All Roll Calls
Yes: 96 • No: 1
Sponsored By: Val L. Peterson (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
149 provisions identified: 104 benefits, 27 costs, 18 mixed.
The law lets carried-over state adoption funds pay monthly federal Title IV-E adoption subsidies for certain children. Children must have lacked initial Title IV-E eligibility in foster care and later qualify under exceptions in P.L. 112-34. Spending must support child-welfare services allowed under Title IV-B or Title IV-E and follow Utah's carryover spending rules. The law does not set a monthly payment amount.
Beginning May 7, 2025, the Transportation Investment Fund of 2005 receives a net $152.2998 million allocation after listed adjustments. The Transit Transportation Investment Fund receives $222.466 million from closing fund balance. A specified prior FY 2025 transit investment appropriation also stays available after that fiscal year ends. That carryover can fund only the Transit Transportation Investment program; these provisions do not name specific projects.
The law allocates a one-time $500 million from the Transportation Investment Fund of 2005 to its Capacity Program. Two earlier highway construction appropriations, up to $41 million and $88.5 million, stay available after fiscal year 2025. Utah’s transportation department must use a separately appropriated $40 million to apply for and match a federal rail grant. That money can also fund project design needed to obtain the grant. Before spending state matching money, the department must report to the Executive Appropriations Committee.
The law sets one-time FY2025 allocations of $37.015 million for children’s health insurance and $27.1414 million for Medicaid managed care. Listed Medicaid allocations also include $57.9132 million for hospital services and $222.1363 million for other services. The health department can also use up to $32.7 million in Medicaid stabilization funds and $55.5 million in federal matching funds. This backup money is available only when other non-federal appropriations, combined with federal matching funds, cannot cover appropriate FY2025 claims.
Economic development programs can keep specified money after FY 2025. Economic Prosperity retains up to $50 million for contracts, staff and business services, incentives, grants, growth, strategic initiatives, and systems and controls. The Pass-Through budget retains up to $40 million for contracts and support. The Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity Administration retains up to $2 million for contracts. World Trade Center Utah retains up to $1.8 million for contracts and support.
For FY 2025, Utah cuts one-time funding for local health departments by $90.4501 million. Health promotion and prevention loses $769,400. Communicable disease funding rises by $1.3279 million. These are program funding changes, not direct household payments.
For fiscal year 2025, the law removes CHIP Plan B and Plan C quarterly premiums and related late-payment fees. Families subject to these charges no longer owe them for that period. The text does not give fee amounts.
Alcoholic Beverage Services can keep up to $4.8 million after FY 2025 for two projects. Up to $2.1 million is for E-Commerce, and $2.7 million is for the Transparency Project. Parents Empowered can also keep up to $166,600 only for underage-drinking prevention. These provisions do not specify changes to alcohol prices or consumer access.
After FY 2025, cultural agency carryovers include up to $625,000 for digital, technology, innovation, and State History Museum projects. Separate limits are $1 million for projects, maintenance, events, operations, and outreach; $300,000 for operations, outreach, and reinvestment. Another $650,000 is reserved for America250. Arts and Museums keeps up to $900,000 for outreach, community programs, and grants, plus $200,000 for Milk Money administration, conservation, and art purchases. Existing pass-through funding also continues for contracts and support for Martha Hughes Cannon, Heber Valley Railroad, and Ogden Railroad Authority.
The Indian Affairs Division can keep up to $500,000 in prior General Fund money after FY 2025. Allowed uses include the Bears Ears Cultural/Visitor Center, community engagement, partnerships, and training. Up to an additional $281,000 remains available specifically for the center. The law preserves project support, not direct household payments.
Beginning May 7, 2025, Utah transfers $5 million once from the General Fund to the Colorado River Authority's restricted account. The provision does not name funded activities or promise a direct household service.
Up to $5 million in General Fund money for Correctional Health Services remains available after FY 2025. Allowed costs include medicines, medical supplies and equipment, computer equipment and software, contracted medical care, and staff training. Beginning May 7, 2025, the law also preserves the specified prior Utah Correctional Industries appropriation past FY 2025. Its retained earnings remain available for ongoing operations; no amount is stated.
Judicial Council Administration can keep up to $3.725 million after fiscal year 2025. That includes up to $3.7 million for council-approved one-time expenses and $25,000 for the Wellness Council. Courts can also keep up to $500,000 from Contracts and Leases for one-time facility expenses. Another $800 remains available only for grand jury travel and meetings.
After fiscal year 2025, courts can keep up to $2 million from Jury and Witness Fees for interpretation services. Guardian ad Litem can keep up to $500,000 for special projects, including possible employee incentives. Unspent Juvenile Courts money also remains available for Juvenile Courts. Unspent Law Library revenue from certificates of admission must help pay Courts Self-help Center costs. No dollar amounts are stated for those last two carryovers.
For FY 2025, Indigent Defense Services gets $460,700 in one-time funding from expendable receipts. The Attorney General's Criminal Prosecution program gets a $155,000 one-time revenue transfer. The Prosecution Council gets $71,000: $63,000 in federal funds and $8,000 from expendable receipts. These appropriations fund legal offices, not household payments.
Emergency Management can keep up to $2.5 million after FY 2025 ends. Uses are capped at $600,000 for local disaster funding, $1 million for emergency equipment, and $900,000 for technology upgrades. The money supports agency disaster response, not direct household payments.
