All Roll Calls
Yes: 98 • No: 0
Sponsored By: Stewart E. Barlow (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
39 provisions identified: 20 benefits, 4 costs, 15 mixed.
For FY2026, farm conservation funding rises by a net $10.3238 million. Water quantity gains $11.0433 million, while conservation districts lose $137,100 and water quality loses $1.2716 million. Administration gains $34,000, soil health gains $94,000, salinity gains $79,100, and easements and loans gain $482,100. Beginning May 6, 2026, the law allows up to $118.1616 million in earlier funds to carry forward after FY2026. Uses are capped, including $115.3508 million for agricultural water optimization and $2.1208 million for Ag. VIP projects.
The law provides $40 million from the Long-term Capital Projects Fund only to acquire water rights for Great Salt Lake. That money stays available after fiscal year 2026. Private contributions received for purchases financed with this money must return to the same state fund. The commissioner's office also keeps up to $16.4166 million after fiscal year 2026 for listed lake investments and planning. Those funds cover specified uses and amounts, including water leasing and seed money for water savings.
The Division of Finance must move fiscal year 2026 balances from three accounts into the Utah Wildfire Fund. They are the Wildland Fire Suppression Fund and Wildland Fire Preparedness Grants Fund. The third is the Wildland-urban Interface Prevention, Preparedness, and Mitigation Fund. Transfers must follow H.B. 307 from the 2025 legislative session. The law does not specify the amounts transferred.
The law directs up to $1.35 million in Wildlife Resources General Fund money to contain invasive water species at Lake Powell. The work also aims to prevent their spread to other Utah waters. Separately, up to $4 million in General Fund money stays available after fiscal year 2026 only for quagga treatment tanks.
The law directs $1 million from the State Parks General Fund budget to This Is the Place Heritage Park. That money is only for maintaining state-owned buildings and artifacts. It also allocates $7.76 million in existing Transient Room/Resort Tax revenue to the Outdoor Recreation Mitigation Grant Fund. The grant-fund provision does not identify recipients or eligible projects. These allocations do not establish direct household payments.
The law directs a $1 million payment from Wildlife Resources to the School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration. The payment requires mutual agreement and supports land access for hunters and wildlife recreation. Outdoor Recreation also keeps up to $350,000 after fiscal year 2026 solely for Bear Lake improvements.
For FY2027, the law provides $10.3947 million for Natural Resources administration. This covers administrative services, the executive director, lake commissions, law enforcement, and public information. Bear Lake Commission receives a $45,000 General Fund grant and a $55,000 Sovereign Lands Management Account grant. Both grants support natural resource management and coordination, and Idaho must match the funds.
For FY2027, the Colorado River Authority of Utah receives $5.2929 million. Sources include federal funds, its restricted account, revenue transfers, and earlier unspent balances. The Utah Water Agent receives a net $1 million appropriation. Its budget also records $2 million in beginning unspent funds and an offsetting $2 million closing-balance transfer. These funds support state water management, not direct household payments.
The law provides a net $4.0383 million budget adjustment for the Utah Wildfire Fund. Sources include the General Fund, mineral bonus revenue, and earlier wildfire prevention, preparedness, grants, and suppression funds. For FY2027, July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the fund receives $11.0693 million: $10 million from the General Fund and $1.0693 million from mineral bonus revenue. Forestry, Fire, and State Lands also receives $82.755 million for FY2027 administration, fire management and suppression, forests, lands, Lone Peak Center, and project delivery. These appropriations support state work, not household payments or promised insurance savings.
The Utah Geological Survey keeps up to $3.65 million available after fiscal year 2026. Spending remains limited to listed purposes and amounts. These include Bonneville Salt Flats restoration, critical mineral studies, geothermal mapping, and grant matching money. Listed equipment, software, supplies, training, and incentives are also allowed.
The Public Lands Policy Coordinating Office keeps up to $3.92 million available after fiscal year 2026. The money is limited to listed purposes and amounts, including legal services, lawsuits, and public lands planning. It also supports listed wild horse and burro management work.
The law states legislative intent for Wildlife Resources to spend up to $400,000 on livestock damage. It preserves up to $700,000 after fiscal year 2026 only for big game damage expenses. That includes up to $350,000 each from the Wildlife Resources Restricted Account and the General Fund. Another $300,000 stays available only to carry out the Predator Control Program Plan. These provisions do not set individual payment amounts or guarantee reimbursement.
For FY2027, the law provides $11.191 million for the Watershed Restoration Initiative. Sources include the General Fund, dedicated revenue, designated sales tax, and earlier unspent balances. The money supports watershed restoration. The provision does not provide direct household payments or create new household eligibility rules.
For FY2027, the law provides direct-award grants of $972,000 to Hogle Zoo and $36,400 to Zootah. Both grants are for general operations. The money goes to the zoos, not households. The law does not specify admission-price changes.
After fiscal year 2026, up to $5 million stays available for Watershed Restoration Initiative projects contracted during that year. Wildlife Resources also keeps up to $200,000 in General Fund money for waterbird expenses at Great Salt Lake and Utah Lake. Up to $599,400 in wildlife capital funding stays available for Utah hatchery operations and maintenance. Each amount remains limited to its stated purpose.
The law keeps up to $63.145 million available after fiscal year 2026 for listed water projects, including reservoirs and metering. It also preserves up to $8.7383 million for listed water-rights work, including groundwater studies, measurement, and data systems. Another $2 million stays available only to explore and negotiate possible water-importation projects, not to guarantee new supplies. These carryover funds remain limited to the listed uses and amounts. The Colorado River Authority of Utah also gets $1.9561 million more for fiscal year 2026.
The law moves $50 million from the restricted water infrastructure account into the Water Resources Conservation and Development Fund. It also moves $3.8 million from that conservation and development fund into the Water Resources Construction Fund. These transfers provide money for state water funding programs. The provisions do not name projects, provide household aid, or set water rates.
For FY2026, the law adds $270,000 to the Industrial Hemp program and $9,800 to agriculture laboratory funding. The laboratory can retain up to $20,000 in earlier funds after FY2026. That money is limited to $10,000 for training and incentives and $10,000 for equipment and supplies. These are agency funds, not individual grants or household payments.
The School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration keeps up to $4.3 million available after fiscal year 2026. The money can fund only its Land Management Business System upgrade. This preserves funding for an agency technology project, not household payments.
For FY2027, the law provides $25.433 million for Oil, Gas, and Mining. The money supports abandoned mines, administration, the board, coal, minerals reclamation, and oil and gas programs. This funds state operations rather than direct household payments. The provision does not set new individual eligibility rules.
The Office of Energy Development keeps up to $17.515 million available after fiscal year 2026. The money remains limited to listed purposes and amounts. These include administration, research, rural electric vehicle charging, grid resilience, and nuclear energy. The law does not state a household energy-bill reduction.
The agriculture department's Medical Cannabis program faces a fleet limit based on the establishments it inspects. It can have no more than one vehicle for every six licensed establishments requiring inspection. One additional vehicle is allowed for office staff. This limits the state program, not patients' vehicle use.
For FY2026, the law cuts the Utah Water Agent's allocation by $1 million. The provision does not identify which household services change. It does not change individual eligibility or specify a household financial amount.
For FY2026, the law cuts Oil, Gas, and Mining funding by $4.5681 million. The board loses $250,000, the coal program loses $400,000, and minerals reclamation loses $500,000. Another $3.4181 million comes from a reduction in the program's unspent-funds allocation. The provision does not establish new household payments or duties.
The law cuts $100,000 from Utah's Veterinarian Education Loan Repayment Program for fiscal year 2026. It does not specify changes to borrower eligibility, individual repayment amounts, or loan terms.
For FY2026, cleanup administration loses $219,400, federal-site cleanup loses $589,800, tank assistance loses $157,300, tank cleanup loses $343,100, and tank compliance loses $249,000. Hazardous waste loses $304,700, solid waste loses $69,000, radiation loses $90,800, low-level radioactive waste loses $134,000, and used oil loses $51,500. Cleanup programs can retain up to $1.06 million after FY2026: $30,000 for equipment, $1 million for tank and federal-site cleanup databases, and $30,000 for tank certification. Waste and radiation programs can retain up to $650,000 for listed uses, including $350,000 for database replacement and programming. These funding changes do not establish new household payments or duties.
For FY2026, environmental agency administration loses $1.5798 million, and laboratory services loses $352,800. Administration can retain up to $1.3 million in earlier funds after FY2026. Uses are limited to an administrative law judge ($150,000), buildings and maintenance ($640,000), a document database ($500,000), and high-level nuclear waste opposition ($10,000). Laboratory services can retain up to $250,000 for testing and equipment. The law does not specify household payments or changes in testing access.
For FY2026, Forestry, Fire, and State Lands funding falls by a net $47.0452 million. Fire suppression emergencies lose $26.2898 million, lands management loses $1.5349 million, and project management loses $21.8234 million. Lone Peak Center gains $2.5942 million, and program delivery gains $8,700. Up to $34 million in earlier funds remains available after FY2026 for listed land, lake, restoration, fire, and access projects. Each listed use is subject to its spending cap.
For FY2026, the law cuts the Natural Resources executive director program by $2.2596 million. Up to $785,000 in earlier funds remains available after FY2026. Limited uses include contingencies, public lands funding changes, software, hardware, supplies, and a water infrastructure funding study. Each use is subject to its listed cap.
