All Roll Calls
Yes: 216 • No: 3
Sponsored By: Kay J. Christofferson (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
15 provisions identified: 4 benefits, 9 costs, 2 mixed.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the state cannot charge its cost-recovery fee for reordering a special-group plate symbol decal. The same fee prohibition applies to replacement symbol decals. The law does not state the former fee amounts.
Beginning July 1, 2026, owners can request replacements for plates made unreadable by fading, peeling, or discoloration. A replacement fee applies, but the state waives it when it finds a manufacturing defect. Plates at least five years old are presumed not to have damage from a manufacturing defect. Replacements get a new, unique number unless owners apply and pay for a personalized replacement matching the old plate.
Beginning July 1, 2026, an institution can sponsor one plate for academic scholarships and another for college sports. It only needs to satisfy the specified application requirements once to create more than one plate.
Beginning May 6, 2026, first- and second-class counties can use corridor funds to preserve regionally significant walking and biking rights-of-way. Those routes must appear in the regional transportation plan. Counties charging a corridor fee can redirect funds when no significant locally owned corridor acquisitions are needed over 20 years. The metropolitan planning organization must agree, and both bodies must review the regional plan at least every four years. Allowed uses include all road classes, streets and connected structures, safety features, walking and biking facilities, multimodal travel, transit, and parking structures. Funds can also cover transportation capital construction, debt service, bond issuance costs, operations, and maintenance.
Beginning May 6, 2026, clean-fuel decals no longer let drivers use carpool lanes regardless of passenger count. The law repeals the clean-fuel decal statute. It also removes transportation officials' authority to allow decal-based access or raise the decal limit. These changes do not establish a replacement decal program or a new charge.
Beginning July 1, 2026, Utah plates must have a raised outer edge, but flat numbers and letters. The state issues one registration decal showing both month and year. Drivers must display it in the plate's upper-right corner. Plate frames cannot cover the state name, plate numbers or letters, or registration decals. The design change does not require replacing existing plates or state a new fee.
Beginning July 1, 2025, historical support plate applicants pay a one-time $25 contribution. Vintage vehicles are exempt. Of each contribution, $2 goes to the Utah State Historical Society. The remaining $23 goes to the Transportation Investment Fund of 2005.
Beginning July 1, 2026, applicants for new sponsored plates pay service fees for startup, programming, and design work. Plates with fewer than 250 users also carry a service fee for issuance and administration. That small-group fee is included in the contribution required to obtain or renew the plate. The law does not state the fee amounts. It directs new-plate service fees to the License Plate Restricted Account, whose statute it also repeals May 6, 2026.
Beginning January 1, 2026, enrolled vehicle owners and lessees pay 1.25 cents per mile. Charges are capped at $180 per annual registration period or $139 for six months. Beginning January 1, 2027, the rate becomes 1.5 cents, with caps of $280 annually or $216 for six months. Starting in 2027, the State Tax Commission can set different rates by alternative-fuel vehicle type after consulting transportation officials. Annual inflation-based adjustments begin in 2028.
Beginning May 6, 2026, transportation officials must coordinate with a large public transit district on revenue-generating services. These include leasing connected with transit facilities and services serving the Cottonwood Canyons area of Salt Lake County. The law does not specify revenue amounts or changes to fares or transit service.
Beginning May 6, 2026, cities and counties cannot exercise authority over land needed for state-supervised commuter rail construction. The restriction lasts through project completion, including warranty and hidden-defect work. Afterward, local governments retain their otherwise lawful authority over completed related parking and maintenance facilities. That authority does not cover the rail or station platform.
Beginning May 6, 2026, qualifying transportation safety reports and data are protected from court-ordered disclosure. They cannot be admitted as evidence in state or federal court. They also cannot be used for another purpose in damages cases involving locations they describe. Protection covers records gathered under specified federal or state safety laws for crash sites, hazardous roads, rail crossings, or road and rail safety projects.
Beginning July 1, 2026, a three-member Design Review Board approves plate designs and selects available standard designs. The governor and legislative leaders appoint members; all three must attend plate votes, and designs must meet state standards. Special-group plates follow uniform standards, except historical support and classic support plates. Driver license and ID design approval requirements begin May 6, 2026. Beginning July 1, 2026, the State Tax Commission must hire a qualified designer, with sponsor assistance available on request. The law directs designer funding from the License Plate Restricted Account but repeals its statute May 6, 2026, without specifying remaining funds' destination.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the state discontinues sponsored plate types with fewer than 50 registrations for two consecutive calendar years. This replaces the former threshold of fewer than 500 registrations for three years and removes the state agency recognition exception. Discontinuance starts 90 days after the annual review. Current owners can renew discontinued plates without a sponsor contribution, but cannot transfer them to a new owner.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the state keeps a free interest list after a sponsor applies for a new plate. Joining requires a driver's license number or business tax ID, vehicle identification number, and other requested information. The state shares participants' contact information with the sponsor and cannot begin design or production until 250 people join. Issuance also requires a private donation or legislative funding covering production and administrative startup costs, but not new symbol decals. The state can retain Transportation Fund money for one-time list and programming costs.
Kay J. Christofferson
Republican • House
Wayne A. Harper
Republican • Senate
All Roll Calls
Yes: 216 • No: 3
Senate vote • 3/6/2026
Senate Conference Committee - Final Passage
Yes: 27 • No: 0
House vote • 3/6/2026
House Motion to Adopt Joint Conference Comm Rpt
Yes: 0 • No: 0
House vote • 3/6/2026
House Conference Committee - Final Passage
Yes: 64 • No: 1
Senate vote • 3/6/2026
Senate/ refused to recede from Senate amendments
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 3/6/2026
Senate/ substituted
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 3/6/2026
Senate Motion to Adopt Joint Conference Comm Rpt
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 3/6/2026
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Yes: 26 • No: 1
House vote • 3/6/2026
House/ refuse to concur with Senate amendment
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/24/2026
Senate Comm - Amendment Recommendation
Yes: 5 • No: 1
Senate vote • 2/24/2026
Senate Comm - Favorable Recommendation
Yes: 6 • No: 0
House vote • 2/19/2026
House/ substituted
Yes: 0 • No: 0
House vote • 2/19/2026
House/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 68 • No: 0
House vote • 2/11/2026
House Comm - Substitute Recommendation
Yes: 10 • No: 0
House vote • 2/11/2026
House Comm - Favorable Recommendation
Yes: 10 • No: 0
Governor Signed
House/ to Governor
House/ received enrolled bill from Printing
House/ enrolled bill to Printing
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
Bill Received from House for Enrolling
House/ signed by Speaker/ sent for enrolling
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate/ signed by President/ returned to House
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House Conference Committee - Final Passage
House Motion to Adopt Joint Conference Comm Rpt
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate Conference Committee - Final Passage
Senate Motion to Adopt Joint Conference Comm Rpt
Senate/ received from House
Conference Committee Report
Bill Substituted by Conference Committee
House/ to Senate
House Conference Committee Appointed
House/ received from Senate
Enrolled
3/12/2026
Substitute #4
3/6/2026
Substitute #5
3/6/2026
Substitute #3
3/5/2026
Amended 2/25/2026 10:02:267
2/25/2026
Substitute #2
2/19/2026
Substitute #1
2/10/2026
Introduced
2/4/2026