All Roll Calls
Yes: 160 • No: 1
Sponsored By: Todd Weiler (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
21 provisions identified: 5 benefits, 10 costs, 6 mixed.
The division can issue citations with fines up to $1,000 for a first offense and $2,000 for a second. A later continuing violation can bring fines up to $2,000 per day. Recipients have 20 days after service to request a hearing; the division may extend that deadline for cause. Otherwise, citations become final, and noncompliance can lead to collection and action against a license. Citations cannot issue more than one year after a violation report; fines support division work through dedicated General Fund credits.
Beginning September 1, 2026, investigators cannot practice without a required license or exemption, obtain licenses through fraud, or hire unlicensed investigators. The law bars government impersonation and violating or helping violate laws, court orders, or injunctions during regulated work. It also bars falsified evidence, unauthorized business names, and paid client referrals to attorneys. Investigators must protect client information, cooperate with requested records access, and honor agreed services. An investigator who withdraws from a case must return money for unfinished work.
Beginning September 1, 2026, most bail-license applicants and applicable agency qualifiers must be at least 21, meet residency rules, and pass background checks. Listed convictions, supervision statuses, outstanding warrants, chapter violations, and peace-officer employment disqualify applicants; licenses elsewhere must be in good standing. Enforcement agents need 2,000 documented qualifying work hours; recovery agents need 1,000 hours from recovery, licensed apprentice, or law enforcement work. Agents must pay application fees and maintain surety bonds, whose issuers must report cancellation or expiration. Agency qualifiers listed on their agency's bond can use that bond; fee and bond amounts are not stated.
Beginning September 1, 2026, investigator registrants and apprentices must work as employees or contractors under a licensed agency agent's supervision. Registrants need 2,000 experience hours, including at least 1,000 within the past 10 years. Apprentices must be at least 18 and have no minimum experience requirement. Both groups must meet general licensing rules and pay application fees; registrants must also maintain a surety bond. The law does not state the fee or bond amounts.
Beginning September 1, 2026, private investigator agent applicants must meet licensing and exam requirements, pay an application fee, and maintain a surety bond. The department sets the fee; division rules set the bond amount. Agents need 5,000 qualifying experience hours; registrants need 2,000, including 1,000 from the prior 10 years. Apprentices need no experience hours. Applicants must prove their experience, and the division may check or reject it. Another person's written certification may be considered when employer certification is unavailable. Agents need an agency license to work independently or supervise or employ investigators; they may also work under a licensed agent's supervision.
Beginning September 1, 2026, regulated private investigation work requires an agent, registrant, or apprentice license, unless a legal exception applies. Agents and registrants must be at least 21 and meet citizenship or legal-residency requirements. Applicants must provide fingerprints, pass background checks, and meet criminal-history and conduct rules. Applicants licensed elsewhere must be in good standing there. New agents need 5,000 hours of qualifying experience and must pass an exam; the law does not state exam costs.
Beginning September 1, 2026, agency qualifiers share legal responsibility with licensees and can be held fully responsible for violations. Bail enforcement licensees cannot imply government ties without written government authorization and may possess only approved badge designs. Badge display must follow the law's clothing and identification-card requirements. Licensees must identify themselves to police at the first opportunity; after an immediate capture, they must promptly add required identifying clothing or a badge. Sureties surrendering defendants under the covered procedure must also follow Utah's Bail Bond Licensing Act.
Beginning September 1, 2026, covered bail work requires an agency, enforcement agent, recovery agent, or recovery apprentice license unless exempt. Bail agencies must apply, pay a department-set fee, and keep required liability insurance, workers' compensation coverage, and business registrations. Each agency must name a Utah-resident enforcement or recovery agent licensed in good standing to oversee daily operations. That person's primary job must be with the agency, and they cannot qualify or work for another agency. Applications need a signed statement about the criminal and supervision status of listed owners, officers, trustees, and responsible managers. If the qualifying agent stops regularly doing the job, the agency must notify the division in writing within 15 days. It must replace that person within 60 days after giving notice.
The law replaces older investigator and bail-recovery licensing laws with new frameworks run by Utah's Division of Professional Licensing. On September 1, 2026, valid old investigator licenses count as matching new licenses, and holders must follow the new rules. Covered investigator and bail applicants must submit fingerprints, consent to state and federal checks, and pay processing fees. These checks cover initial applications, renewals, reinstatements, relicensing, and recertification. Beginning September 1, 2026, the Bureau of Criminal Identification loses its old licensing-fee authority; this does not establish lower total costs.
Beginning September 1, 2026, a licensed investigator agent in good standing can apply to run an agency. The agent cannot be a government employee or have conflicting activities. Applicants must show business registrations, general liability insurance, and workers' compensation coverage for employees. Agencies may hire or contract with licensed agents, registrants, and apprentices, and hire other staff. The agency license cannot transfer to another agent and expires when its controlling agent's license expires.
Beginning September 1, 2026, qualifying federal personnel can perform covered private investigation work without a Utah license. This covers armed forces, Public Health Service, Veterans Affairs, and other federal agency personnel. The work must be part of their federal job. They must hold a valid occupational license from a jurisdiction recognized by the Utah Department of Commerce.
