UtahH.B. 62026 General SessionHouse

Criminal Justice Base Budget

Sponsored By: Gwynn, Matthew H.

Signed by Governor

Public Funds and AccountsPublic BudgetingEmergency ManagementHealth and Human ServicesPeace OfficersJudicial AdministrationDepartment of CorrectionsCourtsJudicial OperationsLaw Enforcement and Criminal JusticeUtah Highway PatrolLegislative OperationsBoard of Pardons and ParolePublic SafetyDepartment of Public SafetyGovernment Operations (State Issues)Income TaxRevenue and TaxationDriver LicenseMotor VehiclesTransportationAppropriationsIndigent CounselTobacco and Other Nicotine ProductsState Officers and EmployeesAttorney GeneralCommission on Criminal and Juvenile JusticeConstitutional OfficersElectronic CigarettesPeace Officer Standards and TrainingBureau of Criminal IdentificationCorrectional Facilities

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

36 provisions identified: 25 benefits, 6 costs, 5 mixed.

Utah funds courts and courthouse security

For fiscal year 2027, Utah provides about $171.47 million for court administration, courts, and related programs. Separate funding provides about $23.28 million for contracts and leases, $17 million for court security, and $800 for called grand juries. The law also adds about $4.03 million for court operations in fiscal year 2026. Court contracts and leases receive another $500,000 that year.

Utah funds prisons and corrections staff

For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, Utah provides about $223.2 million for prison operations. Corrections administration and training receive about $56.6 million. The law also adds $86,900 for Utah Correctional Industries in fiscal year 2026. These funds support state programs, not household payments.

Utah funds probation and parole services

For fiscal year 2027, Adult Probation and Parole receives about $91.96 million for community supervision. The Board of Pardons and Parole receives about $8.74 million for operations. The law also adds $414,800 for board operations in fiscal year 2026. These appropriations do not change anyone’s parole eligibility or status.

Utah funds factual innocence payments

The law adds $95,000 for Factual Innocence Payments in fiscal year 2026. It also provides another $69,100 from carried-over balances for July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. The money supports payments to people who qualify for the program. These provisions do not state individual payment amounts or eligibility rules.

Utah funds juror and witness payments

Utah courts receive about $4.84 million for jury, witness, and interpreter fees in fiscal year 2027. The law also adds $468,400 for these services in fiscal year 2026. The funding supports payments to people participating in court proceedings. The provisions do not state individual payment rates.

Utah funds justice centers for children

Utah’s Children’s Justice Centers receive about $10.21 million for July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. The money supports services for children and families. Up to $1 million appropriated in fiscal year 2025 also remains available after fiscal year 2026 for local centers. These provisions do not set household payment amounts or specify changes to center services.

Corrections keeps funds for inmate support

Corrections can keep specified fiscal year 2025 funds available after fiscal year 2026. Caps are $500,000 for Corrections Administration, $2.5 million for Adult Probation and Parole, and $3 million for Prison Operations. Those funds are limited to equipment, inmate support, training, and facility improvements. Re-Entry and Rehabilitation can keep up to $4 million for equipment, inmate support, facility improvements, and officer recruitment.

County jails keep housing and treatment funds

Up to $5 million in fiscal year 2025 Jail Contracting funds stays available after fiscal year 2026. Uses are limited to inmate housing, treatment, and job training at county jails. Up to $2.5 million in the county contracting reserve also stays available for inmate housing and treatment. For fiscal year 2027, July 1, 2026–June 30, 2027, the reserve uses $2.5 million in opening carryover funds. The law makes an equal $2.5 million closing-balance adjustment; this is not a separate household payment.

Courts keep funds for one-time projects

Utah courts can keep specified fiscal year 2025 money available after fiscal year 2026. Up to $3.2 million covers Judicial Council one-time costs, including technology, employee recruitment and retention, and Utah code purchases. Up to $25,000 is for Wellness Council carryover, and $500,000 is for one-time court facility expenses. Guardian ad Litem can keep another $500,000 for special projects, including possible employee incentives.

Courts keep money for interpretation services

Utah courts can keep up to $2 million from fiscal year 2025 available after fiscal year 2026. The money comes from the Jury and Witness Fees budget and is limited to court interpretation services. This preserves funds for people who need interpretation in court.

Criminal identification bureau keeps upgrade funds

The Bureau of Criminal Identification can keep up to $3 million from fiscal year 2025 available after fiscal year 2026. Limits are $500,000 for overtime and other operating costs, $1 million for licensing equipment, and $1.5 million for system upgrades. The upgrades include Utah's criminal justice information system. This money supports bureau operations, not direct household payments.

