director approves. The provision does not specify changes to any patient's drug coverage or copay.
Beginning April 1, 2025, eligible residents of covered nonprofit-run community homes can receive up to $250 yearly for personal needs. This includes covered individualized residences under the home and community-based services waiver. Payments depend on financial need; the commissioner sets their timing and method. Separately, funds can cover personal needs, general services, and up to 14 days of respite in certified family care homes. Operators can receive payment for client-caused property damage, using commissioner-set rates and standards approved by the budget director.
The law provides $668.33 million for executive-branch and legislative paychecks scheduled for April 1–15, 2025, including covered work-program participants. It raises employee benefit funding from $50.175 million to $516.471 million. This includes $422 million for health insurance and the retiree health benefit trust. The state's share of insurance dividends can pay premiums in 2025–26. These funds support existing pay and benefits, without setting individual raises or premium changes.
Beginning April 1, 2025, direct support staff in state-approved developmental disability programs can perform tasks specified by the state disability agency. Covered programs include specified home and community-based services waiver programs. A registered nurse must train and supervise staff and inspect their work periodically. Tasks must follow care ordered by an authorized practitioner.
Beginning April 1, 2025, the law provides $3.6 million for developmental disability day programs and $4.05 million for family supports. Another $2.34 million funds workshops, day training, and employment services. Up to $800,000 of that amount can transfer through the state vocational rehabilitation program for FEDCAP's Long-Term Sheltered Employment program. A separate $600,000 supports hepatitis B services, care-at-home waivers, epilepsy services, Special Olympics New York, and voluntary fingerprinting. State aid can cover up to 100% of day-training and family-support programs' net deficits—their costs left after other income.
Beginning April 1, 2025, the law provides $385,000 for annuity payments to blind veterans and eligible surviving spouses. Up to $15,000 can transfer to program administration. Housing-related funding for homeless veterans rises from $126,000 to $210,000. These provisions support targeted veteran programs without setting each recipient's payment or housing assistance amount.
Beginning April 1, 2025, federal food and nutrition services funding rises from $9.63 million to $16.05 million. The money pays assistance costs already owed and is available through March 31, 2026. The provision does not name a specific household program or change individual benefit amounts.
Beginning April 1, 2025, the law provides $19.65 million for adoption subsidies. The state reimburses social services districts for 62% of eligible costs, without setting each family's subsidy amount. Districts generally must file claims within 24 months after the state budget year containing the expenses ends. The commissioner can waive that deadline for good cause with budget director approval. The law preserves applicable prior cost-of-living increases and provides a 2.84% increase for the rate year starting July 1, 2024.
The law raises funding for routine operating bills, excluding payroll, from $20 million to $32 million. It covers executive-branch agencies, the comptroller, attorney general, and legislature. Bills must be incurred from April 1 through April 15, 2025. Spending must serve purposes authorized in state budget year 2024–2025.
Beginning April 1, 2025, the law provides $7.426 million for Long Island Rail Road and Metro-North operations, including specified New York service portions. It provides $42.011 million for New York City Transit, Manhattan and Bronx surface transit, and Staten Island rapid transit operations. Spending requires the budget director's approval certificate, filed with the required state officials. The money supports operations but does not set fares or promise specific service changes.
For April 1, 2024–March 31, 2025, the law bars most cost-of-living increases to developmental disability service rates and contracts. The 2.84% increase authorized by a 2024 law remains allowed. Earlier increases can still apply when rates are reset using base-year costs. The restriction governs provider payments, not a household's benefit amount.
Beginning April 1, 2025, directors of disability facilities licensed but not operated by the state can use residents' funds for their care. A director must be the resident's federally appointed representative payee and have taken responsibility for managing the funds. All spending must follow federal law and regulations. This uses residents' existing money; it does not provide a new payment.
Beginning April 1, 2025, private residential schools can receive payment for developmental disability services for people over age 21. Covered schools can be inside or outside New York, and services can include residential and day programs. Residential payments must be reduced by any Supplemental Security Income benefit the person qualifies for. Day-service payments cannot exceed the maximum for appropriate services from other approved disability providers unless the budget director authorizes more.
Beginning April 1, 2025, state aid, loans, or grants can help develop housing reserved for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. The commissioner sets the terms. The state disability agency holds a lien—a legal claim against the property—for the amount provided. The lien lasts up to 30 years, or longer when another regulator requires it. The provision does not specify a funding amount.
J. Gary Pretlow
Democratic • House
There are no cosponsors for this bill.
All Roll Calls
Yes: 199 • No: 0
Senate vote • 4/10/2025
FLOOR Vote
Yes: 57 • No: 0
House vote • 4/10/2025
Assembly floor vote
Yes: 142 • No: 0
SIGNED CHAP.119
DELIVERED TO GOVERNOR
RETURNED TO ASSEMBLY
PASSED SENATE
MESSAGE OF NECESSITY - 3 DAY MESSAGE
MESSAGE OF NECESSITY - APPROPRIATION
3RD READING CAL.681
SUBSTITUTED FOR S7317
REFERRED TO RULES
DELIVERED TO SENATE
PASSED ASSEMBLY
MESSAGE OF NECESSITY - 3 DAY MESSAGE
MESSAGE OF NECESSITY - APPROPRIATION
ORDERED TO THIRD READING RULES CAL.148
RULES REPORT CAL.148
REPORTED
REPORTED REFERRED TO RULES
REFERRED TO WAYS AND MEANS
Original
4/10/2025
S 9051, Prohibits artificial intelligence companions from using features which are considered unsafe for minors
S 10643, Relates to labor peace agreements and the cannabis industry wage board; repealer
A 5175, Requires certain security features and warning labels on baby monitors
S 8953, Establishes the Clarence Center Volunteer Exempt Firefighter's Benevolent Association
S 9968, Establishes the Harris Hill Volunteer Fire Company Benevolent Association
A 10052, Extends the effectiveness of the authority of the town of Red Hook to impose real estate transfer taxes and to deposit revenue from such taxes into a community preservation fund