UtahH.B. 5972026 General SessionHouseWALLET

Alcohol Amendments

Sponsored By: Burton, Jefferson S.

Signed by Governor

BusinessAlcoholDepartment of Alcoholic Beverage Services

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

15 provisions identified: 8 benefits, 2 costs, 5 mixed.

Violation histories can block alcohol licenses

Beginning May 6, 2026, the commission can deny retail licenses, conditional retail licenses, or sublicenses based on an applicant's violation history. It can also deny applications based on the listed legal review factors. It must treat substantially similar histories and apply those factors consistently. A denied applicant cannot operate under the requested license.

Restaurants and reception centers face food tests

Beginning May 6, 2026, full-service, limited-service, and beer-only restaurants and reception centers face a 70% food-sales revenue rule. They also meet the compliance test when annual markup cost is no more than 30% of food revenue plus markup cost. The calculation divides annual markup cost by annual gross food-sales revenue plus annual markup cost. For reception centers, these tests replace the former limit on the share of receipts from alcohol sales.

Patrons can carry drinks between venues

Beginning May 6, 2026, you can carry a drink from a bar to an adjacent restaurant with the same owner. The venues must be no more than 35 feet apart. A bar employee must escort you. You cannot enter, cross, or otherwise use a public walkway while carrying the drink.

Alcohol businesses gain easier storage rules

Beginning May 6, 2026, retail licensees no longer must keep liquor storage areas locked under the repealed requirement. On-premise banquet and reception center licensees can return saleable opened and unused alcohol to approved storage. They can also return alcohol in unopened containers. These return-to-storage rules do not require the approved area to be locked.

Event organizers get simpler location approvals

Beginning May 6, 2026, event permittees must apply for and receive the director's approval before moving alcohol activity to another location. This covers storage, sales, furnishing alcohol, and allowing consumption away from the location on the permit. The specified subcommittee approval step is removed.

Restaurants and hotels gain location exceptions

Beginning May 6, 2026, Utah can license restaurants and hotels despite usual distance rules when local consent expressly authorizes the proximity. The exception does not apply near a school or church, and hotels must meet remaining license and bar-sublicense requirements. The local authority must hold a public meeting at least 30 days before consent; restaurant cases must allow public comment. The Point of the Mountain State Land Authority now counts as a local authority within its jurisdiction. When it handles either exception, the municipality must hold a separate meeting before the authority's meeting.

Smaller hotels can qualify for licensing

Utah lowers the hotel room requirement from 40 rooms to at least 30 for alcohol-license purposes. Hotels must still provide paid temporary lodging and be able to host conventions, conferences, and contracted food and beverage functions. They must also meet one of the listed kitchen or function-space requirements.

Some packaged drinks avoid metered pouring

Covered sellers can serve qualifying spirituous drinks without a calibrated metered dispensing system. Drinks must be 12 ounces or less, with no more than 10% alcohol by volume or 8% by weight. The front label must show alcohol by volume in lettering at least three millimeters high. The exception covers service in original containers, which need not remain sealed, and pouring from original sealed containers into another container. Drinks covered by the original-container exception are exempt from the existing 2.5-ounce patron limit.

Alcohol discipline requires consultation before delay

Beginning May 6, 2026, Utah's alcohol department can hold off starting discipline to avoid significant interference with a criminal or civil case. Before deciding, it must consult the prosecutor, law enforcement, or the plaintiff's lawyer, as applicable. Its other grounds for not starting discipline remain unchanged.

Alcohol warning signs update health contacts

Required alcohol warning signs now direct questions to the Utah Department of Health and Human Services. State stores must display the sign. Package agencies must display it when liquor is displayed or stored where the public can see it.

Wine subscribers pay a minimum markup

Utah's wine subscription program uses a separate pricing rule instead of the general liquor markup rule. The state must add at least 88.5% above the subscription cost for the interval when it buys the wine. The law does not state whether this raises prices compared with the prior rule.

Alcohol buyers face revised ID checks

A valid foreign driver license with a birth date and photo now counts as proof of age. Covered restaurants check people who appear 35 or younger in dispensing areas; checks also cover bar or tavern entry and covered off-premise beer purchases. Checks must confirm age 21 or older and a matching photo; Utah licenses must also show no alcohol-purchase ban. Beginning May 6, 2026, a separate general pre-sale ID-check duty ends, but sales to minors and known interdicted people remain banned. The electronic program no longer must recognize every state's hidden ID security features, and dining clubs leave the covered-licensee definition.

Cash alcohol totals can be rounded

Cash liquor totals can be rounded up or down to the nearest five cents when needed to make exact change. Sellers must apply taxes before rounding. This applies to state stores, package agencies, retail licensees, and permittees, including single-event permittees. The rounding exception does not remove the applicable commission-fixed-price rules.

Reception center licenses get a population cap

Beginning May 6, 2026, Utah sets the reception center license cap at state population divided by 251,693, plus four. The commission can issue licenses within that limit but cannot exceed it. The input does not state the prior cap or how many licenses are already issued.

Some malt drinks count as liquor

Utah classifies qualifying malt-based drinks as heavy beer, which it regulates as liquor. The definition covers listed alcohol-content or flavoring-agent criteria and products with labels or packaging rejected under the cited law. Certain product categories are excluded. Sellers must use this classification when handling the affected products.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • Burton, Jefferson S.

    Affiliation unavailable

Cosponsors

  • Jerry W Stevenson

    Republican • Senate

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 190 • No: 5

House vote • 3/5/2026

House/ concurs with Senate amendment

Yes: 67 • No: 2

Senate vote • 3/4/2026

Senate Comm - Favorable Recommendation

Yes: 5 • No: 0

Senate vote • 3/4/2026

Senate/ floor amendment

Yes: 0 • No: 0

Senate vote • 3/4/2026

Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension

Yes: 29 • No: 0

Senate vote • 3/4/2026

Senate Comm - Substitute Recommendation

Yes: 4 • No: 0

House vote • 3/3/2026

House/ passed 3rd reading

Yes: 65 • No: 3

House vote • 2/27/2026

House Comm - Amendment Recommendation

Yes: 10 • No: 0

House vote • 2/27/2026

House Comm - Favorable Recommendation

Yes: 10 • No: 0

Actions Timeline

  1. Governor Signed

    3/13/2026
  2. House/ to Governor

    3/12/2026House
  3. House/ received enrolled bill from Printing

    3/12/2026House
  4. House/ enrolled bill to Printing

    3/6/2026House
  5. Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate

    3/6/2026
  6. Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared

    3/6/2026
  7. Bill Received from House for Enrolling

    3/6/2026
  8. House/ signed by Speaker/ sent for enrolling

    3/5/2026House
  9. House/ received from Senate

    3/5/2026House
  10. Senate/ to House

    3/5/2026Senate
  11. Senate/ signed by President/ returned to House

    3/5/2026Senate
  12. Senate/ received from House

    3/5/2026Senate
  13. House/ to Senate

    3/5/2026House
  14. House/ concurs with Senate amendment

    3/5/2026House
  15. House/ placed on Concurrence Calendar

    3/5/2026House
  16. House/ received from Senate

    3/5/2026House
  17. Senate/ to House with amendments

    3/4/2026Senate
  18. Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension

    3/4/2026Senate
  19. Senate/ floor amendment

    3/4/2026Senate
  20. Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension

    3/4/2026Senate
  21. Senate/ Rules to 2nd Reading Calendar

    3/4/2026Senate
  22. Senate/ 2nd Reading Calendar to Rules

    3/4/2026Senate
  23. Senate/ placed on 2nd Reading Calendar

    3/4/2026Senate
  24. Senate/ comm rpt/ substituted

    3/4/2026Senate
  25. Senate Comm - Favorable Recommendation

    3/4/2026

Bill Text

  • Enrolled

    3/6/2026

  • Amended 3/4/2026 20:03:657

    3/4/2026

  • Substitute #1

    3/4/2026

  • Amended 3/2/2026 11:03:931

    3/2/2026

  • Introduced

    2/24/2026

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation