All Roll Calls
Yes: 175 • No: 1
Sponsored By: Todd Weiler (Republican)
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
64 provisions identified: 36 benefits, 10 costs, 18 mixed.
Victim compensation is capped at $25,000, including awards to secondary victims. Medical expenses from serious or substantial bodily injury have a $50,000 cap. The office may reduce or deny awards for losses recoverable elsewhere, claimant misconduct, or using providers outside available coverage. For injuries or death directly caused by producing child sexual abuse material, this victim definition covers only minors.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Indigent Inmate Fund can pay for appointed defense lawyers in qualifying prison cases. The person must be unable to afford counsel and charged with a crime allegedly committed in that state prison. The prison must be in a third-, fourth-, fifth-, or sixth-class county, and counsel must be appointed under state law. The fund can also pay administration costs and is capped at $1 million.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Department of Criminal Justice oversees covered juvenile detention rules and facility certification. Standards must keep children separated from adult inmates by sight and sound. Holding rooms must have constant supervision. In low-density areas, approved correctional-facility spaces can hold children only short-term, for no more than six hours.
Beginning July 1, 2026, Utah creates the Youth Defense Fund for juveniles referred to juvenile court. Money can pay appointed indigent defense lawyers and needed defense resources. It can also cover management of the fund and its providers. Fund money is limited to these purposes.
Beginning July 1, 2026, Utah’s Office of Indigent Defense Services runs the Child Welfare Parental Representation Program. The office manages the budget, trains lawyers, and may hire attorneys for indigent parents facing abuse, neglect, or dependency petitions who qualify under Section 80-3-104. Contracted lawyers must meet training and experience standards, follow professional principles, and complete eight hours of child welfare legal education yearly. Commission rules allow exemptions from training or experience requirements for equivalent training or adequate experience. A new fund pays defense resources, administration, training, and travel as money is available, using appropriations, federal reimbursement, investment earnings, and county and private contributions.
Beginning July 1, 2026, government offices generally cannot disclose Safe at Home participants' actual addresses. Knowingly or intentionally obtaining or sharing them without authorization is a class B misdemeanor. Exceptions include court orders, approved government requests, participant permission, and records created more than 90 days before application. The department must immediately notify participants of disclosures under court orders or approved government requests. With required program documents, participants can request removal or replacement of addresses in covered public records created within 90 days before application.
Beginning July 1, 2026, Safe at Home participants can ask government offices to use their assigned address. They must provide the required program card or form. Exceptions cover voter registration, some property and vehicle records, and necessary probation or parole supervision. Election officials keep actual addresses confidential and send mail to assigned addresses. The Department of Criminal Justice takes over enrollment and mail services; spending from the program account still requires legislative approval.
Beginning July 1, 2026, Utah creates an Indigent Appellate Defense Division. It provides defense services for appeals in eligible counties and appeals of right involving termination or restoration of parental rights. It also handles postconviction cases when a court appoints the division. Services exclude aggravated-murder appeals and postconviction cases involving a death sentence.
Beginning July 1, 2026, covered youth generally receive three to six months in secure care and three to four months on parole. Release generally follows each term; listed serious offenses and repeat-offender cases are excluded. Extensions are limited to stated reasons, including treatment needs, new offenses, or incomplete restitution; misdemeanor custody cannot exceed the adult term. Juvenile guidelines must favor consistency over equity and recommend compliance rewards, including earned discharge credits, without guaranteeing credits. They no longer must include sanctions and offense-specific factors for sexual exploitation of a minor or aggravated sexual exploitation of a minor.
Beginning July 1, 2026, minors considering a nonjudicial adjustment—a way to resolve a case without court—get free legal advice. The Office of Indigent Defense Services must provide this access through employed or contracted lawyers. Individual case plans are also required for youth committed to Juvenile Justice and Youth Services, as well as youth on probation. Plans must involve the minor and family and use a validated risk-and-needs assessment. Each plan must reflect the youth's needs, offense, and history.