Up to $1 million stays available after FY 2025 only for the Uninsured Motorist Database reserve. Highway Safety can also keep up to $400,000 for replacement technology and grant management system upgrades. These provisions do not set new driver fees or duties.
The State Historic Preservation Office can retain up to $1.475 million after FY 2025. This includes $175,000 for the cemeteries program and $500,000 for the human remains program. Another $450,000 supports general operations, application maintenance, projects, and outreach. The remaining $350,000 supports grant-related operations and obligations. Uses remain limited to the listed work, including related contracts, temporary positions, and supplies.
For fiscal year 2025, Utah’s natural resources department must award $972,000 to Hogle Zoo and $36,400 to Zootah. These direct grants go to the zoos, not households.
Justice agencies can retain specified funding after FY 2025. The criminal and juvenile justice commission keeps up to $6.133 million for listed grants, staffing incentives, operations, technology, research, extradition, and legal costs. The Attorney General keeps up to $3 million for Executive Administration; Contract Attorneys keeps up to $6 million for civil litigation payments and costs. Juvenile Justice and Youth Services keeps up to $4.5 million for its original purposes. Those include technology, facilities, pass-through spending, one-time operations, short-term projects and studies, and employee recruitment, retention, and development.
Utah's transportation department can use proceeds from selling land near the Calvin L. Rampton Complex for traffic work. The department must first determine that the land is no longer needed. Proceeds are limited to helping reduce traffic impacts linked to the Taylorsville State Office Building. The law does not require a sale or specify a funding amount.
The Senate and House each get $50,000 in one-time General Fund money for administration. The Capitol Preservation Board gets $120,000 in one-time dedicated revenue for operations. These appropriations support government operations, not direct household benefits.
Utah's transportation department must send Lehi the remaining $2.85 million in FY 2025. It funds study and construction of a local project improving east-west travel near Camp Williams. In FY 2026, Kearns gets $3.2 million from the County of the First Class Highways Projects Fund. That money is only for the 6200 South Sidewalk and Wall Project.
After fiscal year 2025, the State Library can keep up to $1 million for operations, software upkeep, projects, and outreach. Arts grant funds remain available for contracts, Hill Aero Space Museum, Utah Sports Hall of Fame, and Utah Humanities. Capital grant funds remain available for contracts, Golden Spike Monument, and St. George Musical Theater. Heritage funds remain available for contracts, America's Freedom Festival at Provo, Days of 47 Rodeo, Ogden Pioneer Days Miss Rodeo/Cowboy Hall of Fame, and Warriors Over the Wasatch/Hill AFB Show. The Pete Suazo Athletics Commission can keep an additional $300,000 for operations, training, projects, and outreach.
Environmental Quality gets a net $33.4509 million one-time increase for air quality, mainly for planning. The money also supports air program administration, compliance, and permits. Water quality protection and permitting get a net $1.7303 million increase. Environmental cleanup gets a net $1.0671 million increase, including petroleum tank cleanup and federal hazardous-site cleanup work. Agency administration, mainly the executive director's office, gets another net $188,500; these are program funds, not household payments.
For fiscal year 2025, the Uninsured Motorist program gets $500,000 in one-time funding from its restricted account. Highway Safety gets $1.0952 million, including $995,200 in federal money and $100,000 from the motorcycle education fund. The law does not specify new payments or a particular service change for drivers.
The Department of Natural Resources gets $5.1943 million in one-time federal funding for its Cooperative Agreements program. The provision does not establish direct household payments or change eligibility.
For fiscal year 2025, the law adds $200,000 in federal money for basic peace-officer training. It also adds $500,000 in one-time transferred revenue for the Bureau of Criminal Identification's Non-Government/Other Services program. The money supports agency programs, not direct payments to officers or households.
For fiscal year 2025, courts get $3.9879 million in one-time funding from the Court Security Account. The law also adds $450,000 from the General Fund for jury, witness, and interpreter services. It does not set payment amounts for individual jurors, witnesses, or interpreters.
The Department of Natural Resources gets $2 million in one-time dedicated revenue for fire management. The money supports the state program rather than direct household payments.
The Colorado River Authority of Utah gets a net one-time funding increase of $338,000. The law also adds $2.3217 million in one-time federal money for water resources construction. Another $195,300 in one-time federal money supports dam safety. These provisions do not name specific construction projects or dams.
The Division of Outdoor Recreation gets $18.84 million in one-time funding for recreation infrastructure. The package includes $3.39 million from the Outdoor Adventure Infrastructure Restricted Account. It also provides $2.15 million for boating and $13.3 million for off-highway vehicle programs. The money supports recreation facilities, not direct household payments.
The Division of Outdoor Recreation can keep up to $840,000 from its specified 2024 capital appropriation after fiscal year 2025. The money remains available for that capital program rather than expiring.
The Board of Pardons and Parole can keep up to $1.5 million after fiscal year 2025. Uses include approved personnel, technology, facilities, victim notification, evaluations, equipment, and projects. Spending remains subject to the listed purposes and amounts.
The law states legislative intent for Utah’s wildlife agency to make its agreed-upon $1 million payment to the trust lands agency. The payment is intended to preserve public-land access for hunters and other wildlife recreation users.
