All Roll Calls
Yes: 93 • No: 6
Sponsored By: Val L. Peterson (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
27 provisions identified: 23 benefits, 0 costs, 4 mixed.
The law provides $17.4365 million for drinking-water administration, federal drinking-water programs, system assistance, and the revolving fund. A separate drinking-water fund receives $57.0636 million: $50.3086 million in one-time federal funds and $6.755 million in interest income. The water-quality fund receives $16.5431 million: $14.0013 million in one-time federal funds and $2.5418 million in interest income. The law also transfers $6.2 million to the Water Resources Construction Fund. It adds $4.5 million in one-time General Fund money for water infrastructure. These funds support water programs and systems; the provisions do not state changes to household water bills.
The law provides $1.6 million from the Income Tax Fund for Utah National Guard tuition assistance. The funding covers July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. The program serves eligible Utah National Guard members. This provision does not state individual award amounts or detailed eligibility rules.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law directs two business-financing grants for FY 2027. Nucleus Institute receives $500,000 to provide small, non-recourse loans to qualifying businesses. These loans support businesses preparing for future financing from traditional lenders. The Utah Micro Loan Fund receives $200,000 to expand access to startup and early-stage capital. The provisions do not state individual loan amounts, repayment terms, or detailed qualification rules.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law funds business-support grants for FY 2027. Five County Association of Governments receives $175,000 for rural and agricultural businesses' online sales training. Utah Industry Resource Alliance receives $1.4 million to help manufacturers and rural businesses improve operations, revenue, and leadership. Utah Small Business Development Centers receive $798,200 for counseling, business starts, and access to capital. Pete Suazo Center receives $67,500 for entrepreneur education, operating support, and startup help.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law directs a $5 million grant to the Pioneer Trail Foundation for FY 2027. The money supports construction of the Pioneer Trail. The provision does not set user fees or provide direct household payments.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law directs a $2 million grant to Thanksgiving Point for FY 2027. The grant pays for rebuilding and constructing facilities for the Children's Technology and Science Center. It does not provide direct household payments or state changes to admission costs.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law directs a $300,000 grant to Washington County for FY 2027. The grant supports the Route 9 Regional Shuttle Service. The provision does not set fares, require service increases, or establish a direct rider subsidy.
The law directs rural health funding of up to $12.5 million to Public Safety and $11 million to Agriculture and Food. It directs up to $4.2 million to Environmental Quality for arsenic treatment in Ukon Water Company's system. It also directs up to $700,000 for sulfate treatment in Kane County Water Conservancy District's system. All these funds require final approval from the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and must follow its spending guidelines. These allocations do not establish direct household payments or change health coverage eligibility.
For FY 2027, the Department of Agriculture and Food awards $695,300 to the Utah FFA Association. The grant supports an agricultural advisor mentor, membership dues, the Agricultural Experience Tracker, and leadership programs. The money goes to the association for these purposes, not directly to households.
For budget year 2027, the law directs the Utah Sports Commission to give Run Elite an additional $200,000 grant. The money supports Olympic-level athlete development in Utah and program operations.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Insurance Department receives $9 million for its autism coverage program. That amount includes $6.779 million plus $2.221 million in one-time funding from the State Mandated Insurer Payments Restricted Account. The law also transfers $250,000 from the beginning fund balance to the Adult Autism Treatment Account. That account supports treatment for adults who qualify for funded services. These provisions do not set individual awards, change coverage rules, or guarantee treatment access.
The law provides $81.5629 million to the Medicaid ACA Fund. This appropriation supports the fund rather than giving enrollees a direct payment. The provision does not state changes to eligibility, covered services, individual benefits, or household costs.
For budget year 2027, the Utah Association of Counties gets a $500,000 grant for local appraisal work. The law directs the Governor's Office of Planning and Budget to provide the award. It funds appraisal work, not household payments or a stated property tax change.
The law reserves $72,600 from the Unemployment Compensation Fund's administration funding for one-time unemployment insurance system upgrades. The state cannot use this money for other purposes. This rule does not change benefit amounts or who qualifies.
For FY 2027, Dixie Technical College receives $1.248 million, and Mountainland receives $2.3845 million for general programs. Ogden-Weber receives $2.5358 million for general programs. Salt Lake Community College receives $3.4049 million for career training, and Snow College receives $301,600. Southwest Technical College's funding rises by $328,700, after a $55,200 reduction in one-time funding. These funds support college programs; they do not set direct student payments.
Beginning July 1, 2026, Utah Tech receives $700,000 for instruction, including $200,000 in one-time funds. Utah Valley receives $1.168 million: $500,000 for instruction and $668,000 for public service. Weber State receives $1 million for instruction. Southern Utah receives $4.3179 million for general operations, including $550,000 in one-time instruction funding. Snow College's general operating funding rises by $57,900 after funding increases and reductions. Its funding includes $250,000 in one-time money for academic support. These appropriations do not set direct student payments or tuition changes.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Women Tech Council gets a $250,000 grant for budget year 2027. The money supports its operations, education, and career opportunities encouraging women in technology. The law does not set individual payments or eligibility.
Beginning July 1, 2026, $55,200 in Southwest Technical College funding becomes ongoing instead of one-time. The total amount shown does not change. The law does not set a student payment or change student costs.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the University of Utah gets $15 million in one-time Income Tax Fund money. It funds a dedicated artificial intelligence research data center shared by Utah public colleges and researchers. The money must be used equally over three years: $5 million each year. This funds research equipment and facilities, not household payments.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law directs a $1.1 million grant to Weber State University for budget year 2027. The grant supports workforce training with Hill Air Force Base in modern and advanced manufacturing. The law does not set participant payments, training costs, or individual eligibility.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the law directs two economic-development grants for FY 2027. Economic Development Corporation of Utah receives $250,000 to attract businesses and help local businesses. Utah Consular Corps receives $30,000 to support collaboration between business partners and local government. The grants go to these organizations, not directly to households or participating businesses.
USBCI Loan Program funds can remain available after budget year 2027 ends on June 30, 2027. Carried-forward money must still serve the same purpose allowed in that budget year. The law does not state the amount carried forward or change individual loan amounts or terms.
Beginning July 1, 2026, Utah can issue up to $3 million total in Rural Film Incentive Program tax credit certificates. The Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity issues the certificates for eligible program applicants. The law does not state each applicant's credit amount or a formula for calculating it.
For FY 2027, the law provides $5.0719 million in one-time and $9.4216 million in ongoing Phase II homelessness funding. The department can spend these funds only when local governments provide an equal match. The same match requirement applies to homelessness funding for people who frequently use the criminal justice system. Before spending either allocation, the department must report the match and planned uses to the Executive Appropriations Committee. These conditions govern agency spending, not a general payment duty for households.
Beginning July 1, 2026, shelter and housing get $9.4448 million one-time and $2.4942 million ongoing. Homelessness-related mental and behavioral health services get $7.8 million one-time and $1.0769 million ongoing. The state can spend these funds only when local governments provide an equal match. Before spending, the department must report the match and planned uses to the Executive Appropriations Committee. These rules govern state spending, not payments by households.
For budget year 2027, the law allocates $480,000 in federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families funds to St. George Family Shelter operations. The Office of Homeless Services handles the funding. Funds must be available, and Switchpoint Community Resource Center must qualify to receive them. The law does not set a payment to individual families.
For budget year 2027, Salt Lake Community College loses $102.507 million in one-time General Fund money and $2.0975 million in Income Tax Fund money. It gains $102.2795 million in one-time Income Tax Fund money, leaving its Education and General funding down $2.325 million. Beginning July 1, 2026, its tuition-and-fee-funded instruction allocation also drops $511,600. The law makes $227,500 in state funding ongoing instead of one-time. It does not state whether student tuition or services change.
Val L. Peterson
Republican • House
Jerry W Stevenson
Republican • Senate
All Roll Calls
Yes: 93 • No: 6
Senate vote • 3/4/2026
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Yes: 25 • No: 0
Senate vote • 3/4/2026
Senate/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
House vote • 3/3/2026
House/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 68 • No: 6
Senate vote • 3/3/2026
Senate/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Governor Signed
House/ to Governor
House/ received enrolled bill from Printing
House/ enrolled bill to Printing
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
Bill Received from House for Enrolling
House/ signed by Speaker/ sent for enrolling
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate/ signed by President/ returned to House
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ uncircled
Senate/ circled
Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced)
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ passed 3rd reading
House/ 3rd reading
House/ received fiscal note from Fiscal Analyst
House/ 2nd reading
House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar
House/ 1st reading (Introduced)
House/ received bill from Legislative Research
Enrolled
3/13/2026
Introduced
3/1/2026