Beginning July 1, 2026, filing a victim compensation claim waives some legal privacy protections for relevant health records and communications. Attorney-client communications remain protected. Claim officials may require available medical or psychological reports, and the law specifies when claimants receive copies. Refusing an order or withholding relevant evidence through another privilege can lead to denial, but denial is not automatic.
Beginning July 1, 2026, victims accepting compensation must help the office seek reimbursement and provide evidence they have. They cannot release a related claim without the office's written permission or weaken its repayment rights. The office can seek repayment from a victim's recovery even when some losses remain unpaid.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the department must cancel enrollment after written withdrawal requests or missed name, address, or phone updates. Cancellation also applies to knowingly false application information or forwarded mail returned as undeliverable. Participants can appeal within 30 days. After cancellation, they cannot participate for six months.
Beginning July 1, 2026, counties can seek pilot grants for liaisons helping parents in child welfare cases. Proposals must explain the purpose, identify other funding, and supply information the commission requires. Reviews consider cost, sustainability, county need, other funding, and support for defense improvements. The amendment coordinated with H.B. 35 sets repeal for December 31, 2031, rather than the December 31, 2026 date elsewhere in this chunk. The pilot ends at repeal, and the provision does not specify replacement services or transition protections.
The Office for Victims of Crime can make a limited emergency payment when hardship exists and a final award appears likely. The payment reduces the final award; claimants must repay any excess. Unless the claimant requests another order, victims are paid before secondary victims, whose payment order the specialist sets. Awards after a victim's death must be divided among two or more eligible dependents, without increasing the total. Beginning July 1, 2026, specialists must review awards paid in installments at least yearly.
Beginning July 1, 2026, firearm forfeiture is limited in plea-in-abeyance agreements, which put a plea on hold. An agreement can require forfeiture only when the plea offense makes the defendant a restricted person under Utah or federal law. Agreements cannot require firearm forfeiture when the plea offense does not meet that condition.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Office for Victims of Crime must give law enforcement educational materials about sexual assault testing rights. The materials help police inform victims about requesting testing of themselves and the alleged offender. Victims are not required to request testing.
Beginning July 1, 2026, victims' rights committees lose authorized access to protected victim addresses, phone numbers, and impact statements. The Department of Criminal Justice replaces the State Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice on the access list. Access remains limited to listed people and entities performing their official duties.
Beginning July 1, 2026, victims' legal guardians and representatives of deceased victims' families can request offender-release and parole-hearing notices. They must send corrections officials a signed written request. The offender must have been sentenced to state prison for conduct against the victim. Police investigative reports sent to the Office for Victims of Crime about compensation eligibility are also confidential.
Beginning July 1, 2026, an award review generally does not require victims to return compensation already paid. Under this review rule, repayment is required only when fraud or a material factual mistake led to the award.
Beginning July 1, 2026, victim compensation claims can include inpatient and outpatient counseling needed because of a crime. Counseling remains subject to Office for Victims of Crime rules. Medical providers accepting the office’s payment must treat it as payment in full for the services paid for. They cannot collect more money from the victim or claimant for those services.
Beginning July 1, 2026, responder agencies have 60 days to fix mental-health resource denials that public safety investigators find improper. Uncorrected denials must be referred for further investigation. The criminal justice commission must decide whether to recommend denying the agency state grants for a specified period. Recommendations do not automatically stop grants or guarantee a service or payment to the responder.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the justice department awards special-fund grants to help counties start or expand pretrial services. County agencies and other selected agencies can receive grants. Programs help courts make release decisions or supervise people released while criminal charges remain unresolved. The department can keep up to 3% of fund deposits for directly related administration. It must set grant application and review rules.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Department of Criminal Justice must run a county performance incentive grant program. Grants support programs and practices that reduce recidivism and the number of people incarcerated per capita. The program distributes money approved by the Legislature. No funding amount or direct household payment is specified.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Department of Criminal Justice administers grants for child-exploitation prevention education and drug-related crime programs. It also administers grants for qualifying pilot education programs. Child-exploitation prevention education programs must be approved. The old commission's grant duties for child exploitation and drug-related crime end; these duties move rather than simply disappear. No grant amount is specified.
Beginning July 1, 2026, public safety officials prioritize up to $2.5 million annually for eligible drug or crime task-force costs. Eligible agencies are not limited to state and local police. Awards depend on available funding, demonstrated ability to use grants, and cooperation with other agencies. Recipients must meet applicable reporting and policy requirements, spend money only on approved purposes, and report annually to officials and auditors.
For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, the law provides $250,000 from the Violent Crime Clearance Rate Fund. The money goes to the Department of Criminal Justice Commissioner’s Office for work related to violent crime clearance rates. The appropriation is coordinated with H.B. 137. It is not a direct household payment.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the commission can fund local defense, juvenile appeals, training, parent representation, service improvements, and data collection. Eligible counties are fourth-, fifth-, or sixth-class counties, or third-class counties without a city of 100,000 or more. Systems must have actual or expected costs above their prior three-year average and show need or innovation in meeting defense standards. Private parental-rights termination reimbursements must follow commission policies; grants can be revoked for failure to meet grant terms or standards. A new account keeps unspent money available for defense data, grants, training, and administration, but spending requires legislative approval.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the justice department must adopt rules for covered judicial nomination commission meetings. Rules cover public comments, nominee reviews, member disqualification, meeting minutes, and applicant-record confidentiality and destruction. They also govern sending nominees and notifying the governor when a judge leaves office. The department must follow Utah's administrative rulemaking process.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Department of Criminal Justice replaces the criminal justice commission in school safety collaboration. It works with the School Safety Center and other agencies on safety training. The work also covers policies, procedures, and training requirements for school resource officers.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Department of Criminal Justice distributes appropriated money to local law enforcement. Each agency's share follows average daily occupied halfway-house or parole-violator-center beds in its area. Agencies must use money only for purposes listed in the law. They must report annually on spending and crime-reduction effects to the department and state auditor; no total funding amount is specified.
Beginning July 1, 2026, prosecutors must post policies on charging, plea deals, sentencing recommendations, discovery, juvenile cases, fines, and fees. Posting also covers forfeiture, victim services, diversion, and restorative justice; offices must identify missing policies. Individuals can submit misconduct complaints to the Prosecutor Conduct Commission, including about retired or resigned prosecutors. A member can seek investigation when a substantiated complaint supports a misconduct finding; prosecutors receive notice and information to respond. Prospective employers can ask whether an investigation is pending, but the commission does not itself impose discipline.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Department of Public Safety takes over the existing Public Safety Portal grant program. Grants help entities comply with required data reporting. Proposals must explain how funding supports compliance. The department can set eligibility, application, award-amount, and recipient-reporting rules.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the commissioner must assign someone to assist each covered victim services committee. That person must also receive and process complaints under the law’s complaint procedure. The staffing requirement is coordinated with H.B. 34.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the state receives a credit when an injured party gets attorney fees and costs directly from a punitive-damages award. The credit is proportional to the parties’ respective punitive-damages judgments. It can offset fees and costs charged to the state for obtaining the judgment.
Beginning July 1, 2026, Utah creates an Office of Indigent Defense Services under the Indigent Defense Commission. Its full-time director and assistant director must be active Utah lawyers; staff must include someone with data skills. Hiring preferences favor criminal defense, juvenile defense, or child-welfare parent representation experience. The commission sets constitutional standards for independent, conflict-free defense, adequate pay and resources, manageable workloads, training, and representation at required stages. It oversees providers, encourages regional services, manages murder-defense fund participation, and develops minors' advice resources; providers must cooperate with data collection, audits, and investigations.