Police training can keep up to $500,000 after FY 2025: $400,000 for facility repairs and $100,000 for replacement equipment. The Bureau of Criminal Identification can keep up to $2 million. That includes up to $800,000 for licensing equipment and $1.2 million for criminal justice and bureau system upgrades, fixes, and maintenance.
After fiscal year 2025, Corrections can keep up to $10 million for listed equipment, inmate programs, training, maintenance, and recruitment. Jail Contracting can keep up to $5 million for additional inmate housing, treatment, and job training in county jails. A separate county jail reserve can keep up to $2.5 million for inmate housing and treatment above base funding. Each amount remains limited to its approved uses.
The Utah Prosecution Council can keep up to $300,000 after fiscal year 2025. The money can only support training and technical assistance for prosecutors.
The State Auditor gets $127,900 in one-time dedicated revenue for audit operations. State Archives administration gets $71,300 from dedicated revenue. The Office of Data Privacy gets $145,800 from the General Fund. This funding does not establish new privacy rights or direct household payments.
The Utah National Guard gets $1.8 million in one-time federal funding for operations and maintenance. The Department of Veterans and Military Affairs gets $50,000 in one-time General Fund money for Military Affairs. Neither appropriation changes individual military or veteran benefits or eligibility.
Veterans and Military Affairs can keep up to $500,000 after FY 2025 for the Best Defense Foundation. The money remains limited to that foundation. This does not create a direct payment or eligibility right for individual veterans.
Up to $5.1001 million remains available after FY 2025 for Children's Justice Centers. It is limited to funding passed to local centers for operations or one-time operating costs. Another $900,000 remains available for one-time funding passed to domestic violence service providers. These provisions preserve provider funding rather than establish direct household payments.
The Commission on Service and Volunteerism can keep up to $1 million in prior funding after FY 2025. That money is limited to contracts, general operations, community outreach, and programming. Another $3 million remains available for the One Utah Fellowship Program. These carryovers do not create direct household payments or new individual eligibility.
The law states its intent that Wildlife Resources spend up to $400,000 on livestock damage. It also calls for up to $700,000 for big game damage expenses. That amount includes up to $350,000 each from the Wildlife Resources Restricted Account and General Fund. The law does not set individual reimbursement amounts or eligibility rules.
The law states its intent to use up to $1.35 million in General Fund money against Lake Powell's aquatic invasive species. The work must also prevent spread to other Utah waters, with detailed spending records provided on request. It also calls for up to $400,000 in General Fund money for the Great Salt Lake and Utah Lake Waterfowl program. Up to $100,000 from a prior appropriation stays available after FY 2025 only for the Mule Deer Protection Program.
Up to $500,000 in General Fund money remains available after FY 2025 for grants supporting adults with autism. Grant recipients must provide services to adults with autism in Utah. The money goes to service providers, not directly to individuals or families.
Utah can keep up to $557,600 in General Fund money for aging and long-term support services after FY 2025. Allowed uses include equipment, improvements, supplies, incentives, training, special projects, and senior nutrition programs. Money also supports listed client services through Adult Protective Services, the Office of Public Guardian, and the Aging Waiver. The law does not establish direct household payments.
Up to $830,000 in General Fund money remains available after FY2025 for behavioral health loan repayment. The money is limited to the loan repayment program for social services agencies. The law does not set individual awards or repayment terms.
Utah can carry up to $5 million past FY 2025 for listed child and family services, facilities, and computer systems. Some money must support required state spending under the Social Security Act, and spending must follow state carryover rules. Another $700,000 remains available for one-time support for the Foster Children Family Finding Pilot. Up to $500,000 carries into FY 2026 for one-time support for the Regional Forensic Social Work Office project. These amounts preserve program funding, not guaranteed household payments.
The law keeps up to $5.6 million available after fiscal year 2025 to build a children's mental health campus in Utah County. The campus serves young children, families, and community partners with mental health services and added support. Another carryover preserves up to $1 million for early childhood mental health services through Children's Center Utah. These funds support the named projects and do not guarantee individual payments or services.
The State Office of Rehabilitation gets a net $144,700 in one-time funding. This includes $42,500 for Blind and Visually Impaired and $35,800 for Deaf and Hard of Hearing programs. Rehabilitation Services gets $66,400. The law does not set individual service amounts or change eligibility.
Up to $2.7833 million remains available after FY 2025 to expand family home visits through the Division of Family Health. Another $200,000 supports evidence-based nurse home visits for at-risk people, with priority for first-time mothers. Up to $400,000 continues for one-time family health projects. Those projects cover children's special health needs, maternal and child health, early childhood, coordinated care, and regional supports. The law does not set household payments or the number of families served.
After fiscal year 2025, Health and Human Services can keep up to $700,000 for Substance Use and Mental Health office administration. Up to $965,100 remains available only for repairs to the Alano Club building in Murray. Bridle Up Hope funding of up to $300,000 remains available for the use approved in the cited 2024 appropriation. Cherish Families grant funding of up to $390,000 remains available for purposes approved in the cited 2022 and 2024 appropriations. These changes preserve program funding without setting individual payments or eligibility rules.
Utah's Department of Health and Human Services can carry specified General Fund money past FY 2025. Up to $1.5 million is limited to behavioral health internships for social services agencies. Up to $250,000 is reserved for a comprehensive rate review study. Up to $2 million is limited to funds received for the Utah Sustainable Health Collaborative. These carryovers do not set intern payments or change household or provider rates.
