IdahoS 11082025 regular legislative sessionSenateWALLET

APPROPRIATIONS – HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES – Relates to the maintenance appropriations to the Department of Health and Welfare and the State Independent Living Council for fiscal year 2026.

Sponsored By: FINANCE COMMITTEE

Signed by Governor

APPROPRIATIONS

Personalized for You

How does this bill affect your finances?

Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.

Bill Overview

Analyzed Economic Effects

11 provisions identified: 7 benefits, 2 costs, 2 mixed.

Health services funded within spending limits

Idaho provides about $5.279 billion for the Department of Health and Welfare and $696,500 for the State Independent Living Council. The funding covers July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The department can provide services only within the money and other resources approved for each program. Beginning July 1, 2025, funds set aside by law for a specific purpose must serve only that purpose. The law does not set a payment amount for individual households.

Some families pay more for Medicaid

The law requires cost-sharing for children in the expanded Medicaid population, to the fullest extent federal law allows. It applies when family gross taxable income exceeds 185% but does not exceed 300% of the federal poverty limit. The charges cover Medicaid services identified in the enacted House Bill 43. This law does not state how much families must pay.

School funding for children in custody

The department is responsible for schooling for school-age children courts place in its custody for child-protection or mental-health issues. It pays when it places a child in a licensed residential treatment facility with an accredited nonpublic school. The department must find that attending the school serves the child's best interests. Payment is per student, per educational day; the law does not state a rate.

Funding for child protection review panels

For fiscal year 2026, public health districts receive at least $42,000 in federal Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act funds. The money supports citizen review panels. Each of the seven districts receives one-seventh of the total. These funds do not provide direct payments to families.

Clinician funding for youth in detention

The Children's Mental Health Program must pay $327,000 to the Department of Juvenile Corrections by July 16, 2025. The payment comes from the Cooperative Welfare General Fund. It funds contract clinician services at Idaho juvenile detention facilities from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026.

Funding for family home visits

The law provides $1 million for home visiting services from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The money comes from the Cooperative Welfare General Fund and goes to public health districts. Each district distributes its funds using a formula set by its board of trustees. The law does not state household eligibility rules or payment amounts.

Funding for tobacco and substance prevention

For fiscal year 2026, the law allocates $2.1 million to public health districts for tobacco, vape, and other substance prevention and cessation. District shares follow the approved health boards' formula. Project Filter also gets $2.406 million for prevention and cessation, but cannot use this money for sponsorships or passive advertising. Both allocations come from the Idaho Millennium Income Fund, with spending subject to available funds.

Youth drug prevention gets grant funding

Idaho Drug Free Youth gets $250,000 from the Idaho Millennium Income Fund for the year ending June 30, 2026. The grant supports its youth summit, chapters, and drug-free school coordinators. Four $62,500 payments are due by July 15 and October 15, 2025, and January 15 and April 15, 2026. The group must provide operational and financial records and required reports. The department can withhold or recover money for misuse or specified operational, reporting, legal, or financial problems.

Funding for rural physician incentives

The law directs a one-time $640,000 transfer from the Cooperative Welfare General Fund to the Rural Physician Incentive Fund. The transfer is due July 15, 2025, or as soon afterward as practical. It supports the fund for July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. The law does not set individual award amounts or eligibility rules.

Naloxone grant limited to first responders

Beginning July 1, 2025, State Opioid Response Grant money for naloxone is available only to first responders. They must distribute the naloxone within Idaho. The rule limits this grant's distribution channels, not all naloxone access. The law does not state a funding amount.

Mental health funding flexibility and limits

Beginning July 1, 2025, the department can move Cooperative Welfare General Fund money between mental health services and psychiatric hospitalization. Moving those funds to another division or program requires legislative approval. For July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, the law removes the usual limit on transfers into Community Hospitalization. It sets no transfer amount and does not guarantee more services.

Sponsors & Cosponsors

Sponsor

  • FINANCE COMMITTEE

    Affiliation unavailable

Cosponsors

  • Kevin Cook

    Republican • Senate

  • Josh Tanner

    Republican • House

Roll Call Votes

All Roll Calls

Yes: 93 • No: 11

House vote • 3/20/2025

House Floor Vote

Yes: 63 • No: 7

Senate vote • 2/24/2025

Senate Floor Vote

Yes: 30 • No: 4

Actions Timeline

  1. Signed by Governor on 03/28/25 Session Law Chapter 209 Effective: 07/01/2025

    4/3/2025
  2. Reported delivered to Governor at 11:10 a.m. on 03/25/25

    3/25/2025
  3. Reported signed by the Speaker & ordered delivered to Governor

    3/25/2025
  4. Received from Senate; Signed by Speaker; Returned to Senate

    3/24/2025House
  5. Reported enrolled; signed by President; to House for signature of Speaker

    3/24/2025Senate
  6. Returned From House Passed; referred to enrolling

    3/21/2025Senate
  7. Read Third Time in Full – PASSED - 63-7-0

    3/20/2025House
  8. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day

    3/19/2025House
  9. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day

    3/18/2025House
  10. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day

    3/17/2025House
  11. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar until Monday, March 17, 2025

    3/14/2025House
  12. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day

    3/14/2025House
  13. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day

    3/13/2025House
  14. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day

    3/12/2025House
  15. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day

    3/11/2025House
  16. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day

    3/10/2025House
  17. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar until Monday, March 10, 2025

    3/7/2025House
  18. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day

    3/6/2025House
  19. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day

    3/5/2025House
  20. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day

    3/4/2025House
  21. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day

    3/3/2025House
  22. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar until Monday, March 3, 2025

    2/28/2025House
  23. U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day

    2/27/2025House
  24. Read second time; Filed for Third Reading

    2/26/2025House
  25. Read First Time, Filed for Second Reading

    2/25/2025House

Bill Text

Related Bills

Back to State Legislation