For FY2026, the law cuts the Trip Reduction Program by $23,200. It also allows up to $23,200 in earlier funds to remain available after FY2026. That money is only for free-fare days in the Utah Transit Authority's Trip Reduction Program. The law does not create a general right to free transit or set free-fare dates.
For FY2026, the law cuts air-quality planning by $6.9619 million, compliance by $287,000, and permitting by $261,300. The total cut is $7.5102 million. Up to $4.9459 million in earlier funds remains available after FY2026. That money is limited to listed air projects, equipment, monitoring, and fee-related work, with caps on each use. The law does not set a direct household charge.
For FY2026, Utah Geological Survey funding falls by a net $3.65 million. Administration loses $833,900, energy and minerals loses $2.3899 million, and geologic hazards loses $239,300. Mapping loses $172,300, groundwater loses $222,800, and technical services loses $242,400. Geologic information and outreach gains $450,600. The law does not specify a direct household payment.
For FY2026, drinking-water administration loses $250,000 and system assistance loses $50,000. Water-quality support loses $748,100, protection loses $766,800, and permits lose $100,700. Drinking-water programs can retain $300,000 after FY2026: $250,000 for databases and technology and $50,000 for water-use projects. Water-quality programs can retain up to $1.6149 million, including $830,000 for databases and permit tracking and $400,000 for temporary staff and studies. Remaining listed uses cover outreach, Great Salt Lake revisions, scientific reviews, monitoring, and Utah Inland Port monitoring; no household water-rate change is specified.
For FY2026, Species Protection loses $1 million, and Natural Resources pass-through funding loses $6.0074 million. Species Protection can retain up to $1 million after FY2026, only for program projects. Pass-through funding can retain up to $4.6164 million. That amount is limited to $250,000 for state wolf management and $4.3664 million for Utah Lake projects. These are project funds, not household payments.
For fiscal year 2026, regulatory administration gains $295,600, while bedding and upholstery funding falls $84,000. Weights and measures loses $515,000; food inspection loses $164,500; dairy inspection loses $29,200. Together, those changes reduce funding by $497,100. After fiscal year 2026, up to $300,000 stays available: $50,000 for equipment and supplies, and $250,000 for technology upgrades. Another $20,000 in prior agriculture department funding stays available only for building operations.
For FY2026, animal health loses $348,500, auction veterinarians lose $700, and meat inspection loses $214,900. Plant administration loses $374,900, grain testing loses $97,700, pesticides lose $147,600, and feed, fertilizer, and seed lose $100,000; organics gains $24,700. After FY2026, animal programs can retain up to $450,000: $25,000 for training and incentives, $50,000 for equipment and supplies, $350,000 for IT, and $25,000 for projects and studies. Plant programs can retain up to $400,000: $25,000 for training and incentives, $50,000 for equipment and supplies, $300,000 for IT, and $25,000 for projects or studies. These changes do not specify new inspection levels or fees.
For FY2026, agriculture administration loses a net $231,900, and marketing and development loses $399,500. Administration can retain up to $250,000 after FY2026: $50,000 for training and incentives, $50,000 for equipment, $100,000 for projects, and $50,000 for sponsorships. Marketing can retain up to $300,000: $50,000 for training and incentives, $200,000 for grants, and $50,000 for Utah's Own membership system upgrades. The law does not set individual grant amounts or household eligibility.
For FY2026, invasive species mitigation loses $272,200, and predatory animal control loses $297,600. Earlier funds remain available after FY2026, with separate caps. Invasive species programs can retain up to $200,000 for mitigation projects. Predatory animal control can retain up to $250,000 for equipment. The law does not specify changes in control activities or producer payments.
For FY2026, the law adds $4.6322 million to rangeland improvement projects. It cuts grazing program administration by $813,400. Together, these changes increase funding by $3.8188 million. The law does not set individual payments or new eligibility rules.
Stewart E. Barlow
Republican • House
David P. Hinkins
Republican • Senate
All Roll Calls
Yes: 98 • No: 0
Senate vote • 1/29/2026
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Yes: 27 • No: 0
House vote • 1/28/2026
House/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 71 • No: 0
House vote • 1/28/2026
House/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
House vote • 1/28/2026
House/ substituted
Yes: 0 • No: 0
House vote • 1/26/2026
House/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Governor Signed
House/ to Governor
House/ received enrolled bill from Printing
House/ enrolled bill to Printing
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
Bill Received from House for Enrolling
House/ signed by Speaker/ sent for enrolling
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate/ signed by President/ returned to House
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced)
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ passed 3rd reading
House/ substituted
House/ uncircled
House/ circled
House/ 3rd reading
House/ 2nd reading
House/ lifted from Rules
House/ 1st reading (Introduced)
Enrolled
1/29/2026
Substitute #1
1/27/2026
Introduced
1/16/2026