Health and Human Services can keep specified General Fund money after FY 2025: $250,000 for the Communication Awareness Pilot Program and $300,000 for bereaved youth resources. It can also keep up to $940,500 for listed department projects. That includes up to $520,000 for technology, facilities, and short-term service improvements or studies. Designated amounts include $200,000 for the vital records portal and $50,000 for specified medical examiner database or health data equipment needs. Another $170,500 supports implementation of the 2024 Data Privacy Amendments.
The State Office of Rehabilitation can keep up to $30,000 in low vision store revenue after fiscal year 2025. The money can only buy items and devices for the store. The law does not set an individual subsidy or payment.
Utah Clinical Services receives a net one-time funding increase of $16.8686 million. The funding covers medical examiner work, state laboratories, primary care, rural health, health equity, medical education, and forensic psychiatry. It does not create a household payment or change individual eligibility.
Utah can keep up to $500,000 after FY 2025 for alcohol, tobacco, and other drug programs. Allowed uses include prevention, reduction, quitting support, and control. A separate $100,000 remains available for urgent public-health surge responses. Another $100,000 supports urgent disease-control needs, including equipment, software, purchases, or services for the Office of Communicable Disease.
Beginning May 7, 2025, the Qualified Patient Enterprise Fund receives $1.291 million. This includes $891,000 in one-time dedicated credits revenue and $400,000 in one-time interest income. The provision does not specify patient payments, eligibility changes, or effects on household costs.
The State Laboratory can keep up to $750,000 in General Fund money after FY2025. The money can pay for laboratory equipment, computers, software, building improvements, or other laboratory needs.
The Governor's Office Suicide Prevention program can keep up to $100,000 after FY 2025. The money must still serve the original appropriations' purposes. The law does not set individual payments or change eligibility.
Health and Human Services can keep up to $200,000 available after fiscal year 2025 for specified torture survivor services. The money supports Advancing Aid Torture Survivors for Utah Health and Human Rights under its prior appropriation. The law does not create a direct payment or state individual eligibility rules.
Up to $3.5 million stays available after fiscal year 2025 for land-use and building-code education. The money supports required outreach through Utah’s Building Inspector Training program. This provision does not change building-code requirements.
Beginning May 7, 2025, Utah makes a one-time $2.5 million transfer to the Pamela Atkinson Homeless Account. The provision adds account funding but does not set service eligibility or individual assistance amounts.
Health and Human Services can keep up to $1.5 million from the Income Tax Fund after fiscal year 2025. The money must implement the Homeless and Vulnerable Populations Amendments in Chapter 204 of the 2024 laws. This preserves implementation funding without creating a household payment or new eligibility rule.
The law keeps up to $7 million available after fiscal year 2025 for Davis Behavioral Health's Mental Health Step Down Housing Project. Health and Human Services must use the money for that previously funded project. This does not create a direct housing payment or an individual right to housing.
Utah’s Office of Homeless Services receives a one-time $25.9068 million appropriation. Separately, up to $45.6 million in earlier shelter and homeless-system funds stays available after fiscal year 2025. Another $1.2 million stays available for one-time emergency shelter costs, including winter overflow. Up to $1.431 million also stays available for homeless data-system improvements and client-level data collection. These earlier funds remain limited to their listed uses; the law sets no household payment amounts.
Housing and Community Development receives a net one-time increase of $33.2721 million. Allocations include $16.2579 million for HEAT utility help, $7.0313 million for weatherization, and $1.4199 million for housing development. They also include $5.4483 million for community development, $399,000 for its administration, and $2.7157 million for community services. Separately, the Olene Walker Low Income Housing program receives $4.05 million in one-time federal funds. These provisions do not set household awards or change eligibility.
The law keeps up to $6.77025 million in specified homeless services funds available after fiscal year 2025. Uses include shelter renovation, low-barrier shelter planning, attainable housing grants, equipment, studies, administration, and training. It also preserves up to $2.5 million solely for deeply affordable housing projects. Another $217,500 remains for listed one-time homeless-system costs, including system development and programming. The funds do not create direct household payments or new eligibility rules.
The Governor’s Office of Economic Opportunity can award UPSTART a direct grant of up to $1.5 million. The money must come from unspent Strategic Initiatives funds allowed to carry forward. The grant supports serving additional children and outreach to explain and promote the program.
Utah’s facilities agency can use up to $2.7 million in one-time public education capital funding to buy land. The land must be next to the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind campus in Salt Lake. The money is limited to that purchase.
The Utah State Office of Rehabilitation can keep up to $9.5 million in specified funding after FY 2025. The money comes from General Fund and Education Fund/Income Tax Fund appropriations. Uses are limited to equipment, software, one-time studies, client-service projects, facility improvements, and locating staff together. The law does not set an individual service amount or entitlement.
One-time funding adds $5,900 from the livestock brand account for brand inspection and $5,900 in dedicated revenue for regulatory administration. Plant Industry gets $417,900 in dedicated revenue for administration and pesticide, feed, fertilizer, and seed programs. Industrial Hemp gets a net $66,500 increase: $600,500 from the Qualified Production Enterprise Fund offsets a $534,000 dedicated-revenue reduction. Beginning May 7, 2025, that enterprise fund also gets $17,900 in one-time dedicated revenue. These appropriations do not establish direct payments or new eligibility rules for farmers or households.
The Office of Artificial Intelligence Policy can keep up to $1.3 million available after fiscal year 2025. The money is limited to continuing office operations. This funding change does not change consumer rights involving artificial intelligence.
The Office of Energy Development gets a net one-time increase of $29.4899 million. Funding sources include $31 million in federal funds and $1 million from closing balances, along with other source adjustments. The provision supports energy-development activities, not direct household payments or a stated change in energy prices.
The Governor's and Lieutenant Governor's offices can keep up to $2.5 million from one appropriation after fiscal year 2025. They can also keep an unstated amount from another appropriation. The Governor's Office of Planning and Budget can keep up to $2 million. All these funds are limited to one-time spending by the named offices.
The Insurance Department can keep up to $500,000 available after fiscal year 2025 for legal costs. The money is limited to services from the Attorney General's Office and outside lawyers.
In fiscal year 2025, the state facilities agency must distribute $7.3 million from the Olympic and Paralympic Venues Grant Fund. Venue renovation grants total $3.8 million for Weber County, $3 million for Provo, and $500,000 for West Valley City. Olympic Park Improvement funds can support Utah Olympic Park, Utah Olympic Oval, or Soldier Hollow Nordic Center.
Beginning May 7, 2025, the Rail Transportation Restricted Account gets $8.1723 million from closing fund balance. The Active Transportation Investment Fund gets a net $930,000. That combines $1 million in interest income with a $70,000 downward closing-balance adjustment. The law does not name specific projects or provide direct household payments.
In fiscal year 2025, the state facilities agency can add up to five vehicles and two full-time-equivalent project management positions. These additions must serve agency customers and fit within existing budgets. The law provides no new appropriation for them.
An ongoing $5 million Information Technology Innovation Fund appropriation can support state human resources system development in fiscal years 2025 and 2026. After fiscal year 2026, it can address rate impacts tied to Internal Service Fund capital investment. The law also increases that fund's capital spending authority, but the amount is not stated.
After fiscal year 2025, Government Operations can keep up to $1.5 million for stated uses. This includes $1 million for general operations, $300,000 for a job-title and classification review consultant, and $200,000 for internal audit. The Career Service Review Office can also keep up to $30,000 for resolving grievances.
Government Operations gets a net $768,400 in one-time funding for its executive director's office. Beginning May 7, 2025, one-time dedicated revenue provides $7.3832 million for fleet operations and $10.3382 million for enterprise technology. It also provides $5.4906 million for human resources field services. Cooperative Contract Management provides $4.194 million for mailing, printing, and state surplus property services. Another $2 million in interest income supports the Capital Insurance Corporation; these appropriations do not create household payments.
Utah's Office of Tourism can keep up to $10 million after FY 2025. The money is limited to contracts, marketing, tourism, and film support. This preserves existing program money rather than creating direct household payments.
Beginning May 7, 2025, the Utah Energy Research Fund receives $2.0101 million in one-time funding. This includes $1.75 million from the General Fund and $260,100 from the Income Tax Fund. The provision does not set energy prices or provide household payments.
Utah's Oil and Gas Program gets a one-time $6.14 million increase for program operations. That includes $6 million in federal money and $140,000 from the restricted Oil, Gas, and Mining fund. The law does not provide direct household payments or specify changes to fuel prices.
The Department of Financial Institutions gets $116,100 once from the Financial Institutions restricted fund for administration. The provision funds agency operations and does not specify household payments or eligibility changes.
Health and Human Services operations get a net $2.2951 million one-time funding increase. Federal funding rises by $4.3821 million, while General Fund support falls by $2.087 million. The net increase supports department operations without changing individual benefit eligibility or creating household payments.
Health and Human Services can keep up to $1.417 million available after fiscal year 2025 for expanded inmate Medicaid coverage. The money must support that coverage. This provision does not state who qualifies or set a benefit amount.
The law keeps up to $9.375 million available after fiscal year 2025 for listed Medicaid technology needs. This covers $6.4 million for the new information system and $500,000 for core application security and backup systems. It also covers $475,000 for unfunded mandates and computer needs, plus $2 million for pharmacy payment technology and related work. A separate Integrated Health Care Services carryover allows up to $500,000 for core Medicaid application security and backup systems. These authorities support administration, not changes to eligibility or benefit amounts.
The law keeps up to $9.5 million in crisis-response account funds available after fiscal year 2025 for legally authorized uses. Health Care Administration also retains up to $1.2572 million for substance use and mental health services, including $782,700 in crisis-response funds. Up to $3 million remains for listed technology, facility, training, and efficiency costs in the substance use and mental health office. Utah State Hospital retains up to $2 million for technology, incentives, facilities, training, audit settlement differences, and efficiency projects. Each amount remains limited to its stated uses.
Workforce Services Operations and Policy receives a net one-time funding increase of $15.274 million. Its schedule covers child care, nutrition, refugee assistance, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, and workforce and trade-related assistance. It also covers eligibility services, facilities, pass-through funding, and information technology. The provision does not set individual benefit amounts or change eligibility.
Health and Human Services retains up to $3.3 million in opioid litigation proceeds after fiscal year 2025. It also retains up to $200,000 from the Tobacco Settlement Account and $150,000 from nicotine-product tax proceeds. Each amount must support uses authorized by the law governing its account. These carryovers do not change nicotine tax rates or create household payments.
The law keeps up to $2.3104 million in prior Operations and Policy funds available after fiscal year 2025. One $1.2 million portion supports specified one-time studies, projects, administration, training, equipment, and software. Another $1.1104 million portion supports listed costs and projects, including the Summer EBT food benefit program. This funding does not set household benefit amounts.
Housing and Community Development retains up to $979,400 in state funds after fiscal year 2025 for listed one-time costs. Up to $300,000 in receipts remains for weatherization, including utility rebates passed through for local-government projects. Up to $3.8116 million in dedicated revenues remains for listed costs, including affordable housing, Private Activity Bond, and Emergency Rental Assistance projects. Another $262,000 remains for one-time projects, including a statewide moderate-income housing database. These funds do not guarantee household assistance or change eligibility.
One-time Dedicated Credits Revenue funding supports career and technical education: $320,000 at Utah State Eastern, $140,000 at Snow, and $240,000 at Salt Lake Community College. Technical college general programs receive $254,200 at Bridgerland, $115,800 at Davis, and $512,500 at Dixie. Ogden-Weber receives $1.1 million, and Southwest receives $270,000 for general programs. These allocations do not specify student payments, tuition changes, or new eligibility rules.
Up to $4 million in earlier General Fund appropriations stays available for the STEM Action Center after fiscal year 2025. The money is for contractual obligations and program support. It does not create direct student payments or eligibility changes.
Up to $500,000 in earlier unemployment program funding stays available after fiscal year 2025. Uses are limited to one-time studies and projects, administration, training, equipment, and software. This does not change individual benefit amounts or eligibility.
The law provides one-time Dedicated Credits Revenue funding to Utah colleges and universities. The University of Utah receives $30.4129 million: $27.2339 million for general programs, $1.1027 million for medicine, and $2.0763 million for dentistry. General programs receive $4.1738 million at Weber State and $4.8373 million at Southern Utah University. They also receive $8.9015 million at Utah Valley University and $445,800 at Salt Lake Community College. Utah State's veterinary program receives $104,100; these allocations do not specify tuition or student-aid changes.
Workforce Services Administration gets a net $699,100 in one-time funding. The money comes through adjustments to federal funds, restricted accounts, revenue transfers, and the Uintah Basin Revitalization Fund. This supports agency operations and does not directly change household benefit amounts or eligibility.
Workforce Services Administration can keep up to $200,000 in prior General Fund money after fiscal year 2025. Uses are limited to one-time studies, projects, administrative costs, training, equipment, and software. This supports agency operations, not larger household benefits.
Beginning May 7, 2025, the State Small Business Credit Initiative Program Fund receives $25.84 million in one-time funding. This includes $24.5 million in federal funds and $1.34 million in dedicated credits revenue. The provision does not set individual business awards, credit terms, or eligibility.
Up to $20 million for Rural Opportunities Grants remains available after FY 2025. The money is limited to contractual obligations and support. The law does not set individual grant amounts or household eligibility rules.
The Tax Commission gets $1 million in one-time funding from the License Plate Restricted Account to make license plates. It also gets a net $450,000 for operations, customer service, and enforcement. That money comes from dedicated revenue and restricted accounts. These funding changes do not change household tax bills or fees.
The Tax Commission can keep up to $1.5 million available after fiscal year 2025. Uses are limited to tax and motor vehicle systems, mailed postcard reminders, fraud and security protections, and legal costs. This does not change household tax rules or create a payment.
The Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services loses $724,100 in one-time Liquor Control Fund support for FY2025 operations. The law does not specify changes to prices or services.
The law reverses ongoing FY2025 funding from the Share the Road Bicycle Support Restricted Account because that account is closing. This removes that funding source for the Share the Road program. The amount is not stated.
Utah's agriculture department can use no more than three vehicles to collect medical cannabis samples. This limits the agency's fleet, not patient eligibility or household payments.
The Department of Cultural and Community Engagement loses $100,000 in one-time General Fund support for Community Arts Outreach. Its pass-through grants also lose $6,000 from the Humanitarian Service Restricted Account. Another $100,000 cut comes from the restricted account supporting community-building through a national professional men’s soccer team.
Driver Services loses $6.7383 million in one-time funding from the Department of Public Safety Restricted Account for FY2025. The law does not specify which services change or whether drivers face different fees.
For FY2025, the law cuts Child Welfare Parental Defense funding by $9,000 in one-time revenue transfers. It also cuts Guardian ad Litem funding by $18,900 in one-time General Fund money. The provisions do not specify changes to eligibility, legal rights, or services.
For FY2025, General Fund support falls by $1.5 million for Utah State Correctional Facility operations. Jail contracting loses $531,800, and the Governor’s Office jail reimbursement program loses $300,000. Board of Pardons and Parole operations also lose $300,000. These funding cuts do not change individual sentences or parole status.
The law cuts one-time General Fund support for the Utah Water Agent by $500,000. The Department of Natural Resources’ Project Management program loses $700,000. Administration of the Public Lands Policy Coordinating Office loses another $100,000. The provisions do not specify resulting service changes.
The law cuts FY2025 General Fund support for Peace Officers’ Standards and Training administration by $100,000. It does not specify changes to officer training services.
The Division of Outdoor Recreation’s boating program loses $850,000 in one-time funding from the Boating restricted fund. The law does not specify changes to boating services or fees.