Beginning September 1, 2026, the licensing division may create waivers for investigator experience requirements and bail-agent training or experience requirements. Applicants may qualify through an accredited criminal justice bachelor's degree, Utah peace officer basic training, or proven similar training or experience. Waivers can cover some or all of the requirements. They are not automatic: the division must first adopt rules allowing them.
Beginning September 1, 2026, bail enforcement licensees must identify themselves when taking authorized action. For searches or apprehensions in occupied buildings, they must notify local police beforehand when possible, and always within four hours afterward. Before entering an occupied building to make an arrest, agents must verbally tell police their location and planned action. Licensees must carry written proof and reasons for their actions and show them to police on request.
Beginning September 1, 2026, investigators lose the stalking-law exemption for conduct that can justify denying their license. Jail release court orders also count as protective orders under vehicle-tracking rules. The narrowed tracking exception requires a licensed investigator, a legitimate business purpose, and a protected operator living with the vehicle's owner or lessee. Before installation under that exception, investigators must request a state check confirming the owner or lessee and a resident are not protected. The state discloses only whether named people are protected; investigators must disclose the device's purpose to the licensing division on request.
Beginning September 1, 2026, bail recovery apprentices must be at least 18, meet general licensing rules, and pay an application fee. Applicants must name the bail agency that employs and supervises them. Apprentices must be employees of licensed enforcement or recovery agents and follow division supervision rules. They cannot advertise, serve the public directly, or hire agents or apprentices. They may wear clothing identifying them as enforcement or recovery agents; the law does not state the application fee.
Beginning September 1, 2026, bail-license applicants must complete at least 16 hours of approved initial training. Training covers searches, arrests, pursuit, transport, occupied-building entry, legal duties, people's rights, and ethics. Licensees carrying firearms for this work must hold a valid Utah concealed-weapon license and complete at least 16 hours of firearms training. Bail licensees also need at least eight hours of continuing education before renewal. The law does not state training costs.
For renewals on or after May 6, 2027, private investigator licensees must complete at least 16 hours of continuing instruction. The licensing division and board define the required instruction. Beginning September 1, 2026, the division may charge to review out-of-state education for approval. That fee is limited to the division's review time; the law does not state course costs or fee amounts.
Beginning September 1, 2026, licensed investigator agents, registrants, and apprentices can serve papers issued by Utah courts. They no longer need visible credentials, but must say they are acting as process servers. Their name and license number must appear on the first page of every document served. Charges above the legal service rate can be recovered as lawsuit costs only when the court finds the service and charge justified.
Beginning September 1, 2026, the division issues investigator licensees identification cards at no charge. Licensees must carry them during regulated work, show their license to police or division staff on request, and return cards within five days after licensing ends. Agency workers must identify their agency and controlling agent when asked by the property holder where they work. The division and board must also set operating standards covering uniforms, badges, insignia, titles, and work-related claims.
Beginning September 1, 2026, specified investigator violations or failure to obey a final citation are class A misdemeanors. Maximum fines are $1,000 for a first offense, $2,000 for a second, and $2,000 per day for a later continuing offense. The division can immediately suspend a license for a reasonable ongoing public safety threat and order violations to stop. Fine revenue goes to the General Fund as money reserved for division use. With Security Services Licensing Board agreement, money collected under the chapter can fund licensee and public education, training, investigations, and enforcement legal help.
Beginning September 1, 2026, the Security Services Licensing Board includes one licensed private investigator and one investigation agency owner. With board agreement, the director may use covered licensing collections for public and licensee training, investigations, and related legal representation. The law sets no spending amount. State law also replaces local licensing, training, and regulation rules for covered investigator and bail activities. On July 1, 2029, the bail enforcement board's founding law ends; the supplied text does not identify replacement oversight.
Todd Weiler
Republican • Senate
Clancy, Tyler
Affiliation unavailable
All Roll Calls
Yes: 160 • No: 1
House vote • 3/6/2026
House/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 60 • No: 1
Senate vote • 3/6/2026
Senate/ concurs with House amendment
Yes: 27 • No: 0
House vote • 2/26/2026
House Comm - Substitute Recommendation
Yes: 9 • No: 0
House vote • 2/26/2026
House Comm - Favorable Recommendation
Yes: 9 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/18/2026
Senate/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 24 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/18/2026
Senate/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/17/2026
Senate/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/17/2026
Senate/ substituted
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/17/2026
Senate/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/11/2026
Senate/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/10/2026
Senate/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/10/2026
Senate/ passed 2nd reading
Yes: 25 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/6/2026
Senate/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 1/26/2026
Senate Comm - Favorable Recommendation
Yes: 6 • No: 0
Governor Signed
Senate/ to Governor
Senate/ received enrolled bill from Printing
Senate/ enrolled bill to Printing
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
Bill Received from Senate for Enrolling
Senate/ signed by President/ sent for enrolling
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ signed by Speaker/ returned to Senate
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate/ concurs with House amendment
Senate/ placed on Concurrence Calendar
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ passed 3rd reading
House/ 3rd reading
House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar
House/ 3rd Reading Calendar to Rules
House/ 2nd reading
House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar
House/ return to Rules due to fiscal impact
House/ comm rpt/ substituted
Enrolled
3/12/2026
Substitute #2
2/23/2026
Substitute #1
2/13/2026
Introduced
1/16/2026