UtahS.B. 42026 General SessionSenate

Economic and Community Development Base Budget

Sponsored By: Calvin R. Musselman (Republican)

Signed by Governor

ArtsUtah State Fair CorporationPublic Funds and AccountsPublic BudgetingBusinessEconomic DevelopmentTourismDivision of Indian AffairsAlcoholDepartment of Alcoholic Beverage ServicesGovernment Operations (State Issues)AppropriationsVolunteersCultural and Community EngagementDepartment of Cultural and Community EngagementGovernor's Office of Economic OpportunityMulticultural Affairs

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

39 provisions identified: 38 benefits, 1 costs, 0 mixed.

Funding for disability and rehabilitation services

The law provides $88.9941 million for disability and rehabilitation programs from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. Rehabilitation Services receives $60.3258 million, and Disability Determination receives $19.2158 million. Blind and visually impaired services receive $4.6212 million; deaf and hard of hearing services receive $3.8691 million. The executive director receives $962,200. This provision does not change individual eligibility or set service amounts.

Communities gain development and capital funding

For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, the Community Impact Board capital budget receives $93.06 million. The money comes from the Permanent Community Impact Loan Fund and supports local governments and other eligible borrowers. For fiscal year 2026, the law adds $18.96 million to the Permanent Community Impact Fund and $460,000 to its Bonus Fund. It adds $7.7276 million to the Uintah Basin Revitalization Fund. Workforce Services also gains $257,700 for Community Development, $54,100 for its administration, and $264,600 for Community Services. These provisions do not name specific funded projects or set individual loan terms.

Funding supports business programs and grants

For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, Economic Prosperity programs receive $57.2295 million. This includes $2.582 million for Business Services and $2.0614 million for Incentives and Grants. Strategic Initiatives receives $48.5465 million, and Systems and Control receives $4.0396 million. Economic Opportunity's Pass-Through line receives $19.8 million: $15.1 million for pass-through funding and $4.7 million for economic assistance grants. Agency administration receives $2.5582 million; these provisions do not set individual award amounts or recipient eligibility.

Funding supports state alcohol store operations

The law provides $98.744 million from the Liquor Control Fund for Utah's Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services. Funding covers July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. It supports administration, executive direction, operations, stores and agencies, and warehouse and distribution work. The provision does not change stated alcohol prices or individual access rules.

Less funding for housing and homelessness

For fiscal 2026, the law cuts Homeless Services funding by $26.1799 million. It also cuts Housing Development by $2.6038 million and the Olene Walker Low Income Housing Fund by $2.9328 million. These cuts reduce program resources, but do not specify changes to individual eligibility, payments, or services.

Funding for residents receiving General Assistance

The law provides $4.8478 million for Utah's General Assistance program from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. The money supports residents receiving assistance. This provision does not set individual payment amounts or change eligibility.

Arts and museums receive continued funding

The law adds $5.8387 million for arts outreach, nonprofit grants, and museum services for July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. After June 30, 2026, prior grants remain available: $100,000 for Hill Aerospace Museum, $200,000 for Utah Sports Hall of Fame, and $170,000 for Utah Humanities. Another $4.1025 million remains for competitive operating grants; remaining funds are limited to organizations with prior direct legislative awards. Up to $200,000 remains for Milk Money project administration, conservation, and art purchases. Prior One Percent for Arts project funding also remains available, with no amount stated.

Arts grants gain funding and carryover

For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, One Percent for Arts receives $1.1628 million. Arts and Museums Grants receives $4.5975 million, divided between pass-through and competitive grants. The law also adds $1.625 million for fiscal year 2026 capital facility grants. Prior Arts and Museums General Fund money can remain available after June 30, 2026, including $1 million for Holy Trinity Cathedral. Other carried funds are limited to organizations with prior one-time direct legislative awards.

