All Roll Calls
Yes: 99 • No: 0
Sponsored By: Stephen L. Whyte (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
23 provisions identified: 18 benefits, 0 costs, 5 mixed.
For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, Utah provides about $374.14 million for Child Nutrition. It also provides about $31.54 million for USDA Foods in School. The Utah State Board of Education oversees this funding for food and nutrition services. These provisions do not set a per-child benefit or direct household payment.
The law allocates $122.6347 million for Utah Fits All student scholarships and program administration. This funds the scholarship program but does not set an individual award amount in this provision. The allocation also does not state new eligibility rules, so it alone does not show whether a family qualifies.
For July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, the CTE Catalyst Center receives $35.5378 million. That year also includes $146,400 for career education, $174,600 for special education, and $228,400 for CPR training grants. For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, the law adds $65.25 million for the Catalyst Center. This includes $65 million in one-time money from the Public Education Economic Stabilization Restricted Account. Beginning July 1, 2026, districts operating approved career education centers receive 40 weighted pupil units; qualifying comprehensive high schools can count as centers. Centers must meet State Board standards and qualifying criteria, but the board cannot dictate their operating structure or staffing model.
For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, Utah provides $132.8098 million for career and technical education. This Basic School Program funding covers 27,271 weighted pupil units, which are used to calculate school funding. Separate additional funding includes $19.6602 million for career education and $1.0606 million for career education student groups. The law also adds $625,500 for online assessments and $800,000 for the First Credential for All program. It adds $535,100 for the ProStart Culinary Arts Program.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law creates an education stabilization account within the Uniform School Fund. Its funding includes 15% of the difference between estimated next-year ongoing revenues and current-year ongoing appropriations from the named school and income-tax funds. An 11% limit tied to Uniform School Fund appropriations limits ongoing appropriations to the account, and interest stays in it. The account supports one-time school spending and can cover school funding shortfalls, enrollment growth, inflation, or minimum local funding gaps. When ongoing account funding is available, the Executive Appropriations Committee must allocate one-time money during budget preparation. The required teacher professional-time allocation is at least the lesser of 10% of those appropriations or the cost of 32 paid hours. Listed uses also include teaching supplies, future educator stipends, rural school sports facilities, and $65 million for Catalyst Center grants. The State Board reports estimated one-time costs each October 15, and the Legislative Fiscal Analyst reviews the percentages every three years.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the statewide basic-school local funding target rises from about $810.59 million to $866.84 million. The preliminary property tax rate falls from 0.001408 to 0.001352, but this is not the final rate. Districts must charge the certified minimum rate to qualify for state basic-school funding. The State Tax Commission, governor's budget office, and legislative fiscal analyst must agree on the rate by June 22 each year. A homeowner's tax depends on the property's taxable value and final rate, so the lower estimate does not guarantee savings.
For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, Utah provides $23.48 million for student health and counseling support. The law also adds $1 million for student mental health screenings and $1 million for suicide prevention. Another $328,100 supports state administration of the health and counseling program. These funds support school programs; the provisions do not set individual service amounts or household payments.
The law provides $2.334 million for State Charter School Board administration and $550,000 for statewide charter school training. New charter school startup funding receives $2.2184 million. The law also puts $1.5114 million from repayments into the Charter School Revolving Account, which supports charter school financing. These allocations support schools rather than provide direct household payments.
The law provides $21.1173 million for administration and $13.1382 million for transportation and support at Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind. It provides $1.9369 million for instructional materials access, $13.0995 million for the School for the Deaf, and $9.9277 million for the School for the Blind. Separate funding for July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, includes $3.6264 million for administration and $489,500 for transportation and support. That year's allocations also include $19,000 for instructional materials access and $132,300 for the School for the Blind. These are school and service funds, not direct household payments.
Utah provides $223,800 for the Hospitality and Tourism Management Education Account. The funding covers July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. It supports education in those fields, rather than a direct household payment.
The law provides $1.488 million for the Statewide Online Education Program. Home School Student Support receives $2.0597 million, and Small High School Support receives $2.339 million. These allocations fund education services, not stated per-family payments.
For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, Utah provides $27.1769 million for Concurrent Enrollment. This supports high school students taking college-level courses. The law also adds $320,800 for College and Career Counseling that year. Neither allocation sets an individual student payment.
Beginning July 1, 2026, local school and charter school boards can choose how career and technical education centers are managed. They can decide whether a center needs its own administrator. When setting criteria for weighted pupil funding, the state board cannot dictate a center's operating structure or staffing model.
For July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, the law provides $410,400 for student mental health screenings. It also allocates $40,000 for Dual Immersion, $100,000 for Special Education State Programs, and $70,000 for Youth-in-Custody. That year includes $200,000 for the State Safety and Support Program, $13,000 for student health and counseling, and $32,400 for regional education agencies. For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, the law adds $3.2042 million for the Early Warning Program. It also adds $500,000 for child sexual abuse prevention grants and a separate $1 million for child sexual abuse prevention.