The Utah Redistricting Commission loses $2.5 million in one-time General Fund support. The law does not specify changes to individual voting rights or obligations.
The Department of Environmental Quality loses $107,900 in one-time revenue transfers for drinking-water programs. These include Safe Drinking Water Act work, system assistance, and the State Revolving Fund. Waste management and radiation control programs lose a net $491,200 in one-time funding. The affected programs cover hazardous and solid waste, radiation, low-level radioactive waste, WIPP, used oil, and X-rays.
Beginning May 7, 2025, the Statewide Behavioral Health Crisis Response Account receives $1.2107 million less in one-time transfers. The provision does not specify changes to crisis services, eligibility, or household costs.
Beginning May 7, 2025, the Medicaid ACA Fund’s net allocation falls by $2.2682 million. This reflects one-time revenue, interest, and closing-balance adjustments. The provision itself does not change Medicaid eligibility, covered services, or individual benefit amounts.
The Labor Commission’s Workplace Safety program loses $27,000 in one-time funding from the Workplace Safety Account. The law does not specify changes to workers’ safety rights or benefits.
The Department of Agriculture and Food loses $495,000 in one-time administrative funding. That includes $90,000 in federal funds, $360,000 in dedicated revenue, and $45,000 in revenue transfers. Grazing Improvement Program Administration loses another $383,500 in one-time revenue transfers. The Analytical Laboratory also loses a net $425,000 across federal funds, dedicated revenue, and transfers.
Beginning May 7, 2025, the Alternative Eligibility Account receives $3.5178 million less in a one-time General Fund transfer. The provision does not identify the households served or change stated eligibility rules.
Beginning May 7, 2025, the Firefighters Retirement Trust and Agency Fund receives $5 million less in a one-time General Fund transfer. The law does not change individual firefighter retirement benefits or eligibility.
Effective May 7, 2025, state property risk management loses $15.559 million in one-time premium funding. This changes funding for a state operation, not household insurance premiums. The law does not specify resulting changes to household costs or services.
Effective May 7, 2025, the State Infrastructure Bank Fund’s allocation from closing fund balance falls by $11.9499 million. The Cottonwood Canyon Transportation Investment Fund’s allocation from closing fund balance falls by $21 million. That fund also shifts $20 million from designated sales-tax funding to restricted revenue, with no net change from that swap. The law does not identify affected projects.
The law cuts World Trade Center Utah’s General Fund support by $100,000 for FY2025. It does not specify a direct household payment or benefit change.
The law reduces General Assistance’s one-time revenue-transfer appropriation by $1,600. It does not specify a change to anyone’s benefit amount or eligibility.
The law cuts the Property Tax Deferral program’s one-time revenue-transfer appropriation by $8 million. This reduces program funding, not a stated amount of tax relief for each homeowner. The provision does not specify eligibility changes.
Beginning May 7, 2025, the Education Savings Incentive Restricted Account receives $675,500 less in a one-time transfer. The transfer comes from the Income Tax Fund. The provision does not specify changes to individual incentives, eligibility, or household tax bills.
Utah’s Unemployment Insurance appropriation falls by $994,400. The cut includes $108,900 for claim decisions and $885,500 for administration. This provision does not change benefit amounts or eligibility.
The STEM Action Center’s one-time federal funding falls by $497,900. The provision does not identify specific changes to student services or eligibility.
One-time dedicated-credits funding falls by $6.053 million at Utah State University and $640,000 at Snow College. It also falls by $1.0541 million at Utah Tech University and $13,700 at Uintah Basin Technical College. These cuts apply to education and general programs. Beginning May 7, 2025, the one-time Income Tax Fund transfer to the Performance Funding Restricted Account also falls by $1.721 million. The provisions do not specify tuition changes, student aid cuts, or which services absorb the reductions.
The law moves $147,500 within the State Historic Preservation Office from Administration to the Cemeteries program. Cemeteries gain funding, while Administration loses the same amount.
The Department of Cultural and Community Engagement receives $350,000 in one-time General Fund support for Administrative Services. The Utah Multicultural Affairs Office loses $7,500 in funding from the Martin Luther King Jr. Civil Rights Support Restricted Account. These are agency budget changes, not direct household payments.
Utah Historical Society revenue-transfer allocations add $287,900 for Administration and $1.2997 million for Library and Collections. They reduce Historic Preservation and Antiquities by $300,000 and the State of Utah Museum by $1.5876 million. Separately, up to an additional $5.6 million remains available after FY 2025 for new State History Museum construction, facilities, and artifacts. Up to an additional $750,000 continues for operations, projects, and community outreach. The new museum's opening is projected for FY 2026, not guaranteed by this funding.
For FY 2025, Utah adds $925,500 for department grants, $1.95 million for fire operations, and $1 million for highway patrol field operations. Patrol technology gets $2.2316 million, while the Aero Bureau loses $250,000 and the commissioner's office loses $22,400. Up to $10 million stays available after FY 2025, including $2.5 million for early intervention and $4 million for mental health grants. Remaining carryover uses include listed programs, technology, scholarships, and trooper equipment. Public Safety can also buy vehicles in FY 2025 with available funds, capped at new officers or vehicles authorized and funded for FY 2026.
State parks get $1.5108 million in one-time funding from the State Park Fees Restricted Account. Of that, $1.0108 million is reserved for maintaining and improving state golf courses. Park capital programs also gain $678,000 from the Outdoor Adventure Infrastructure Restricted Account but lose $500,000 in park-fee funding. That leaves capital programs with a net increase of $178,000; these provisions do not set new visitor fees.
Beginning in fiscal year 2026, Utah’s agriculture department must reimburse the Qualified Production Enterprise Fund $600,500. The money comes from the Cannabinoid Proceeds Restricted Account. This moves money between public funds, not directly to households.
Agriculture conservation programs get a net $22,000 one-time increase from dedicated revenue. Conservation Districts gain $10,000, and Easements and Loan Projects gain $25,000. Soil Health funding falls by $13,000. The law does not set new household payments or eligibility rules.
The Agriculture Water Optimization Committee must recommend investment levels for every irrigation method or project type. Its recommendations must cover all designated project money not already committed. The committee must present them to the appropriations subcommittee by June 1, 2025. This adds funding guidance and a reporting duty, not new grant amounts.
The law redirects $400,000 previously set aside for rural Utah electric vehicle charging infrastructure. Of that, $150,000 pays for study requirements in the 2024 S.B. 161. Another $250,000 studies global natural gas marketing through the Western State Tribal Nation Gas Initiative. The studies gain funding, while rural charging infrastructure loses that allocation.
Beginning May 7, 2025, the law moves $48.488 million from state accounts and saved balances into the General Fund. Sources include $27 million from the American Rescue Plan Act Administrative Fund and $8 million from property-tax-deferral balances. Contract management supplies $2.5 million; Attorney General contract-attorney balances supply $1 million; emergency and disaster management balances supply $1.692 million. Natural-resource sources include $1.5 million from agricultural water optimization and $46,000 from the alternative-fuel grant fund. Energy development supplies $1.75 million, and Colorado River Authority balances supply $5 million. These transfers reduce source balances but do not change property-tax-deferral eligibility or impose a new household tax.
For FY 2025, the Office of Tourism gains $400,000 in dedicated credits revenue. General Fund support falls by $28,800. The Tourism program's net funding increase is $371,200, with no direct household payment specified.
Fiscal year 2025 one-time funding provides $10.781 million for Services for People with Disabilities. It also provides $17.2791 million for Disabilities—Other Waiver Services. The law cuts Community Supports Waiver Services by $4.7756 million and the Utah State Developmental Center by $78,400. Remaining state savings from enhanced American Rescue Plan Medicaid matching funds stay available after fiscal year 2025. Those savings must fund expenses in the federally approved home- and community-based services spending plan; no remaining amount is stated.
For fiscal year 2025, the law cuts one-time Integrated Health Care Administration funding by $11.029 million. It adds $5.1574 million for Substance Use and Mental Health Administration and $3.1239 million for Seeded Services. It also adds $101,100 for Medicaid's Provider Reimbursement Information System. Smaller increases provide $11,600 for Long-Term Services and Supports Administration and $2,400 for Aging and Adult Services Administration. These allocations do not set individual benefits or eligibility.
Health and Human Services oversight gains $77,500 in one-time General Fund money and $2.7648 million in dedicated revenue. Federal funding falls by $188,200. After fiscal year 2025, up to $655,000 remains available for facility reviews, licensing, background-processing systems, and approved technology, facility, and efficiency costs. Another $500,000 in General Fund money remains available for Medical Examiner autopsy equipment, computers, software, or building improvements.
For fiscal year 2025, Workforce Services can spend all available Medicaid ACA Fund money, even above its appropriation. Spending needs Health and Human Services approval and must follow the fund's law. The law also removes an earlier Medicaid claims backup authority covering up to $31.2 million plus federal matching funds. That removed authority applied when other fiscal year 2025 appropriations were insufficient to pay claims. Neither change itself alters individual Medicaid eligibility or benefits.
For FY 2025, the law reduces the Incentives and Grants budget by $2 million. It increases Strategic Initiatives by $2.15 million. That increase includes $150,000 in added Dedicated Credits Revenue. These changes shift state economic development funding, not direct household payments.
The Utah Innovation Lab gets $10 million once from the Utah Capital Investment Restricted Account. For FY 2025, Economic Opportunity's Pass-Through program gains $4 million in federal funds but loses $250,000 in General Fund support. Its net increase is $3.75 million. The office's administration also gets $228,800 more from the General Fund. These provisions do not set household payments or eligibility.
Val L. Peterson
Republican • House
Jerry W Stevenson
Republican • Senate
All Roll Calls
Yes: 96 • No: 1
Senate vote • 3/5/2025
Senate/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 3/5/2025
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Yes: 23 • No: 1
House vote • 3/4/2025
House/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 73 • No: 0
Senate vote • 3/4/2025
Senate/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • Unknown
Senate/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • Unknown
Senate/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Governor Line Item Veto
House/ to Governor
House/ received enrolled bill from Printing
House/ enrolled bill to Printing
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
Bill Received from House for Enrolling
House/ signed by Speaker/ sent for enrolling
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate/ signed by President/ returned to House
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ uncircled
Senate/ circled
Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced)
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ passed 3rd reading
House/ 3rd reading
House/ received fiscal note from Fiscal Analyst
House/ 2nd reading
House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar
House/ 1st reading (Introduced)
House/ received bill from Legislative Research
Enrolled
3/13/2025
Introduced
3/2/2025