Community projects keep earlier state funding

Cultural and Community Engagement administration can keep up to $3.175 million in prior funds after June 30, 2026. This includes up to $350,000 for operations, small nonprofit capacity grants, outreach, and community reinvestment. Up to $1 million supports America 250 and special projects. Up to $1.2 million supports special projects, maintenance, events, operations, and outreach. Up to $625,000 supports specified technology, digital collections, and museum exhibits.

Funding continues for Utah tribal programs

Indian Affairs receives an added $1.1403 million for July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, to serve Utah tribes. The division can also keep up to $550,000 in prior funds for community engagement, partnerships, and training after June 30, 2026. Up to $281,000 remains available for a Bears Ears Cultural/Visitor Center. These provisions do not establish direct household payments.

Funding supports cultural affairs agency offices

Cultural and Community Engagement offices receive $5.9467 million for July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. Administrative Services receives $2.9338 million, and the Executive Director's Office receives $884,200. Information Technology receives $1.2894 million, and the Utah Multicultural Affairs Office receives $839,300. This supports agency offices and programs, not direct household payments.

Funding supports heritage events and museums

For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, Heritage & Events grants receive $650,000. Lawmakers state their intent for grants of $200,000 to Warriors Over the Wasatch and $125,000 to Hill Aero Space Museum. These support Hill Air Force Base Air Show logistics, performers, and travel, and the museum's general operations. Intended grants also include $200,000 for Days of 47 Rodeo's camps, parade, and five days of rodeo. Another $150,000 supports Miss Rodeo Utah/Cowboy Hall of Fame's rodeo participation, promotion, and western heritage recognition.

Funding supports libraries and accessible reading

The law provides $9.3709 million for State Library programs from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. It supports bookmobiles, library resources, library development, and administration. It also funds services for blind and print-disabled users, rather than direct household payments.

Funding supports Utah historic preservation

The law provides $5.0133 million for the State Historic Preservation Office from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. Funding supports public archaeology, the Main Street Program, cemeteries, and office administration. It funds preservation programs rather than household payments.

Funding supports volunteers and service fellows

The law provides $12.0179 million for service and volunteer programs from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. The Commission on Service and Volunteerism receives $9.7785 million. The One Utah Service Fellowship Program receives $2.2394 million. The appropriation does not set individual payments or household eligibility.

Heritage events keep earlier grant funding

Prior heritage and event grants remain available after June 30, 2026, for ongoing obligations. These include $100,000 for America's Freedom Festival and $200,000 for Days of 47 Rodeo. They also include $150,000 for Ogden Pioneer Days Miss Rodeo/Cowboy Hall of Fame and $200,000 for Warriors Over the Wasatch/Hill AFB Show. A one-time $600,000 supports the Utah Symphony/Utah Opera AM250 Tour. Remaining funds are limited to organizations with prior direct legislative awards.

Historic preservation office keeps program money

The State Historic Preservation Office can keep up to $725,000 in prior General Fund money after June 30, 2026. It supports operations, application maintenance, projects, outreach, contracts, time-limited positions, and supplies. Another carryover of up to $500,000 supports human remains program operations, projects, contracts, time-limited positions, and supplies.

One Utah fellowships keep prior funding

The Commission on Service and Volunteerism can keep up to $3 million in prior funds after June 30, 2026. The money comes from General Fund and Dedicated Credits appropriations and must support the One Utah Fellowship Program. This provision does not specify direct payments to fellows.

Parents Empowered campaign receives state funding

The law provides $3.5068 million for the Parents Empowered campaign from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. This includes $3.4744 million from its restricted account and $32,400 in unspent funds. The funding does not create direct household payments or change individual eligibility.

State Library keeps money for services

The State Library can keep up to $1 million in prior General Fund money after June 30, 2026. The money supports library operations, application maintenance, projects, and community outreach. This extends the time to use existing funding.