Emergency management keeps disaster response funds

Utah Emergency Management can keep up to $2.5 million from fiscal year 2025 available after fiscal year 2026. Limits are $600,000 for local disaster funding, $1 million for emergency equipment and supplies, and $900,000 for technology and computers. These funds support local disaster needs and emergency management operations.

Highway safety keeps technology upgrade funds

Utah's Highway Safety program can keep up to $400,000 from fiscal year 2025 available after fiscal year 2026. Uses are limited to technology replacements, grant management system upgrades, and one-time costs that grant funds do not allow. The money supports program operations, not direct household payments.

More time for state legal spending

The Attorney General can keep using up to $2 million from fiscal year 2025 after fiscal year 2026. That Contract Attorneys money is limited to civil litigation. The Prosecution Council can also keep up to $300,000 from fiscal year 2025 for prosecutor training and technical help. These rules extend the time to spend existing funds, rather than creating household payments.

Police training keeps repair and equipment funds

Utah's peace officer training program can keep up to $500,000 from fiscal year 2025 available after fiscal year 2026. Up to $400,000 is limited to gun range and training facility repairs. Up to $100,000 is limited to replacement laptops, printers, and other equipment.

Public safety keeps grant and equipment funds

Public Safety can keep up to $12 million from fiscal year 2025 available after fiscal year 2026. Listed uses include early intervention grants, fair park and downtown cleanup, and HUB or other technology projects. The law also preserves money for specified scholarship and grant carryovers, mental health grants, and trooper equipment. This extends existing funding rather than creating a direct household payment.

State money supports county jail costs

For fiscal year 2027, Utah provides about $59.97 million for state contracts with jails. A separate jail reimbursement program receives about $20.43 million. That includes about $20.01 million from the General Fund and $412,900 carried over from earlier funding. The money goes to eligible entities, not directly to households.

Uninsured motorist database keeps reserve money

The Driver License program can keep up to $1 million from fiscal year 2025 available after fiscal year 2026. The money is limited to a reserve for the Uninsured Motorist Database. This does not create a direct household payment or change eligibility.

Utah funds emergency and disaster response

The law adds about $19.53 million for Utah Emergency Management in fiscal year 2026. For fiscal year 2027, it provides $10 million for the emergency and disaster management division. The money supports state preparedness and response work. These provisions do not create direct household payments or individual eligibility rules.

Utah funds lawyers representing children

Utah’s Guardian ad Litem program receives about $12.91 million for fiscal year 2027. The program represents children in covered court proceedings. The law also adds $77,800 for fiscal year 2026. These appropriations fund legal representation, not direct payments to families.

Utah funds legal defense services

For fiscal year 2027, Utah provides about $11.68 million for legal defense services. Indigent Defense Services receives $9.3246 million, and Indigent Appellate Defense receives $2.0876 million. The Child Welfare Parental Defense Program receives $265,200. The law funds services for eligible people without changing who qualifies.

Utah funds state lawyers and prosecutions

For fiscal year 2027, Utah provides about $47.24 million for Attorney General operations, criminal prosecution, and the Solicitor General. Separate funding provides $2 million for contract attorneys and $1.8461 million for the Prosecution Council. Up to $5 million appropriated in fiscal year 2025 remains available after fiscal year 2026 only to speed casework. The law also adds $8,000 for the Crime and Violence Prevention Fund in fiscal year 2026.

Utah funds treatment and reentry services

For fiscal year 2027, Utah provides about $73.68 million for reentry, treatment, college education, and related administration. These programs serve people in state custody or returning to the community. The law also adds about $26.39 million in fiscal year 2026. That includes $25.5774 million for treatment, $346,000 for reentry, $99,400 for education, and $369,700 for administration.

Utah funds victim services and grants

For fiscal year 2027, Utah provides about $52.77 million for criminal and juvenile justice programs. This includes about $27.87 million for the Utah Office for Victims of Crime, plus grants, extraditions, and commissions. For fiscal year 2026, the law adds $42,700 for the Sentencing Commission and about $1.08 million from the Justice Assistance Grant Fund. These provisions do not set individual grant or payment amounts.

Utah adds money for employment incentives

The law transfers $1.5 million to the Employment Incentive Restricted Account for fiscal year 2026. This funds the account rather than establishing an individual payment. The provision does not identify who receives assistance, its form, or how much anyone receives.

Driver license services receive less funding

For fiscal year 2026, the law cuts Driver License Administration funding by $1.1025 million. It also cuts Driver Records by $312,400 and Driver Services by $852,500. These changes cover July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The law does not set a new household charge or specify service changes.

Less funding for children's justice centers

The law cuts Children's Justice Centers funding by $869,000 for fiscal year 2026. That budget year runs from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. These centers serve children involved in abuse cases. The law does not specify changes to families' access or services.