Beginning July 1, 2026, regions can receive funding based on parole and felony-probation employment outcomes. Regular payments equal positive combined employment-rate growth over the regional baseline, multiplied by average daily population and $2,500; otherwise, payments are zero. Regions also receive $2,500 per successful supervision completion following eligible employment throughout the final six months. Both payments are zero if regional recidivism rises from the prior fiscal year, and payments are prorated when funds fall short. Regions may spend 15% on administration and must spend 85% improving supervision and rehabilitation; households do not receive these payments.
Beginning July 1, 2026, Utah creates the Department of Criminal Justice to coordinate criminal and juvenile justice work. A full-time commissioner, appointed by the governor with Senate approval, leads its policy, regulatory, and enforcement work. The department oversees grants, research, information systems, juvenile justice standards, and victim-service duties. It must submit a yearly justice plan and report progress on Justice Reinvestment Initiative goals. The governor can also direct it to help with extradition, the process of returning someone to face charges.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the justice department must set care and center-eligibility standards for rape crisis and services centers. Center eligibility must include care standards based on best practices and input from the victim-services sexual assault subcommittee. Rules must provide compliance monitoring, and the state auditor must review department compliance and grant funding. Public safety officials must also help research or monitor victims' programs.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the justice department must support research-based youth programs and report reform progress annually. It reviews data and costs avoided through fewer out-of-home placements, then recommends reinvestment in community programs. Contracts must reward effective programs, three-month completion timelines, and services for rural minors living at home. Training covers adolescent development, behavioral health, cultural awareness, graduated responses, system results, and gangs. The department also develops timelines for effective programming and reducing repeat offenses.
Beginning July 1, 2026, Department of Criminal Justice data help guide funding for juvenile gang and violent crime prevention. School districts and charter schools must still submit successful proposals and meet baseline performance standards. Funding depends on legislative appropriations; the law specifies no grant amount.
Beginning July 1, 2026, owners of mines producing metal-bearing minerals remain responsible for required tax reports. With State Tax Commission consent, a principal lessee, contractor, or operator can file and pay as the owner’s agent. Owners may deduct and remit tax chargeable on those parties’ operations. The provision does not specify a change to the tax rate or amount.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Department, Utah, and local governments are immune from civil liability for address confidentiality program duties. This covers both performing and failing to perform those duties. The protection adds to other government immunity and limits available civil remedies.
Beginning July 1, 2026, corrections officials can withhold part of an offender's covered account funds for listed debts. These include restitution, victim compensation, and fines. Covered accounts for minors committed to juvenile justice custody can also pay these obligations. The law replaces the listed term 'reparation' or 'reparations' with 'victim compensation' and sets no payment amount.
Beginning July 1, 2026, third-, fourth-, fifth-, and sixth-class counties with a state prison can adopt an additional property tax by ordinance. The rate is 0.0001 per dollar of taxable value, or $10 per $100,000 of taxable value. Revenue goes to the Indigent Inmate Fund until it reaches $1 million. After notice that the fund has reached that amount, later revenue goes to a county account used only for indigent defense. Counties that do not adopt the levy cannot benefit from the fund.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the criminal justice commission loses its duty to run county performance-incentive grants. The removed program supported practices aimed at reducing repeat offenses and incarceration per person. It used legislative appropriations. This provision names neither a funding amount nor a replacement program.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the commission can end the Indigent Aggravated Murder Defense Fund by majority vote. Closure is allowed when state and participating-county contributions cannot replenish it to at least $250,000 annually. Remaining money continues to fund defense under the law until exhausted. The fund then ceases to exist.
On July 1, 2029, the law repeals the section authorizing the Victim Services Commission. This provision does not identify any resulting loss of victim payments or services.
Beginning July 1, 2026, counties with annual state contracts for parental defense must pay a commission-set amount into the program’s fund. Counties joining or rejoining after the fund’s first year must also make an equity payment. An interim payment may be requested when an expected deficit is not covered by legislative funding. Counties that withdraw or lose participation for nonpayment forfeit past payments and fund coverage.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Department receives legal papers for people enrolled in Utah's address confidentiality program. Their assigned address remains their last known address for service of legal papers. Participants must report legal name changes within 30 days and provide proof. Actual address or phone changes must be reported within 10 business days. Participants who stay enrolled after moving cannot change their assigned address with the Driver License Division.
Beginning July 1, 2026, government entities can request a program participant's actual address through a signed, written request from a senior official. Requests must show a good-faith legal or administrative need, inadequate alternative contact methods, and privacy safeguards. Use and access must stay within approval; entities must stop use and dispose of the address when permission expires. Participants generally receive notice, except for investigations of their alleged crimes or risks to an ongoing investigation or law enforcement safety. Entities have 15 days to appeal denials; the Department has 30 days to decide unless another deadline is agreed.
The Judicial Council adjusts the civil penalty for covered warning violations beginning May 1, 2025, and every five years afterward. Adjustments use the Consumer Price Index change over the five years ending December 31 of the prior year. The adjusted amount is rounded to the nearest $5. The Attorney General must publish the penalty and next adjustment date. The provision does not state the starting penalty.
Beginning July 1, 2026, sexual-offense victims, including minors, can request an HIV test immediately or as soon as possible after the alleged offense. Follow-up tests are required at three and six months when the first result is not positive. The Crime Victim Compensation Fund pays only with a substantiated claim, a negative first test, and Office for Victims of Crime eligibility. Reimbursement for victims requesting their own testing is limited to Utah Code Section 53-10-803(4).
Beginning July 1, 2026, eligible senior Department of Criminal Justice staff with retirement service credit can transfer their pension balance. The transfer moves the balance from defined-benefit coverage to a defined-contribution plan in the employee’s name. Department employees in employer-designated positions can also submit written requests for exemption from the listed retirement systems. Taking that exemption means leaving retirement-system coverage. These options remain subject to federal law and retirement board rules.
Beginning July 1, 2026, adult sentencing guidelines must aim for consistent sentences and lengths of criminal supervision. Consistency replaces equity as the stated goal. This provision sets no new sentence lengths, supervision terms, or household costs.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Domestic Violence Offender Treatment Board must create provider training and certification. Public and private providers treating intimate-partner and domestic violence offenders must meet board standards and take annual training to remain certified. The board monitors compliance and sends the courts a yearly list of compliant participating providers. This provision sunsets July 1, 2027.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the department must process law enforcement requests for address confidentiality participant information within 24 hours. Requests must concern a participant involved in a criminal case or investigation. Before receiving the actual address, officers must certify safeguards against disclosure to the public and uninvolved law enforcement personnel. Law enforcement must remove the address from its records when its use in the case or investigation ends.
Beginning July 1, 2026, vendors must connect covered justice software to the Department of Public Safety's Public Safety Portal. This covers software storing data that agencies must report by law. Connections must work within one year after the agency's system becomes active. Under the amendment coordinated with H.B. 220, the Department of Criminal Justice need not release records received under Section 75E-2-210. It must tell public-records requesters which government entity supplied the record.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Indigent Aggravated Murder Defense Fund pays appointed lawyers, necessary defense resources, and fund-management costs. Coverage is for indigent defendants in aggravated-murder cases filed on or after September 1, 1998. Counties must join by resolution, submit the required application, stay current on assessments, and receive office approval for benefits. Contributions are due January 15; withdrawal notice is due January 1 of the year before withdrawal. Withdrawing counties forfeit past assessments, remain liable for assessments owed during participation, and lose coverage for costs after their paid period.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Prosecutor Conduct Commission can subpoena witnesses and relevant evidence under civil procedure rules. Courts must enforce subpoenas unless the information is protected; the commission pays applicable witness and service fees. Misconduct findings require evidence showing misconduct is more likely than not; employers and, when applicable, law enforcement or professional-conduct officials receive notice. Findings become public only through legally required government disclosure, public professional discipline, or a resulting criminal prosecution. The commission cannot punish prosecutors or disclose privileged, court-protected, or Garrity-warning information—statements given under threat of job discipline.
Beginning July 1, 2026, prosecutors must report another prosecutor's alleged misconduct to that person's employer, including allegations from judges. Employers must investigate and send substantiated complaints to the Prosecutor Conduct Commission. Prosecuting agencies and employees must cooperate with commission investigations and answer truthfully. Employees retain protections for privileged information and their constitutional right to remain silent. Agencies can discipline employees who refuse to cooperate, including firing them, subject to career-service protections.
Notices alleging a covered failure to give a clear and reasonable warning must include the special compliance procedure and proof form. Within 14 days, an alleged violator using it must correct the violation and similar known violations, agree to pay $500 per violation, and give written notice. Payment is due within 30 days, and the procedure can be used only once for a specific violation. The noticing party may sue when the required steps are not completed. The Attorney General reviews these notices and must notify both parties within 45 days of receipt when the action appears to have no merit.
Beginning July 1, 2026, counties must apply and submit a participation resolution to join the Youth Defense Fund. Annual contributions, set by the office, are due January 15; nonparticipating counties and counties behind on payments cannot receive fund services. Utah covers deficits, and the office must request extra state funding. The next year's county assessment must increase by at least the prior-year deficit. A county withdrawing must adopt a withdrawal resolution and notify the commission by January 1 of that year.
Beginning July 1, 2026, Utah must provide reasonable and necessary money for deficits in the aggravated-murder defense fund. The commission must request extra funding in the next general session for actual or projected deficits. County assessments must rise by at least the prior-year deficit; regular assessments are set to make deficits unlikely. Assessment shares average each county's share of participating counties' population and taxable property value; the fund minimum is 50 cents per person. New or returning counties also owe an equity payment reflecting the previous two years of assessments.
Todd Weiler
Republican • Senate
Karianne Lisonbee
Republican • House
All Roll Calls
Yes: 175 • No: 1
Senate vote • 3/6/2026
Senate/ concurs with House amendment
Yes: 22 • No: 0
House vote • 3/6/2026
House/ floor amendment
Yes: 0 • No: 0
House vote • 3/6/2026
House/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 62 • No: 1
House vote • 3/4/2026
House Comm - Amendment Recommendation
Yes: 12 • No: 0
House vote • 3/4/2026
House Comm - Substitute Recommendation
Yes: 12 • No: 0
House vote • 3/4/2026
House Comm - Favorable Recommendation
Yes: 11 • No: 0
Senate vote • 3/3/2026
Senate/ passed 3rd reading
Yes: 27 • No: 0
Senate vote • 3/2/2026
Senate/ passed 2nd reading
Yes: 23 • No: 0
Senate vote • 2/24/2026
Senate Comm - Favorable Recommendation
Yes: 6 • No: 0
Governor Signed
Senate/ to Governor
Senate/ received enrolled bill from Printing
Senate/ enrolled bill to Printing
Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate
Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared
Bill Received from Senate for Enrolling
Senate/ signed by President/ sent for enrolling
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ signed by Speaker/ returned to Senate
House/ received from Senate
Senate/ to House
Senate/ concurs with House amendment
Senate/ placed on Concurrence Calendar
Senate/ received from House
House/ to Senate
House/ passed 3rd reading
House/ floor amendment
House/ 3rd reading
House/ 2nd reading
House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar
House/ return to Rules due to fiscal impact
House/ comm rpt/ substituted/ amended
House Comm - Favorable Recommendation
Enrolled
3/12/2026
Amended 3/6/2026 16:03:66
3/6/2026
Amended 3/4/2026 18:03:90
3/4/2026
Substitute #1
3/4/2026
Substitute #2
3/4/2026
Introduced
2/23/2026