Utah history and museum funding continues

The Utah Historical Society receives $10.6606 million for July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. The money supports administration, collections, public history, and State of Utah Museum programs. The society can also keep up to $6.35 million in prior General Fund money after June 30, 2026. That money supports operations, projects, outreach, and Museum of Utah construction, opening, and operations.

Federal funding supports refugee assistance

The law provides $8.4856 million in federal funds for Utah's Refugee Assistance program. Funding covers July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. This provision does not set individual benefit amounts or eligibility rules.

Grants help seniors understand care aid

The law directs grants to Senior Financial Aid Advocates Funding for education about long-term care financial aid. The awards are $100,000 for fiscal 2026 and $700,000 for fiscal 2027, beginning July 1, 2026. The money pays for seminars and meetings, not household aid payments. These grants do not expand eligibility for long-term care aid programs.

Funding for housing and energy help

The law provides $76.6419 million for Housing and Community Development from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. The money supports housing development, community services, home energy assistance, and weatherization. This provision does not set household payment amounts or change eligibility rules.

Money moves into homeless service accounts

Beginning July 1, 2026, the law transfers General Fund money into two homeless-related accounts. The Homeless Shelter Cities Mitigation Restricted Account receives $7.5 million for shelter-related community work. The Pamela Atkinson Homeless Account receives $1.8174 million for homelessness-related purposes. Spending from either account requires an appropriation; these transfers do not set individual payments or eligibility rules.

More funding for homelessness housing reform

Beginning July 1, 2026, the law transfers $12.85 million to Utah's Homeless to Housing Reform Restricted Account. Spending from this account requires an appropriation. The transfer does not set individual eligibility, payments, or guaranteed housing placements.

Funding supports families' education savings incentives

Beginning July 1, 2026, the law authorizes $870,800 from the Income Tax Fund for the Education Savings Incentive Restricted Account. Its budget also includes $675,500 in starting balances, offset by $675,500 in ending balances. Spending from the account requires an appropriation. This provision does not set household eligibility, incentive amounts, or a tax credit formula.

Funding supports school readiness for children

Beginning July 1, 2026, the law authorizes a net $3.05 million for the School Readiness Restricted Account. This includes $3 million from the General Fund and $219,300 in starting balances, minus $169,300 in ending balances. Spending from the account requires an appropriation. This provision does not set family eligibility or the value of services.

Funding supports science and fifth-grade learning

For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, the law funds student learning programs. The STEM Action Center receives $11.0167 million, supporting the center and its science, technology, engineering, and math program for grades 6–8. Lawmakers also state their intent for a $100,000 grant to America's Freedom Festival in Provo. That grant supports Hope of America learning opportunities for fifth graders across Utah.

Funding supports workforce agency operations

The law provides $23.6122 million for Workforce Services administration from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. Administrative Support receives $14.3633 million, and Communications receives $1.8095 million. The Executive Director's Office receives $2.3174 million, Human Resources $2.8865 million, and Internal Audit $2.2355 million. This funds agency operations without changing household eligibility for services.

Funding to process workers' unemployment claims

The law provides $35.2854 million for unemployment insurance operations from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. This includes $6.3129 million for claim decisions and $28.9725 million for administration. This appropriation does not change unemployment payment amounts or claimant eligibility.

Science education center keeps project funding

The STEM Action Center can keep up to $4 million in prior General Fund money after June 30, 2026. The money is limited to contract obligations and program support. This extends existing funding rather than setting direct payments for students or households.

Funding supports Fairpark redevelopment and operations

For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, the Fairpark Area Investment and Restoration District receives $6.3 million. This includes $2 million from the General Fund and $4.3 million from the Outdoor Adventure Infrastructure Restricted Account. The State Fair Park Authority also receives $325,100. The money funds these entities rather than direct household payments.

Funding supports tourism and film programs

The Office of Tourism receives $26.8927 million for July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027. Funding supports the Film Commission, marketing, advertising, and tourism programs. The law also adds $428,200 for the fiscal year 2026 Tourism program, which ends June 30, 2026. These appropriations support agency programs rather than direct household payments.