Less funding for indigent defense

The law cuts Office of Indigent Defense Services funding by $283,400 for fiscal year 2026. That year runs from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. These services support eligible people facing criminal proceedings. The law does not specify changes to eligibility or service levels.

Less funding for state legal work

For fiscal year 2026, the law cuts Attorney General Administration funding by $1.83 million and Criminal Prosecution by $1.4741 million. It cuts Solicitor General funding by $437,800, Contract Attorneys by $675,000, and the Prosecution Council by $621,700. These changes cover July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The law does not specify resulting changes to legal services or household costs.

Less state funding for jail contracts

The law cuts Corrections Jail Contracting funding by $2.1179 million for fiscal year 2026. That year runs from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The reduction affects state funding for jail contracts. The law does not specify changes to county jail services or household costs.

Hourly prices set for state lawyers

For fiscal year 2026, Attorney General internal services charge $163 per hour for co-located attorneys and $168 for office attorneys. Paralegals cost $76 per hour when co-located and $79 when based in the office. Investigators are billed at actual cost. These rates cover July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, and are not direct household charges.

Police training budgets fall and rise

For fiscal year 2026, the law cuts Basic Training funding for Utah peace officers by $40,900. It adds $500 for training administration and $100 for regional and in-service training. These changes cover July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The law does not specify resulting changes to training services.

Prison and corrections budgets shift

For fiscal year 2026, July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026, Corrections Administrative Services loses $1.2086 million. The Executive Director gains $2.3039 million, and Department Training gains $1.1507 million. The law separately cuts Utah State Correctional Facility prison funding by $4.5 million and $1.725 million. Central Utah/Gunnison gains $2.1801 million, Inmate Placement gains $406,000, and Prison Operations Administration gains $923,400. The law does not specify resulting service changes.

Probation programs lose funding; administration gains

For fiscal year 2026, the law cuts Adult Probation and Parole program funding by $29.2294 million. It adds $236,700 for Administration. These changes cover July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The law does not specify resulting changes to probation or parole services.

State legal divisions gain and lose

The law shifts Attorney General internal service funding for fiscal year 2026, July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The Civil Division loses $67,000, and the Child Protection Division loses $1.5778 million. The Criminal Division gains $594,700. These are agency budget changes, not payments to households.

Utah shifts money across safety programs

For fiscal year 2026, Utah adds a net $13.5559 million across listed public safety operations. This includes $11.5152 million for the Commissioner’s Office and $803,100 for Highway Patrol field operations, but cuts an investigations allocation by $16,300. The Bureau of Criminal Identification receives $2 million: $5,200 for law enforcement services and $1.9948 million for other services. Separate additions provide $771,500 for highway safety and $1.3 million for alcohol law enforcement.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • Gwynn, Matthew H.

    Affiliation unavailable

Cosponsors

  • Brady Brammer

    Republican • Senate

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 100 • No: 0

Senate vote • 1/29/2026

Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension

Yes: 26 • No: 0

House vote • 1/28/2026

House/ passed 3rd reading

Yes: 74 • No: 0

House vote • 1/28/2026

House/ uncircled

Yes: 0 • No: 0

House vote • 1/26/2026

House/ circled

Yes: 0 • No: 0

Actions Timeline

  1. Governor Signed

    1/31/2026
  2. House/ to Governor

    1/30/2026House
  3. House/ received enrolled bill from Printing

    1/30/2026House
  4. House/ enrolled bill to Printing

    1/30/2026House
  5. Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate

    1/30/2026
  6. Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared

    1/29/2026
  7. Bill Received from House for Enrolling

    1/29/2026
  8. House/ signed by Speaker/ sent for enrolling

    1/29/2026House
  9. House/ received from Senate

    1/29/2026House
  10. Senate/ to House

    1/29/2026Senate
  11. Senate/ signed by President/ returned to House

    1/29/2026Senate
  12. Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension

    1/29/2026Senate
  13. Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension

    1/29/2026Senate
  14. Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced)

    1/28/2026Senate
  15. Senate/ received from House

    1/28/2026Senate
  16. House/ to Senate

    1/28/2026House
  17. House/ passed 3rd reading

    1/28/2026House
  18. House/ uncircled

    1/28/2026House
  19. House/ circled

    1/26/2026House
  20. House/ 3rd reading

    1/26/2026House
  21. House/ 2nd reading

    1/26/2026House
  22. House/ lifted from Rules

    1/26/2026House
  23. House/ 1st reading (Introduced)

    1/20/2026House
  24. House/ received fiscal note from Fiscal Analyst

    1/20/2026House
  25. House/ received bill from Legislative Research

    1/20/2026House

Bill Text

  • Enrolled

    1/30/2026

  • Introduced

    1/16/2026

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation