All Roll Calls
Yes: 99 • No: 5
Sponsored By: FINANCE COMMITTEE
Signed by Governor
Personalized for You
Personalize government policy and PRIA will tell you what this bill means for your household, plus every other piece of legislation we track. PRIA reads each provision against your financial profile to show you exactly what matters to your wallet.
12 provisions identified: 10 benefits, 0 costs, 2 mixed.
Beginning July 1, 2025, agencies receive funding equal to $1.55 hourly for each permanent full-time-equivalent position. Leaders may award eligible workers $1.05–$1.55 hourly; workers need six months of service and must meet performance expectations. This funding cannot pay bonuses or raises above $1.55 hourly, except under the law’s specific compensation rules. Transfers away from personnel costs are barred, except for existing contracts requiring automatic raises or emergency contract staff. Agencies must return unallocated money to its funding source and report it to lawmakers by June 30, 2026.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Idaho raises the minimums and maximums of four state worker pay schedules. Average increases are 3.2% for the primary schedule, 3% for IT/engineering, 3.2% for public safety, and 3.5% for nursing/healthcare. Range increases are at least $1.55 hourly, except pay grade D’s minimum stays $7.25 hourly. The law funds raises needed to bring workers to new minimums and keeps existing job classifications with special pay exceptions. These range changes do not guarantee every worker the average percentage raise.
Beginning July 1, 2025, specifically funded agencies receive money for targeted raises to recruit and keep staff. Funding supports a 4.5% raise for classified and nonclassified IT and engineering workers. Idaho State Police receives funding for trooper raises of up to 8%. Nursing and healthcare raise funding uses $1.55 hourly per permanent employee or 3%, whichever is greater. Agency heads can vary awards for recruitment and retention, so individual workers are not guaranteed the listed amounts.
Idaho provides $490.9674 million for general government operations from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. This includes $33.0662 million for Administration, $402.7761 million for listed Governor’s Office agencies, and $55.1251 million for tax agencies. Agencies must use the listed funding sources and follow assigned program and expense limits. Funding is subject to accountability reports and management reviews; available outsourced audit reports must go to lawmakers. The State Liquor Division must provide monthly forecast-versus-actual revenue reports and updated forecasts.
Beginning July 1, 2025, Idaho’s Office of Group Insurance must keep the current state employee health plan structure and benefits. The office can still make positive plan changes. The law does not specify premium changes or new individual benefits.
For July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, the Military Division has ongoing authority to spend designated emergency-management revenue. The money must cover costs arising from hazardous-substance incidents. This authority supports incident response without a separate appropriation for each expense. The law states no dollar cap or direct household payment.
The Office of Drug Policy can carry forward up to $765,700 for drug-use prevention services in fiscal year 2026. The money comes from unspent, uncommitted fiscal year 2025 American Rescue Plan funds. It can cover only one-time prevention-service expenses from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026.
The law carries forward up to $10.6418 million for the Energy Resiliency Grant Program in fiscal year 2026. This covers July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. Eligible 2025 balances must be unspent, not already committed, and previously set aside for this program. The money can cover only one-time program expenses; the law does not specify household eligibility or payments.
The law transfers $1.7375 million from the Permanent Building Fund to the Administration and Accounting Services Fund for Capitol Mall Facilities. It also transfers $250,000 from the Capitol Maintenance Reserve Fund to the Capitol Commission Operating Fund. Both transfers are due July 1, 2025, or as soon as practical afterward, for fiscal year 2026. The Capitol Commission can also carry forward unspent, uncommitted 2025 balances from its operating and maintenance reserve funds. Those balances can cover only one-time expenses through June 30, 2026; the law states no carryover amount.
The law gives Idaho’s Retirement Board permanent spending authority for necessary Portfolio Investment Program expenses, excluding administrative costs. The fiscal year 2026 appropriation covers those administrative costs separately. This supports public pension investment operations but does not change individual pension benefits.
The Workforce Development Council can use eligible leftover 2025 funds from July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. Federal American Rescue Plan balances must support workforce training or childcare infrastructure grants. In-Demand Careers Fund balances must support Idaho Launch grants. Workforce Development Training Fund balances must support semiconductor grants. All balances must be unspent and not already committed; the law states no carryover amounts or individual awards.
For July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026, listed agencies face caps on full-time-equivalent staffing. Caps include 221 for technology services, 257.25 for the Liquor Division, and 429.80 for the Military Division. They also include 81 for public employee retirement, 166 for Human Resources, and 440 for the State Tax Commission. The Board of Tax Appeals has a four-position cap. The Governor can approve additional positions but must promptly notify the Legislature’s Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee.
FINANCE COMMITTEE
Affiliation unavailable
Carl J. Bjerke
Republican • Senate
Steve Miller
Republican • House
All Roll Calls
Yes: 99 • No: 5
House vote • 3/24/2025
House Floor Vote
Yes: 65 • No: 5
Senate vote • 2/24/2025
Senate Floor Vote
Yes: 34 • No: 0
Signed by Governor on 03/31/25 Session Law Chapter 239 Effective: 07/01/2025
Reported delivered to Governor at 3:55 p.m. on 03/26/25
Reported signed by the Speaker & ordered delivered to Governor
Received from Senate; Signed by Speaker; Returned to Senate
Reported enrolled; signed by President; to House for signature of Speaker
Returned From House Passed; referred to enrolling
Read Third Time in Full – PASSED - 65-5-0
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar until Monday, March 24, 2025
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar until Monday, March 17, 2025
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar until Monday, March 10, 2025
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar until Monday, March 3, 2025
U.C. to hold place on third reading calendar one legislative day
Bill Text
S 1142, EDUCATION – Amends and repeals existing law to transfer funds from the Empowering Parents Grant Program Fund to the General Fund and to repeal the Empowering Parents Grant Program.
H 0479, TAXATION – Amends House Bill 40, House Bill 304, and existing law to revise provisions regarding certain tax deductions, certain corporate income tax rates, certain protections for taxpayers, and certain sales tax distributions and to revise an effective date.
H 0482, APPROPRIATIONS – Relates to the appropriation and transfer of moneys in the state treasury for fiscal years 2025 and 2026; provides an additional appropriation to the Military Division for fiscal year 2025; and provides pay increases to the Military Division in accordance with the federal general schedule pay scale.
H 0465, APPROPRIATIONS – PUBLIC SCHOOLS – DIVISION OF STUDENT SUPPORT – Relates to the appropriation to the Public Schools Educational Support Program’s Division of Student Support for fiscal years 2025 and 2026.
H 0460, APPROPRIATIONS – DIVISION OF VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION – Relates to the appropriation to the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation for fiscal years 2025 and 2026.
H 0477, APPROPRIATIONS – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND WELFARE – FOSTER AND ASSISTANCE PAYMENT PROGRAM – Relates to the appropriation to the Department of Health and Welfare for fiscal year 2026.