All Roll Calls
Yes: 96 • No: 2
Sponsored By: Jerry W Stevenson (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
90 provisions identified: 61 benefits, 13 costs, 16 mixed.
Utah can use carried-over state adoption funds for more qualifying children. Children must have been in foster care without initially qualifying for federal Title IV-E aid. They must later qualify for federal adoption assistance under the exceptions in P.L. 112-34. Spending must support child welfare services allowed under Title IV-B or Title IV-E and Utah's carryover rules. The law sets no individual subsidy amount.
Up to $1.86 million stays available after fiscal year 2026 to expand family home visitation services. Another $200,000 supports evidence-based nurse home visits for at-risk people, with priority for first-time mothers. Up to $400,000 remains for one-time projects serving mothers, children with special health needs, early childhood, and coordinated care. These funds do not guarantee each family a service or payment.
Beginning May 6, 2026, the law adds $25 million in one-time federal spending authority for the USBCI Loan Program. This authority applies to fiscal year 2026, and funds can remain available in fiscal year 2027 for the same purpose. The program supports small-business financing. The law does not set individual loan amounts, rates, or borrower eligibility rules.
Beginning May 6, 2026, the law provides $29.2547 million to the Medicaid ACA Fund. It also transfers $30 million from the General Fund to the Medicaid Growth Reduction and Budget Stabilization Account. For fiscal year 2026 claims, DHHS can use up to $30 million from the Medicaid Budget Stabilization Restricted Account. It can also use up to $50.94 million in related federal matching funds. This claims authority applies only when the line item's other nonfederal funds and federal match cannot cover appropriate claims; eligibility and individual benefits do not change.
Beginning May 6, 2026, Utah's transportation department must use $150 million from Cottonwood Canyon fund balances and future receipts. The money provides and operates enhanced bus service, tolling, a mobility hub, and resort bus stops. Services and facilities begin in fiscal year 2026 for the Cottonwood Canyons. The law does not set bus fares or toll amounts.
The law adds $231.5887 million for Medicaid Other Services, $53.3786 million for Expansion Pharmacy, and $1.0213 million for children's insurance. It cuts Medicaid accountable care funding by $51.0915 million and Medicaid Pharmacy by $2.2261 million. Medicaid home and community services lose $432,000, long-term care loses $79,000, and Expansion Other Services loses $12,000. Non-Medicaid behavioral health treatment and crisis response lose $18.1073 million, while the State Hospital loses $3 million. These changes fund programs; they do not set individual benefits or payments.
Arts and Museums keeps up to an additional $500,000 from fiscal year 2025 available after fiscal year 2026. Uses are limited to cultural outreach, community programs, and art purchases. An additional $50,000 for Indian Affairs remains available only for community engagement, partnerships, and training. Up to $25,000 in arts and museum grant money also remains available solely for existing Hill Aerospace Museum contracts.
After fiscal year 2026, up to $5 million in jail-contracting funds and $2.5 million in county-facility reserves remain available. Those fiscal year 2025 funds are limited to additional inmate housing, treatment, and job training in county jails under state contracts. Utah Correctional Industries also keeps up to $6 million solely for continuing operations. Fiscal year 2025 body-camera funds remain available: up to $707,900 for Central Utah/Gunnison and $708,000 for Utah State Correctional Facility.
Unspent Law Library revenue from attorney admission certificates remains available after fiscal year 2026. The money must help cover Utah Courts Self-help Center costs. The law does not state a dollar amount or create payments to court users.
The law keeps up to $900,000 from the Division of Arts and Museums' fiscal year 2025 budget available after fiscal year 2026. The money is limited to cultural outreach, community programs, and art purchases. It also adds $28,300 in one-time General Fund money for the Utah Multicultural Affairs Office. These funds support programs and office work, not direct household payments.
Beginning May 6, 2026, the law provides $2.5 million in one-time interest income for environmental mitigation and response. It also provides $610,300 in one-time dedicated revenue for waste tire recycling. Petroleum storage tank cleanup receives $300,000 from interest income and dedicated revenue. These provisions fund environmental work rather than household payments.
The law adds $5 million from the Department of Public Safety Restricted Account for Driver Services in fiscal year 2026. The funding supports state driver license services. It does not change license fees, eligibility, or payments to service users.
The law adds $21.7621 million in one-time federal funds for Emergency Management in fiscal year 2026. The money supports emergency preparation and response. It also adds $795,000 from the Fire Prevention Support Account for Fire Marshal operations. These funds support community safety, not direct household payments.
For fiscal year 2026, the law adds $275,000 in electronic cigarette and nicotine product proceeds for State Bureau of Investigation operations. Criminal Identification's Non-Government/Other Services program gets $2 million in dedicated credits and revenue transfers. Local Alcohol Law Enforcement and Treatment gets $34,700 from the Alcoholic Beverage and Substance Abuse Enforcement and Treatment Restricted Account. These are program funding changes, not direct household payments.
For fiscal year 2026, the law adds $7.283 million in one-time General Fund money for reimbursements to participating jails. It adds $3.2547 million in one-time General Fund money for Department of Corrections administration. Re-Entry and Rehabilitation Administration gets another $149,600. Fiscal year 2026 runs from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. These funds support operations, not direct household payments.
The law provides $15.9798 million for Department of Natural Resources Law Enforcement Administration. Sources include $12.6398 million from the General Fund, $1 million in expendable rebate receipts, and $125,000 in expendable receipts. Another $1.1 million comes from the Aquatic Invasive Species Interdiction Account. The Sovereign Lands Management Account supplies $1.115 million. This funds state enforcement operations, not household payments.
For fiscal year 2026, the law adds $1 million in one-time General Fund money for the Criminal and Juvenile Justice Commission. It also adds $997,000 in one-time General Fund money for Judicial Council and State Court Administrator contracts and leases. The funds support justice-system operations. The law does not specify a household payment or change court-user costs.
For fiscal year 2026, the law adds $451,600 from the Victim Services Restricted Account for the Office for Victims of Crime. It adds $81,600 in revenue transfers for Children's Justice Centers. It also adds $200,000 from the Children's Legal Defense Account for the Guardian ad Litem program, which represents children. These funds support services, without setting individual payments or new eligibility rules.
For fiscal year 2026, the law adds $15.3644 million to the Department of Public Safety Grants program. Highway Safety gets $3.2553 million: $2.8553 million in federal money and $400,000 from the department's restricted account. Peace officer training grants get $180,000 in one-time federal funds. The grant provisions do not name recipients or establish direct household payments.
The Attorney General keeps up to $5 million from fiscal year 2025 available after fiscal year 2026 for executive administration. A separate allowance keeps up to $5 million in contract-attorney funds available for civil litigation payments and costs. Each amount remains limited to its stated purpose.
The transportation department receives $200,800 in one-time federal funds for its Traffic Safety/Tramway program. The provision does not name specific activities or quantify changes to household safety, travel, or costs.
Utah keeps up to $6.133 million from the justice commission's fiscal year 2025 budget available after fiscal year 2026. Listed uses include up to $3.2 million for victim-service grants and $1.583 million for state pass-through grants. Separately, up to $4 million from fiscal year 2025 stays available for Children's Justice Centers. That money is limited to funds passed through for local center operations or one-time operating costs.
Up to $50 million for Wildlife Land and Water Acquisition stays available after fiscal year 2026. It can only fund a land purchase from the Trust Lands Administration. The state can also spend up to $200,000 from the Wildlife Resources Restricted Account in fiscal year 2026. That money funds coyote bounty payments to protect mule deer; the law does not set a payment per recipient.
The law directs up to $4.2 million in Rural Health Transformation Program funds to the Department of Environmental Quality. The money is for arsenic treatment in Ukon Water Company's water system. Spending must meet Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services guidelines and receive final approval from that federal agency. The law does not set household payments or water-bill savings.
The Department of Financial Institutions can use up to $200,000 of its ongoing appropriation for financial literacy and industry-developed fraud awareness initiatives. The stated total limit is $1.908 million across fiscal year 2027 and ongoing appropriations. A remaining $109,800 is designated for appropriation in fiscal year 2035. The department may coordinate with the Department of Commerce. Unused money returns to the department's restricted account at each fiscal year's end.
The law provides one-time funding of $2.747 million in federal money and $9.9775 million in transferred revenue for drinking-water programs. This money supports Safe Drinking Water Act programs and water-system assistance. It also directs up to $700,000 from the Rural Health Transformation Program for sulfate treatment in Kane County Water Conservancy District’s system. That project requires federally allowed spending and final approval from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. These funds support water systems, not direct household payments.
Beginning May 6, 2026, the law provides $6.755 million in one-time interest income for the Drinking Water program. It provides $10.3978 million for Water Quality: $7.856 million in federal funds and $2.5418 million in interest income. It also transfers $4 million from the Water Infrastructure Restricted Account to the Water Infrastructure Fund. During fiscal year 2026, any remaining Water Resources Cities Water Loan Fund balance also moves to that infrastructure fund. These changes support community water projects, not direct household payments.
Up to $500,000 from the Adult Autism Treatment Account remains available after fiscal year 2026. The Division of Family Health uses it for grants to organizations serving adults with autism in Utah. The law does not guarantee a service or payment to each person.
Utah keeps up to $7 million available after fiscal year 2026 for listed child and family services. Uses include adoption assistance, contracted services, in-home and out-of-home care, facilities, technology, and service delivery. Some money must meet federal rules requiring continued state spending. Child welfare services funded through adoption assistance must qualify under federal Title IV-B or IV-E. All spending must follow the listed state-law limits.
The health department must give Friends for Sight a one-time $250,000 operating grant in fiscal year 2026. The grant supports the organization rather than providing direct household payments.
The law keeps up to $12.3506 million in health administration funds available after fiscal year 2026. Listed uses include Medicaid systems, pharmacy systems, crisis response, substance use services, and aging services. It also preserves up to $26.326 million for integrated health services, including $7 million for Davis Behavioral Health's step-down housing project. That authorization includes $1.4 million for designated nicotine-proceeds uses and $9 million for authorized behavioral health crisis responses. A further authorization preserves up to $3 million in unrestricted General Fund money; each amount is limited to its listed purposes.
The health department can keep up to $6.2753 million for listed operations projects after fiscal year 2026. Uses include databases, behavioral health treatment and internships, the Utah Sustainable Health Collaborative, a rate study, privacy work, a vital records portal, efficiency projects, and a communication pilot. Individual project amounts range from $50,000 to $1.7 million. It also preserves $750,000 for laboratory needs, $500,000 for Medical Examiner operations and equipment, and $350,000 for legally authorized drug-testing uses. Another $825,500 supports behavioral health loan repayment for social services agencies, bringing clinical carryforward authority to $2.4255 million.
Up to $100,000 remains available after fiscal year 2026 for one-time suicide prevention grants and outreach. The law directs $200,000 from a 2025 appropriation to Problems Anonymous Action Group for client-management staff and property upkeep. It also keeps up to $200,000 in Integrated Health Care Services funds available after fiscal year 2026 for those same purposes. These are program funds, not direct household payments.
State public health programs receive $12.1528 million in one-time federal Rural Health Transformation Program funding. The law also adjusts funding for other listed public health programs. Up to $25,000 remains available after fiscal year 2026 solely for childhood drowning prevention in Utah. Another $100,000 remains for one-time alcohol, tobacco, and other drug prevention, reduction, cessation, and control work.
The law keeps up to $500,000 available after fiscal year 2026 for one-time urgent public health surge responses. It keeps up to $100,000 for urgent disease control and prevention, including purchases or services that improve or expand disease-office services. Up to $75,000 also remains available for Healthy Utah Communities work. Each amount comes from the fiscal year 2026 General Fund budget and remains limited to its stated purpose.
The law directs up to $12.5 million in Rural Health Transformation Program funds to Utah's Department of Public Safety. It directs up to $3 million each to the State Board of Education and Board of Higher Education. Each recipient's spending must follow Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services guidelines and receive final approval from that agency. These are agency allocations, not direct payments to households or students.
The law directs up to $26.5 million in rural health funds to the Utah Education and Telehealth Network. It directs up to $11 million each to Transportation and Agriculture and Food, plus $3 million to Higher Education. Through Environmental Quality, up to $700,000 supports sulfate treatment in the Kane County Water Conservancy District's water system. Up to $4.2 million supports arsenic treatment in Ukon Water Company's water system. Every allocation requires final approval from the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and spending allowed by its guidelines.
The law keeps up to $550,000 available after fiscal year 2026 for SUN Bucks, also called Summer EBT. The money supports the summer food program during fiscal year 2027. This provision does not set household benefit amounts or change who qualifies.
Up to $68,400 from the Parents Empowered fiscal year 2025 budget remains available after fiscal year 2026. The money is limited to public awareness and underage drinking prevention. This does not create a direct payment to families.
Utah County's Human Services Temporary Assistance for Needy Families funding stays available after fiscal year 2026. This applies to money provided through the Poverty Mitigation Grant program. The provision states no amount and does not change household eligibility or benefit levels.
The law keeps up to $63.8762 million in specified homeless services funds and closing balances available after fiscal year 2026. Uses include deeply affordable housing, low-barrier and non-congregate shelters, health care, and medical respite. Funds also support statewide homeless services, data-system improvements, and listed Switchpoint St. George shelter and housing projects. The money is limited to listed one-time costs and projects, with separate spending caps.
Workforce Services must give Other Side Village a $1 million direct-award grant in fiscal year 2026. It funds specified short-term improvements to reduce the harm and prevalence of homelessness. Midvale City receives a direct-award grant of up to $210,000 for additional police officers at The Road Home shelter. Neither grant sets household payments or eligibility for housing help.
Beginning May 6, 2026, the law transfers $2.5 million to the Pamela Atkinson Homeless Account. Balances there and in the Homeless to Housing Reform Restricted Account remain available after fiscal year 2026. Each account's money must still serve the purposes allowed by its governing law. This does not create a direct household payment or new eligibility rule.
The State Office of Rehabilitation keeps up to $10.83 million in specified funds available after fiscal year 2026. Listed limits include $30,000 for low-vision store items and devices and $10.8 million for equipment and software, including assistive technology. Permitted uses also include specified one-time studies, client-service projects, and facility projects. The money remains limited to the listed uses.
The Utah State Treasurer must award $25,000 to Jump$tart Coalition and $75,000 to Utah Financial Empowerment Coalition. These fiscal year 2026 direct-award grants fund financial literacy education. They do not establish household payments or individual benefit eligibility.
The State Office of Rehabilitation receives $12 million in one-time federal funds. Of that amount, $11.9 million goes to Rehabilitation Services. The funding supports clients, including people with disabilities, without setting individual service amounts or changing eligibility.
The Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services keeps up to $4.8 million from fiscal year 2025 available after fiscal year 2026. Up to $2.7 million is limited to its D365 accounting system. Up to $2.1 million is limited to its online sales system. This changes spending time, not household payments or eligibility.
Beginning May 6, 2026, the law provides $200,000 from the General Fund for municipal incorporation activities. The money goes to the Municipal Incorporation Expendable Special Revenue Fund. The law does not specify household payments or changes to local taxes or services.
The law provides one-time funding of $10 million in federal money for Transportation Cooperative Agreements and $800,000 for Region 2. Aeronautics Administration gets $1 million from the Aeronautics Restricted Account. Engineering gets $541,000 from the Transportation Fund for Materials Lab, $11.1168 million in federal funds for Program Development, and $250,000 in dedicated credits for Right-of-Way. Support Services gets $1.31 million from the Transportation Fund and $200,000 in federal money. Its allocations are $750,000 for administration, $245,000 for human resources, and $515,000 for Ports of Entry.
Beginning May 6, 2026, the law provides $610,000 to the Road Usage Charge Program Special Revenue Fund. This includes $550,000 from licenses and fees and $60,000 from interest income. The funding supports the program; it does not change road charge rates or create a new driver fee.
The law directs up to $11 million in Rural Health Transformation Program funds to Utah's Department of Transportation. Spending must meet Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services guidelines and receive final approval from that federal agency. The provision does not establish household payments or health care eligibility.
Facilities and Construction Management keeps $2.7 million available after fiscal year 2026. Of that, $2.5 million is limited to technology, hiring and retention, training, equipment, customer service, efficiency, temporary staff, and Governor's Mansion maintenance. The remaining $200,000 is limited to Energy Program operations. Beginning May 6, 2026, Fleet Operations can carry forward fiscal year 2026 funds for authorized vehicle purchases not delivered by year-end. No vehicle count or dollar amount is stated.
Up to $625,000 from the fiscal year 2025 Integrated Technology Services budget remains available after fiscal year 2026. Uses are limited to GPS network upgrades and maintenance, state mapping projects, aerial imagery, and local survey-marker restoration grant obligations. The money supports mapping work, not direct household assistance.
State Archives keeps up to $350,000 available after fiscal year 2026. Limits are $100,000 for electronic records management and preservation, $75,000 for system improvements, and $175,000 for operations. The Office of Data Privacy keeps up to $320,000 from fiscal year 2025 available after fiscal year 2026. Limits are $175,000 for software, $75,000 for maintenance and consultation, and $70,000 for office operations. These funding extensions do not create new individual privacy rights.
State information technology administration receives $1.4523 million in one-time federal funds. Statewide Management Liability Training receives $75,000 in one-time dedicated revenue. Up to $20,000 from Human Resource Management's fiscal year 2025 appropriation stays available after fiscal year 2026. That carried-forward money can only support Administrative Law Judge compliance.
After fiscal year 2026, up to $8.35 million remains available for listed Chief Information Officer programs. Limits include $4 million for innovation funds, $3.8 million for cybersecurity grants, and $250,000 for customer experience. The remaining limits are $50,000 for the artificial intelligence pilot, $100,000 for technology initiatives, and $150,000 for technology innovation. Separately, up to $1.7 million remains available for government digital record changes. Up to $1 million of ongoing Technology Innovation Fund money can repay the internal service fund for the state's human resources system.
The Office of Tourism keeps up to $10 million from fiscal year 2025 available after fiscal year 2026. Spending is limited to out-of-state marketing, cooperative marketing contracts, technology and data contracts, sponsorships, and grants. The law does not create direct household payments.
The Department of Transportation keeps up to $800,000 available after fiscal year 2026 for Region Management. The money remains limited to that budget line. This does not create a direct household payment.
The State Treasurer keeps up to $400,000 available after fiscal year 2026. Uses are limited to computer equipment and software, equipment and supplies, special projects, and unclaimed property outreach. The extension does not change eligibility to claim property.
The Department of Commerce keeps up to $3.5 million available after fiscal year 2026 for land-use and building-code education. The money is limited to outreach and education required by law. This does not change household land-use rights or building-code requirements.
Up to $6.2789 million in specified housing and community development funds can remain available after fiscal year 2026. Uses include up to $3.023 million for one-time affordable housing projects and $129,500 for a statewide moderate-income housing database. Limits also include $803,600 for affordable housing and Private Activity Bond projects, plus $263,200 for shared appreciation loan projects. Up to $400,000 supports weatherization, including utility rebates passed through for projects completed by local governments. The money remains limited to the listed projects and costs.
The economic opportunity office must use up to $200,000 from the previously authorized fiscal year 2025 UPSTART appropriation. The money supports statewide efforts connecting education, workforce, outreach, and business partnerships. The law does not create a household payment or individual eligibility rule.
Specified fiscal year 2025 economic opportunity funds can remain available after fiscal year 2026. Limits include $2.5 million for planning, rebranding, sponsorships, and economic development grants. Another $50 million supports listed Economic Prosperity obligations, loans, business services, incentives, grants, technology, and related costs. Up to $40 million supports Pass-Through contracts, technology, sponsorships, direct award grants, and economic assistance grants. The law also preserves $1.8 million for World Trade Center Utah contracts and support, and $3.5 million for Rural Opportunity Fund contracts and rural loan administration.
Beginning May 6, 2026, the law reduces General Fund support for the Alternative Eligibility Account by $510,800. The provision does not identify the services or people affected. It does not change individual eligibility rules.
The Department of Cultural and Community Engagement's pass-through funding decreases by $97,800 in fiscal year 2026. Its capital facilities pass-through grants also decrease by $2 million. Both reductions come from beginning carryover balances. The law does not identify which recipients lose funding.
The law reduces DHHS Licensing & Background Checks funding by $655,000 from closing carryover balances. It also reduces Administrative Hearings funding by $110,700 in federal funds. These changes reduce department resources, not direct household payments.
The law cuts one-time General Fund support for Utah Highway Patrol field operations by $2.263 million in fiscal year 2026. This reduces operating funds, not household payments. The law does not specify changes to patrol services.
For fiscal year 2026, the law cuts Adult Probation and Parole by $178,200 in one-time General Fund money. It cuts prison operations by $2.2126 million in General Fund support. That includes $1.8326 million for the Utah State Correctional Facility and $380,000 for Central Utah/Gunnison. Corrections Treatment funding also falls by $1.0135 million. The law does not specify changes to supervision, prison operations, or any person's treatment access.
Beginning May 6, 2026, the law reduces one-time revenue transfers to the Salinity Offset Fund by $17,200. This lowers funding available to the fund. The law does not identify affected households or changes to individual costs or services.
Beginning May 6, 2026, the law reduces Transportation Investment Fund funding from the Transportation Fund by $84.1708 million. This leaves less money available for projects supported by that fund. The provision does not identify affected projects or specific household costs.
Beginning May 6, 2026, the law reduces the Adult Autism Treatment Account by $250,000 from its closing balance. This leaves less money for the account's authorized uses. The law does not specify changes to treatment access, eligibility, or individual benefits.
The law reduces the Department of Workforce Services Housing Development budget by $3.1041 million. Beginning May 6, 2026, it also moves $29.8722 million in carried-over program balances to the General Fund. That includes $22.988 million from Homeless Services and $4.7864 million from Olene Walker Low Income Housing. It also takes $2 million from Capital Facilities Grants and $97,800 from Pass-Through. The law does not identify which projects, households, or services lose support.
For fiscal year 2026, organizations buying state immunization record matching services pay listed fees. Matching costs $10,000 for up to 100,000 records or $20,000 for 100,001–200,000 records. Unlimited matching costs $40,000, or $160,000 with customizations. The schedule also lists a $12-per-record charge. These are charges to service buyers, not direct household fees.
Beginning May 6, 2026, the law reduces the Utah Veterans Nursing Home Fund by $32.6696 million. The reduction is in one-time federal funds. The law does not specify changes to care, fees, or who qualifies.
Beginning May 6, 2026, the law reduces Salt Lake Community College Instruction funding by $511,600 in one-time tuition and fee revenue. It also cuts one-time Higher Education Capital Projects Fund support for the South City Campus seismic upgrade by $9.4268 million. These are funding changes, not changes to tuition charges or student aid. The law does not specify effects on construction, safety, or instructional services.
The law cuts the Film Commission's fiscal year 2026 budget by $3.5 million from the Industrial Assistance Account. It also cuts the economic opportunity office's Pass-Through budget by $1.5 million in one-time General Fund money. This lowers funding for film programs, grants, and economic assistance. The law does not identify which recipients lose support or impose a household charge.
The law makes one-time increases and cuts across environmental cleanup, agency leadership, waste and radiation, water quality, and air quality programs. The Air Quality item includes $24.493 million in federal funds and $975,200 in revenue transfers. Up to $4.9459 million stays available after fiscal year 2026 for listed research, clean diesel, dust monitoring, vehicle charging, permitting, and monitoring networks. Air Quality must use a $1 million fiscal year 2026 transfer from the Great Salt Lake Commissioner's office to study and monitor lake dust. Environmental agency leadership must use a $150,000 fiscal year 2026 transfer from Energy Development for legal expenses tied to the 2024 Energy Security Amendments.
The law changes child and family service funding with one-time amounts of $2.5589 million in state money and $3.1129 million in federal money. The schedule includes $2.44 million for Out-of-Home Services, but reduces Child & Family Services and selected child welfare programs. Up to $500,000 remains available after fiscal year 2026 for the Foster Children Family Finding Pilot. That money provides one-time support through the project, not direct household payments.
One-time funding includes $37.5 million from the Long-term Capital Projects Fund for Forestry, Fire, and State Lands. Oil, Gas, and Mining gets $2.015 million from its restricted account. Federal funding adds $978,500 for Water Resources and $6 million for outdoor recreation capital projects. Water Rights Acquisition funding decreases by $40 million. The law also reduces specified Wildlife Resources and State Parks budgets.
Juvenile Justice and Youth Services gets $174,000 in one-time federal funds, while its closing carryover balances decrease by $4.5 million. Separately, up to $4.5 million in General Fund money stays available after fiscal year 2026. That money remains limited to original uses, including services, technology, facilities, operations, training, and hiring and retention. Unspent Juvenile Courts money also stays available after fiscal year 2026 for those courts; no amount is stated. The law does not identify service cuts from the balance adjustment.
Correctional Health Services gets one-time funding of $52,000 in dedicated revenue and $1.25 million from the Opioid Litigation Proceeds Fund. A matching $1.25 million reduction in the restricted opioid account offsets that funding source change. Closing carryover balances also decrease by $2.375 million. Up to $4 million remains available after fiscal year 2026 for medicines, supplies, medical and computer equipment, software, contracted care, and staff training. Another carryforward allows up to $750,000 from the restricted opioid account solely for opioid use disorder treatment.
The law provides one-time supplemental funding for long-term services, including $28.9138 million for Services for People with Disabilities. Funding sources include $12.247 million from the disability services restricted account and $15.1559 million in revenue transfers. Several other programs lose funding; the supplied provisions do not state those cut amounts. Up to $925,000 also stays available after fiscal year 2026 for equipment, capital, training, senior nutrition, and client services. These are program funds, not set household payments.
Integrated Health Care Administration gains $1.0368 million, and Long-Term Services and Supports Administration gains $367,200. Seeded Services gains $4.8281 million, while Aging and Adult Services Administration gains $60,000. The Medicaid provider reimbursement information system loses $5.9369 million. Substance Use and Mental Health Administration loses $1.4099 million. These agency budget changes do not set household eligibility or payment amounts.
One-time agriculture funding includes $100,000 in federal money for administration and $400,000 in federal money for meat inspection. Brand inspection gets $300,000 from the livestock brand and anti-theft account. Plant programs get $2.1286 million in dedicated revenue. The law also funds predator control, regulatory services, specialized products, and the analytical laboratory, while reducing other listed program budgets. It does not specify household payments or eligibility changes.
The law adds $150,000 in one-time trust lands operations funding from the Land Grant Management Fund. It reduces capital funding by the same $150,000. This shifts agency spending without creating household payments or eligibility changes.
The law adds $21.2889 million in one-time federal funds and $29.88 million in transfers for Highway System Construction. It reduces Special Projects by $120,000. The schedule separately lists Construction at $51.2889 million. The provision does not name specific projects or set household travel costs.
One-time health department operating cuts include $957,000 for Ancillary Services and $3.7524 million for Finance and Administration. Data, Systems, and Evaluations loses $626,300; Public Affairs, Education, and Outreach loses $118,900; Customer Experience gains $1,200. Clinical funding rises by $51,000 for the Medical Examiner and $1.5737 million for the State Laboratory. The Medical Education Council gains $603,000, while Primary Care and Rural Health loses $162,800. These are agency funding changes, not direct household payments.
The law makes one-time funding changes for Utah public colleges using dedicated revenues and the Income Tax Fund. Listed amounts include $37.6233 million for University of Utah Education and General and $3.533 million for Utah State University. They also include $2.2217 million for Utah Tech, $7.0348 million for Utah Valley, and $191,500 for Bridgerland Technical College. Weber State receives $4.2506 million in dedicated revenues alongside a $52,400 Income Tax Fund reduction. Uintah Basin Technical College and Snow College also face specified reductions with no amounts given here; no tuition cut or student grant is guaranteed.
The law moves $750,000 from the fiscal year 2025 Manufacturing Modernization appropriation to Targeted Industry Initiatives Grants. This funds the industry grant program using money previously assigned to manufacturing modernization. The law does not specify individual grant awards or business eligibility.
The Utah State Tax Commission must use a one-time $100,000 appropriation to test aviation tax fraud-prevention software. Its vendor contract must limit payment to the extent the software produces added revenue collections. The state gains a collection tool, while vendor payments depend on added collections. The provision does not change individual tax liability.
Jerry W Stevenson
Republican • Senate
Val L. Peterson
Republican • House
All Roll Calls
Yes: 96 • No: 2
House vote • 3/4/2026
House/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 69 • No: 1
Senate vote • 3/3/2026
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Yes: 27 • No: 1
Senate vote • 3/3/2026
Senate/ uncircled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Senate vote • 3/2/2026
Senate/ circled
Yes: 0 • No: 0
Governor Signed
Senate/ to Governor
Senate/ received enrolled bill from Printing
Senate/ enrolled bill to Printing
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
Bill Received from Senate for Enrolling
Senate/ signed by President/ sent for enrolling
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ signed by Speaker/ returned to Senate
House/ passed 3rd reading
House/ 3rd reading
House/ 2nd reading
House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar
House/ 1st reading (Introduced)
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ uncircled
Senate/ circled
Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension
Senate/ placed on 2nd Reading Calendar
Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced)
Senate/ received fiscal note from Fiscal Analyst
Enrolled
3/13/2026
Introduced
3/1/2026