The law provides $1.4656 million from repayments to the School Building Revolving Account. The account helps eligible Utah schools finance building needs. This allocation does not create a direct household payment or a new household repayment duty.
The law funds computer science with $6.6913 million and the education technology management system with $1.9008 million. It provides $2.1809 million for elementary reading assessment software and $10.764 million for early literacy software licenses. School data collection and analysis receives $900,000, and the IT Academy receives $500,000. For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, Digital Teaching and Learning receives $18.3524 million. The law also adds $536,000 that year for state administration of the digital learning program.
For July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, related school programs receive the following allocations. Student services include $1.2378 million for gang prevention and intervention, $113,400 for Youth in Custody, and $690,400 for Adult Education. Accelerated students receive $513,300, Concurrent Enrollment receives $5,800, and intensive special education services receive $15,600. Student health and counseling receives $6.7529 million, and elementary school counselors receive $364,300. Educator funding includes $10,400 for salary adjustments, $2.2334 million for highly needed educator salary supplements, and $856,700 for effective teachers in high-poverty schools. Teacher supplies receive $1.9796 million, professional learning grants receive $21,200, and the Grow Your Own Teacher and Counselor Pipeline receives $3 million. Charter School Local Replacement receives $6.4433 million, and the Charter School Funding Base Program receives $530,100. Digital Teaching and Learning receives $1.9147 million, elementary arts learning receives $832,000, and Teacher and Student Success receives $117,700. These are program allocations, not uniform payments to families or teachers.
Beginning July 1, 2026, emergency funding thresholds fall from 75% and 30 additional English-learning students to 40% and 10. Both increases are measured against a school's previous three-year average; applicants must show substantial need and insufficient existing funds. The State Board can also approve applicants below those thresholds when significant enrollment growth creates substantial need. The program counts enrolled public-school students with interrupted formal education who were not born in any state and have not attended schools in any state for at least two full academic years. Funding comes from unspent at-risk pupil funds, with a $500,000 annual cap. Schools can use it for teacher training, smaller classes, aides, and English-learning resources, but not administration.
For July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, the Voted Local Levy Program receives $11.0175 million. The Board Local Levy Program receives $15.4051 million. These allocations support school district levy programs; they do not specify a household tax change or direct payment.
For July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, Excellence in Education and Leadership funding falls by $45 million. The Teacher Excellence Pilot receives $2.9892 million, and the Self-Government Skills Pilot receives $100,000. Statewide Financial Management Systems Grants receive $1.3962 million. Education operations receive $149,900 for Financial Operations, $635,000 for the Indirect Cost Pool, $426,500 for Data and Statistics, and $100,000 for School Trust.
For July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, fine arts outreach receives $200,000 for Professional Outreach Programs in the Schools. Its Provisional Program receives $70,000. Informal Science Education Enhancement receives $279,000, while the science Provisional Program loses $17,700. For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, the law adds $145,000 for High School Rodeo Athlete and Ambulance Grants.
For July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, Enrollment Growth Contingency funding falls by $19.101 million. Mid and Final Year Distribution Balancing funding falls by $50 million, and Foreign Exchange funding falls by $107,200. Extended-year funding for special educators rises by $25,200. These changes adjust Basic School Program budgets, not direct household payments.
For July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, School Safety and Support grants receive $50 million. The law also provides $2 million for Early Warning, $500,000 for child sexual abuse prevention grants, and $14.4838 million for Utah Fits All scholarships. Funding falls by $50,700 for Autism Awareness, $446,200 for Carson Smith Scholarships, and $4.195 million for Contracts and Grants. UPSTART loses $1,900, and ULEAD loses $47,100; further program increases are listed without amounts in the supplied details. For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, the law adds $4.5818 million for education Contracts and Grants.
Stephen L. Whyte
Republican • House
Heidi Balderree
Republican • Senate
All Roll Calls
Yes: 99 • No: 0
Senate vote • 1/29/2026
Senate/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 1/29/2026
Senate/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 1/29/2026
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Yes: 28 • No: 0
House vote • 1/28/2026
House/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
House vote • 1/28/2026
House/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 71 • No: 0
House vote • 1/26/2026
House/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Governor Signed
House/ to Governor
House/ received enrolled bill from Printing
House/ enrolled bill to Printing
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
Bill Received from House for Enrolling
House/ signed by Speaker/ sent for enrolling
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate/ signed by President/ returned to House
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ uncircled
Senate/ circled
Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced)
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ passed 3rd reading
House/ uncircled
House/ circled
House/ 3rd reading
House/ 2nd reading
House/ lifted from Rules
House/ 1st reading (Introduced)
Enrolled
1/30/2026
Introduced
1/19/2026