Funding supports trade and development groups

For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, the Utah Inland Port Authority receives $3.1832 million. The Point of the Mountain Authority receives $1.7503 million, and World Trade Center Utah receives $1.6625 million. Lawmakers also state their intent for a $300,000 Northern Economic Alliance grant to support high-quality job growth and capital investment. These awards fund organizations rather than direct household payments.

Funding supports Utah sports and athletes

For July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, the Utah Sports Commission receives $7.4623 million. The Pete Suazo Athletics Commission receives $398,200. Lawmakers state their intent for Sports Commission grants of $45,000 for Utah Championship's Korn Ferry Tour operations. Intended grants also include $150,000 for Run Elite's Olympic-level athlete development and program support. Another $125,000 supports Rocky Mountain Golden Gloves in attracting, promoting, and developing national and international sports in Utah.

Utah adds money for film incentives

Beginning July 1, 2026, the law transfers $1.4205 million from the General Fund to the Motion Picture Incentive Account. Spending from the account requires an appropriation. The transfer does not guarantee payments to film productions or households.

Utah funds tourism marketing and operations

Beginning July 1, 2026, the law transfers $20.3228 million to the Tourism Marketing Performance Account; spending requires an appropriation. It also provides a $4.7109 million Transient Room Tax Fund budget for the Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity. That budget uses revenue transfers and includes $286,000 in starting balances, offset by $286,000 in ending balances. These provisions fund tourism activity and operations, not household payments or a room-tax rate change.

More funding for Utah business incentives

The law adds $5.612 million to the Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity Incentives and Grants program for fiscal 2026. That fiscal year runs from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The money supports economic development incentives and grants, but does not specify individual award amounts or household eligibility.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • Calvin R. Musselman

    Republican • Senate

Cosponsors

  • Christine F. Watkins

    Republican • House

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 97 • No: 0

House vote • 1/29/2026

House/ passed 3rd reading

Yes: 71 • No: 0

Senate vote • 1/28/2026

Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension

Yes: 26 • No: 0

Actions Timeline

  1. Governor Signed

    1/31/2026
  2. Senate/ to Governor

    1/30/2026Senate
  3. Senate/ received enrolled bill from Printing

    1/30/2026Senate
  4. Senate/ enrolled bill to Printing

    1/30/2026Senate
  5. Enrolled Bill Returned to House or Senate

    1/30/2026
  6. Draft of Enrolled Bill Prepared

    1/29/2026
  7. Bill Received from Senate for Enrolling

    1/29/2026
  8. Senate/ signed by President/ sent for enrolling

    1/29/2026Senate
  9. Senate/ received from House

    1/29/2026Senate
  10. House/ to Senate

    1/29/2026House
  11. House/ signed by Speaker/ returned to Senate

    1/29/2026House
  12. House/ passed 3rd reading

    1/29/2026House
  13. House/ 3rd reading

    1/29/2026House
  14. House/ 2nd reading

    1/28/2026House
  15. House/ Rules to 3rd Reading Calendar

    1/28/2026House
  16. House/ 1st reading (Introduced)

    1/28/2026House
  17. House/ received from Senate

    1/28/2026House
  18. Senate/ to House

    1/28/2026Senate
  19. Senate/ passed 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension

    1/28/2026Senate
  20. Senate/ 2nd & 3rd readings/ suspension

    1/28/2026Senate
  21. Senate/ Rules to 2nd Reading Calendar

    1/27/2026Senate
  22. Senate/ 1st reading (Introduced)

    1/20/2026Senate
  23. Senate/ received fiscal note from Fiscal Analyst

    1/20/2026Senate
  24. Senate/ received bill from Legislative Research

    1/19/2026Senate
  25. Numbered Bill Publicly Distributed

    1/16/2026

Bill Text

  • Enrolled

    1/30/2026

  • Introduced

    1/16/2026

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation